Sync giving "Unknown error"

For discussions about side projects, potential future projects or helper applications for Pale Moon.
Locked
lihatt
Hobby Astronomer
Hobby Astronomer
Posts: 29
Joined: 2014-08-21, 18:39
Location: California

Sync giving "Unknown error"

Post by lihatt » 2015-05-14, 18:28

This morning (ca. 11 AM Pacific time zone) I am getting "Unknown error" in a banner across the bottom of the window when Sync attempts to sync. I've been getting it for about 30 minutes now. (Which makes it a pain to do anything in the bookmarks window as it basically hangs while the Sync status icon spins for quite a few seconds as it attempts to do whatever it's doing.) The server status page claims the server is up and running. It was working normally at least as of about 9 hours ago (time in between was sleep time for me so I don't know exactly when it started). Anyone else seeing this?

In the meantime, is there a way to pause Sync functionality so it doesn't keep trying and failing? (I feel like there used to be an option for this in Firefox, though I could be misremembering, or perhaps I am insufficiently caffeinated and just not spotting it if it does exist.)

User avatar
x-15a2
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back
Posts: 825
Joined: 2014-03-19, 00:28
Location: Triskelion

Re: Sync giving "Unknown error"

Post by x-15a2 » 2015-05-14, 19:36

Same thing here, though sync server reports: The Pale Moon Sync server is running and should be fully functional.

User avatar
New Tobin Paradigm
Knows the dark side
Knows the dark side
Posts: 8072
Joined: 2012-10-09, 19:37
Location: I'm.. over there.

Re: Sync giving "Unknown error"

Post by New Tobin Paradigm » 2015-05-14, 19:48

Your computer has too much computer in it and not enough typewriter.
Image

kfonda

Re: Sync giving "Unknown error"

Post by kfonda » 2015-05-14, 20:01

Having the same issue here.

This is the error:
2015-05-14_155518.png
and this is what I get when I click on server status:
2015-05-14_155653.png

lihatt
Hobby Astronomer
Hobby Astronomer
Posts: 29
Joined: 2014-08-21, 18:39
Location: California

Re: Sync giving "Unknown error"

Post by lihatt » 2015-05-14, 20:02

Yes, as others above also said, the status page claims it's running normally, but still getting this error.

User avatar
New Tobin Paradigm
Knows the dark side
Knows the dark side
Posts: 8072
Joined: 2012-10-09, 19:37
Location: I'm.. over there.

Re: Sync giving "Unknown error"

Post by New Tobin Paradigm » 2015-05-14, 20:33

lihatt wrote:Yes, as others above also said, the status page claims it's running normally, but still getting this error.
That isn't what it says for me.. I have also spoken to Moonchild. It is currently down but should be back up soon.
Your computer has too much computer in it and not enough typewriter.
Image

lihatt
Hobby Astronomer
Hobby Astronomer
Posts: 29
Joined: 2014-08-21, 18:39
Location: California

Re: Sync giving "Unknown error"

Post by lihatt » 2015-05-14, 20:58

Now I see "Server incorrectly configured." I assume something is in the process of being fiddled with on the back end :)

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 28157
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: Tranås, SE
Contact:

Re: Sync giving "Unknown error"

Post by Moonchild » 2015-05-14, 21:16

The status page should not claim the server is running normal. In fact, I just brought it back online from full down state but it's still under very heavy load. expect some more errors.
"There will be times when the position you advocate, no matter how well framed and supported, will not be accepted by the public simply because you are who you are." -- Merrill Rose
Image

User avatar
x-15a2
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back
Posts: 825
Joined: 2014-03-19, 00:28
Location: Triskelion

Re: Sync giving "Unknown error"

Post by x-15a2 » 2015-05-15, 14:18

Moonchild wrote:The status page should not claim the server is running normal ...
I can confirm that the page indicated that all was well. Could this be some sort of caching issue?

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 28157
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: Tranås, SE
Contact:

Re: Sync giving "Unknown error"

Post by Moonchild » 2015-05-15, 18:47

It's back to normal now so.. yeah that would be right.
I don't know if it would be caching, because the server does not cache that page (for obvious reasons)
"There will be times when the position you advocate, no matter how well framed and supported, will not be accepted by the public simply because you are who you are." -- Merrill Rose
Image

Locked