google news

This board is for discussions, bug reports, etc. for pre-releases of the v28 milestone building on UXP.
Locked
User avatar
teaseapeaeyepee
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: 2018-07-14, 17:24

google news always locks up my browser

Post by teaseapeaeyepee » 2018-07-14, 17:38

problem;

go to https://news.google.com/?taa=1&hl=en-GB ... ceid=GB:en

palemoon 28 beta 3 is non responsive for 60 seconds with a spinning wheel .

is there a monitoring or telemetry tool built in or as an addon that i can use to see what exactly happens when i reload the page ?

User avatar
teaseapeaeyepee
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: 2018-07-14, 17:24

google news

Post by teaseapeaeyepee » 2018-07-14, 17:45

google news renders 28b3 non responsive .

totally locks up browser for 60 seconds spinning wheel and all 100% cpu usage.

how can i monitor what happens when i go to this page to see which part is causing the cpu usage ?

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 27103
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: 58°2'16"N 14°58'31"E
Contact:

Re: google news

Post by Moonchild » 2018-07-14, 18:00

Loads up in a few seconds for me.
Are you using any browser extensions?
"There will be times when the position you advocate, no matter how well framed and supported, will not be accepted by the public simply because you are who you are." -- Merrill Rose
Image

User avatar
Isengrim
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1172
Joined: 2015-09-08, 22:54
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

Re: google news always locks up my browser

Post by Isengrim » 2018-07-14, 18:18

It hangs for a few seconds for me, though I see similar behavior on 27 as well as 28 (with clean profiles). Google News is extremely javascript-heavy, so that may have something to do with it.

I see a number of CSP errors in the browser console (accessible from the Web Developer menu), but I don't think that would necessarily equate to slow loading times.
Linux Mint 19.3 Cinnamon (64-bit), Debian Bullseye (64-bit), Windows 7 (64-bit), Windows 10 build 1803 (64-bit)
"As long as there is someone who will appreciate the work involved in the creation, the effort is time well spent." ~ Tetsuzou Kamadani, Cave Story

User avatar
teaseapeaeyepee
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: 2018-07-14, 17:24

Re: google news

Post by teaseapeaeyepee » 2018-07-14, 18:56

yes i use extentions but i just did a clean profile and same thing happens.

i only really started getting this issue after google news changed its format the old google news worked fine .

User avatar
therube
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1298
Joined: 2018-06-08, 17:02

Re: google news

Post by therube » 2018-07-15, 14:08

Loads rather poorly on my end; PM 27, PM28, SeaMonkey 2.49.4 (akin to FF 52).

Loads better in FF 61.

Walter Dnes
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 628
Joined: 2015-07-30, 20:29
Location: Vaughan, ON, Canada

Re: google news

Post by Walter Dnes » 2018-07-16, 17:45

Homebrew PM28b3 takes 35 seconds to load on a 10-year-old Intel CORE2 with 3 gigs ram running 32-bit optimized Gentoo.
There's a right way
There's a wrong way
And then there's my way

User avatar
therube
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1298
Joined: 2018-06-08, 17:02

Re: google news

Post by therube » 2018-07-17, 00:22

This is rather bad, in particular when you open PM & it restores its' session & you didn't realize that google news happened to be the focused tab. (You wonder for a bit why PM isn't opening as expected, & then once if finally does, it's like, oh yeah.)
Last edited by therube on 2018-07-17, 00:23, edited 1 time in total.

Locked