captchas, captchas everywhere

Users and developers helping users with generic and technical Pale Moon issues on all operating systems.
Please direct questions that are Mac or Linux-specific (dealing with installation and OS integration) to the appropriate Linux or Mac board.

Moderator: trava90

Forum rules
This board is for technical/general usage questions and troubleshooting for the Pale Moon browser only. The main focus here is on Pale Moon on Windows. Please direct your questions that are specific for Linux and Mac to the dedicated boards for those operating systems.
Technical issues and questions not related to the Pale Moon browser should be posted in other boards!
Please keep off-topic and general discussion out of this board, thank you!
Splat
Moonbather
Moonbather
Posts: 50
Joined: 2014-07-04, 06:51
Location: USA

Re: captchas, captchas everywhere

Post by Splat » 2019-08-26, 16:10

F22 Simpilot wrote:
2019-08-25, 10:13
If you got a new IP, then it's browser related. Perhaps the fact you're blocking something in Adblock Latitude that the website wants.
Getting a new IP is not browser related, and I've already stated that it's not Adblock related from my testing.
Last edited by Splat on 2019-08-26, 17:32, edited 1 time in total.

Splat
Moonbather
Moonbather
Posts: 50
Joined: 2014-07-04, 06:51
Location: USA

Re: captchas, captchas everywhere

Post by Splat » 2019-08-26, 16:56

Just did fresh PM install and imported bookmarks and logins. Was able to log into Amazon with no Captcha request. Replaced default profile with mine. Adblock uninstalled. Cleared cache and any Amazon cookies. Rebooted PM. Get the Captcha request again. Cleared cache and any Amazon cookies again. I manually checked for anything Adblock related in my profile folder. There was an adblock folder still there so I deleted it. Rebooted PM. Still get Captcha. I just tried this same thing on my laptop testing with fresh and saved profiles. I also compared PM settings between my profile and the default profile PM creates during install. No differences in settings. There has to be something different in my saved profile that's causing Amazon to always trigger Captcha request but I just don't see it. I'm going to uninstall PM, fresh install, import logins, bookmarks, and addons and see what happens. If I get no Captcha request I'll stay with that profile. :thumbup:

John connor
Banned user
Banned user
Posts: 1492
Joined: 2015-01-21, 05:06

Re: captchas, captchas everywhere

Post by John connor » 2019-08-27, 05:38

Moonchild wrote:
2019-08-26, 10:22
F22 Simpilot wrote:
2019-08-26, 03:54
I doubt it. Especially ASNs belonging to residential ISPs.
What, you think residential subnets are somehow immune to being botnet sources? :lol:
No, not at all. I get traffic for hacked routers all the time. But I never ban the IP address. It's just served a 403. Blocking whole swaths of residential IP addresses doesn't seem like something Amazon ( a cloud provider themselves) would do.

John connor
Banned user
Banned user
Posts: 1492
Joined: 2015-01-21, 05:06

Re: captchas, captchas everywhere

Post by John connor » 2019-08-27, 05:41

Splat wrote:
2019-08-26, 16:56
Just did fresh PM install and imported bookmarks and logins. Was able to log into Amazon with no Captcha request. Replaced default profile with mine. Adblock uninstalled. Cleared cache and any Amazon cookies. Rebooted PM. Get the Captcha request again. Cleared cache and any Amazon cookies again. I manually checked for anything Adblock related in my profile folder. There was an adblock folder still there so I deleted it. Rebooted PM. Still get Captcha. I just tried this same thing on my laptop testing with fresh and saved profiles. I also compared PM settings between my profile and the default profile PM creates during install. No differences in settings. There has to be something different in my saved profile that's causing Amazon to always trigger Captcha request but I just don't see it. I'm going to uninstall PM, fresh install, import logins, bookmarks, and addons and see what happens. If I get no Captcha request I'll stay with that profile. :thumbup:
I told you it was browser related, not IP related. DO-you-not-understand?

And now a fat told you so.

Splat
Moonbather
Moonbather
Posts: 50
Joined: 2014-07-04, 06:51
Location: USA

Re: captchas, captchas everywhere

Post by Splat » 2019-08-27, 17:08

F22 Simpilot wrote:
2019-08-27, 05:41
I told you it was browser related, not IP related. DO-you-not-understand? And now a fat told you so.
Wow. Came back here to tell you guys I'm getting the Captcha again AND I just got it using Chrome too. Weird. Guess there's a first time for everything. Guess it ain't browser related. Here's your shoe, F22 Simpilot. You may stick it in your mouth at your leisure. :clap: I may play around more but for now I'm just gonna live with Amazon's Captcha requests since I get it nowhere else. Cheers.

Splat
Moonbather
Moonbather
Posts: 50
Joined: 2014-07-04, 06:51
Location: USA

Re: captchas, captchas everywhere

Post by Splat » 2019-08-27, 22:17

Got another Captcha via Chrome just now on Amazon. I think it may be due to the amount of testing (logins, logouts) I've been doing. Is there a way to import extensions' config settings without importing my whole PM profile?

User avatar
billmcct
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back
Posts: 793
Joined: 2012-09-04, 15:19
Location: Atlanta Georgia USA

Re: captchas, captchas everywhere

Post by billmcct » 2019-08-27, 22:46

Windows 8.1 (x64) - Current Pale Moon Release (x86)

Splat
Moonbather
Moonbather
Posts: 50
Joined: 2014-07-04, 06:51
Location: USA

Re: captchas, captchas everywhere

Post by Splat » 2019-08-27, 22:58

billmcct wrote:
2019-08-27, 22:46
You can try this:
https://addons.palemoon.org/addon/opie/
Thanks. Just tried it. It's missing two of my installed addons. Un/re-installed Opie and same thing. I wonder why the two are missing. Going to putz with it some more. Thanks again.

User avatar
billmcct
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back
Posts: 793
Joined: 2012-09-04, 15:19
Location: Atlanta Georgia USA

Re: captchas, captchas everywhere

Post by billmcct » 2019-08-28, 05:19

Windows 8.1 (x64) - Current Pale Moon Release (x86)

User avatar
Utnapishtim
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 114
Joined: 2018-07-12, 02:42

Re: captchas, captchas everywhere

Post by Utnapishtim » 2019-08-30, 09:28

Moonchild wrote:
2019-08-26, 10:22
F22 Simpilot wrote:
2019-08-26, 03:54
I doubt it. Especially ASNs belonging to residential ISPs.
What, you think residential subnets are somehow immune to being botnet sources? :lol:
Off-topic:
Actually Amazon is fairly well known for not sacrificing usability for the sake of security. They're one of the few shopping sites that are completely usable without Javascript (excepting whoda guessed the logout button :D ) and even let me register with a non-existent email.

User avatar
back2themoon
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1806
Joined: 2012-08-19, 20:32

Re: captchas, captchas everywhere

Post by back2themoon » 2019-08-30, 10:31

Splat wrote:
2019-08-27, 22:58
Thanks. Just tried it. It's missing two of my installed addons
As suggested, remove OPIE and use OPIE2.

It will automatically detect many extension settings, but not all of them. You first need to Configure/Initialize, then manually verify each extension on Configure/Configure. The red ones are undetected and you could attempt to manually add them yourself. For extensions that support their own import/export system, I prefer to use that and exclude them from OPIE2.

For example: "Lull The Tabs" is not automatically detected. Enter 'lull' in the filter bar and all related settings of that extension will appear. Carefully select those alone and press the arrow button. You now have a manually configured extension (blue).

You should also verify the auto-configured ones (green), a few times it gets them wrong.

Adjust other settings as required (export directory etc.). Use individual preference files, they are easier to handle. For extensions installed after OPIE2, it's better to configure them yourself (as described above for the undetected ones) because 'Initialize' will reset all your manual extension/OPIE adjustments (I think).
Safe Mode / clean profile info: Help/Restart in Safe Mode
Information to include when asking for support - How to apply user agent overrides
How to download videos

Windows 10 Pro • Pale Moon x64 • Interlink x64 • Emsisoft Anti-Malware

Splat
Moonbather
Moonbather
Posts: 50
Joined: 2014-07-04, 06:51
Location: USA

Re: captchas, captchas everywhere

Post by Splat » 2019-08-30, 15:53

back2themoon wrote:
2019-08-30, 10:31
As suggested, remove OPIE and use OPIE2.
Thank you. I will try this later when I have time. Looking forward to checking it out.

User avatar
BlakeyRat
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 30
Joined: 2014-02-13, 12:34
Location: Hell

Re: captchas, captchas everywhere

Post by BlakeyRat » 2019-09-11, 12:57

F22 Simpilot wrote:
2019-08-08, 03:11
You should have told them the truth in that Google discriminates with other browsers that aren't Firefox of Chrome and that they should at least look into a different captcha system rather than be a poor website Admin and use the soup du jour Recaptcha shit.
You still don't get it:

THEY DON'T CARE.

I have complained. And complained. And complained. When I cancelled a credit card I told them that I was doing it because I couldn't get past their stupid CAPTCHA bullshit.

THEY DON'T CARE.

I just ran into another page today where I couldn't get past the CAPTCHA using Palemoon. No matter how many I clicked on, I just kept getting more. And more. And more. So I switched to Firefox, which was a huge pain in the ass because it meant that I had to start over and re-enter everything into the form I was filling out. With Firefox everything went right through and I didn't even get a CAPTCHA. This is getting ridiculous.

Yes, I agree, the real problem is Google. But that doesn't change the fact that I have constant CAPTCHA problems with Palemoon and ZERO problems with Firefox.

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 27870
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: Tranås, SE
Contact:

Re: captchas, captchas everywhere

Post by Moonchild » 2019-09-11, 13:14

BlakeyRat wrote:
2019-09-11, 12:57
Yes, I agree, the real problem is Google. But that doesn't change the fact that I have constant CAPTCHA problems with Palemoon and ZERO problems with Firefox.
And you have to understand that we can't do anything about it. This is Google's domain.

Of note, I don't get nearly as many CAPTCHAs (as in hardly any) if I'm logged in to my Google account in the browser I'm using. How many and how annoyingly the CAPTCHAs are depends on several factors: your user agent (are you spoofing it?), your IP and IP neighborhood (are you using a proxy/public VPN that gets abused by criminals/bots?), whether you are logged in to Google, if you're blocking cookies/scripts/etc., and also how fast you click the images (too fast and/or too evenly and it'll give you another challenge), etc.

If your browsing behavior/environment gives you impossible Google challenges in Pale Moon but not another browser you use, then perhaps you should rethink whether Pale Moon is the right choice for you. Stop trying to force it; just use what works best for you/your browsing habits.
"There will be times when the position you advocate, no matter how well framed and supported, will not be accepted by the public simply because you are who you are." -- Merrill Rose
Image

John connor
Banned user
Banned user
Posts: 1492
Joined: 2015-01-21, 05:06

Re: captchas, captchas everywhere

Post by John connor » 2019-09-14, 03:06

Yeah, for me personally, if I come across a captacha, I don't even bother trying to solve it in PM knowing full well what hell Google will give me. That's why I keep a plain vanilla FF install just for that purpose.

All anger should be directed at Google. They are in fact the actual pricks who are doing this with their captcha. They treat FF and Chrome differently then PM, and hell if I'll stay logged into anything. I already use Sandboxie and dump all cookies and cache on exit.

User avatar
cartel
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 428
Joined: 2014-03-16, 21:57
Location: Chilliwack, BC

Re: captchas, captchas everywhere

Post by cartel » 2019-10-08, 21:23

craigslist captcha seems to be ok past few weeks.
ImageImage

User avatar
biopsin
Moon lover
Moon lover
Posts: 76
Joined: 2016-02-07, 17:15

Re: captchas, captchas everywhere

Post by biopsin » 2019-11-05, 11:12

so anyone seen this issue.. I just plain boycott sites like this (btw a webshop) :clap:
Attachments
captcha gone terrible wrong
captcha gone terrible wrong
voidlinux_x64 glibc-2.30 / Palemoon_latest release (gcc-9.3.0)

User avatar
moonbat
Moon Magic practitioner
Moon Magic practitioner
Posts: 2174
Joined: 2015-12-09, 15:45

Re: captchas, captchas everywhere

Post by moonbat » 2019-11-05, 11:59

biopsin wrote:
2019-11-05, 11:12
so anyone seen this issue.. I just plain boycott sites like this (btw a webshop) :clap:
Would it kill you to include the URL where you're facing this? :evil:
What is one supposed to do with just a screenshot?
"One hosts to look them up, one DNS to find them and in the darkness BIND them."

Linux Mint 20 Xfce x64 on HP i5 laptop with 12 GB RAM, always latest versions of PM & Basilisk unless specified.

Sessh
Moon lover
Moon lover
Posts: 95
Joined: 2018-01-11, 18:43

Re: captchas, captchas everywhere

Post by Sessh » 2019-11-05, 15:01

Speaking for myself, I don't come across captchas often, but if I do and it doesn't load properly, I've only needed to tweak uBlock/uMatrix (nMatrix now) to get it to show up properly. I've been using PM for years now and never encountered a captcha I couldn't get to load normally and solve without issues.

John connor
Banned user
Banned user
Posts: 1492
Joined: 2015-01-21, 05:06

Re: captchas, captchas everywhere

Post by John connor » 2019-11-05, 20:05

I get a captcha only when I have to login or register with something, etc for bot protection. Recently eBay gave me one on login and the fucker would go through an endless cycle and the images never made any sense based on the question.

If I ever get a captcha for some kind of verification I just use my plain vanilla Firefox install. Pisses me off websites use Google for their captcha needs and also blatantly discriminant on one's browser choice.

Locked