Geolocation popup inducing bug?

Support and discussions for the x86/x64 Linux version of Pale Moon.

Moderators: trava90, satrow

User avatar
moonbob69
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 35
Joined: 2019-02-06, 09:13

Geolocation popup inducing bug?

Unread post by moonbob69 » 2019-09-16, 20:26

Moonchild said in "Pale Moon, Geolocation and You" that "A webpage can request (through JavaScript) that the browser finds its geographical location."

How exactly is that done? Is there an HTML command or simply named script functions built into the browser that are standard?

Recently, McDonalds.com on the East coast has changed their page served upon a wifi connection; the former button to "Get Connected" is gone, and a manual attempt to open secure-login.attwifi.com results in a time out (or a "blocked" message in some locations, apparently a local programming error).

However the McDonalds.com site does ask for location, triggering the "Would you like to share.." popup.

By accident, I discovered that the "Learn More" link in the pop-up is to secure-login.att..., and that page does immediately provide (at least to laptops with no geo hardware) the "Get Connected" button. I don't remember anything on the page about geo-location and why they want it. which is pretty obvious if you are inside their shop.

With no geo hardware (and realizing the stupidity of believing the location to which that database thinks some dynamic IP addresses are assigned), I simply haven't gotten around to turning off that popup. In which case I would never get connected at McDonalds.

Are the Wayport/ATTWiFi people trying to insist that you can't connect if you have geo-hardware and won't give them the data? Or did they assume that the location-request couldn't be blocked in a browser and so it was just a simple way to always link to secure-login.attwifi...?

[PM for Linux 28.3.1 32bit]

User avatar
Nigaikaze
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1110
Joined: 2014-02-02, 22:15
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: Geolocation popup inducing bug?

Unread post by Nigaikaze » 2019-09-16, 23:34

moonbob69 wrote:
2019-09-16, 20:26
[PM for Linux 28.3.1 32bit]
I don't have too much to say about geolocation, but I just have to ask ... any reason why you haven't updated to the current (28.7.1) version of Pale Moon? The version you're using dates back to January, and there have been bunches of fixes implemented since then.
Nichi nichi kore ko jitsu = Every day is a good day.

User avatar
New Tobin Paradigm
Off-Topic Sheriff
Off-Topic Sheriff
Posts: 6196
Joined: 2012-10-09, 19:37
Location: Sector 001

Re: Geolocation popup inducing bug?

Unread post by New Tobin Paradigm » 2019-09-17, 00:44

Including critical security fixes. You must keep the browser updated dude.
Image
- Old and insecure for legitimate and reasonable purposes. -
http://binaryoutcast.com/ | http://thereisonlyxul.org/ | Freenode #binaryoutcast

User avatar
moonbat
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back
Posts: 751
Joined: 2015-12-09, 15:45
Location: Australia

Re: Geolocation popup inducing bug?

Unread post by moonbat » 2019-09-17, 01:16

I think it's best for Linux users to use the custom repositories for PM assuming they're on a supported variant, so PM gets updated with the standard software updater. Though I'm guessing even the tarball version must have the internal updater built in, so why wouldn't you let it update? :wtf:
"One hosts to look them up, one DNS to find them and in the darkness BIND them."

Linux Mint 19.2 Xfce x64 on HP i5 laptop with 4 GB RAM, always latest versions of PM & Basilisk unless specified.

User avatar
Nigaikaze
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1110
Joined: 2014-02-02, 22:15
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: Geolocation popup inducing bug?

Unread post by Nigaikaze » 2019-09-17, 01:26

Off-topic:
moonbat wrote:
2019-09-17, 01:16
I think it's best for Linux users to use the custom repositories for PM assuming they're on a supported variant, so PM gets updated with the standard software updater.
Best in terms of ease of use from the users' perspective, yeah I can see that, especially with Linux newbies. But in the past (specifically the early days of some of these third-party releases for specific distos) there have been certain problems with them that have led to the frequent question, "Does it still happen with the official Linux binaries?"

We don't see that so much nowadays, but that's what led me to stick with the official binaries from linux.palemoon.org.
Nichi nichi kore ko jitsu = Every day is a good day.

User avatar
moonbat
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back
Posts: 751
Joined: 2015-12-09, 15:45
Location: Australia

Re: Geolocation popup inducing bug?

Unread post by moonbat » 2019-09-17, 01:32

Nigaikaze wrote:
2019-09-17, 01:26
Best in terms of ease of use from the users' perspective, yeah I can see that, especially with Linux newbies. But in the past (specifically the early days of some of these third-party releases for specific distos) there have been certain problems with them that have led to the frequent question, "Does it still happen with the official Linux binaries?"

We don't see that so much nowadays, but that's what led me to stick with the official binaries from linux.palemoon.org.
[/offtopic]
Off-topic:
Ah, I was referring to stevepusser's unofficial repositories. I guess adding to official repos may not always work, like the controversy over FreeBSD. If one is on a Debian/Ubuntu variant, much better to just add the appropriate repo and let it update by itself
"One hosts to look them up, one DNS to find them and in the darkness BIND them."

Linux Mint 19.2 Xfce x64 on HP i5 laptop with 4 GB RAM, always latest versions of PM & Basilisk unless specified.

User avatar
Nigaikaze
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1110
Joined: 2014-02-02, 22:15
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: Geolocation popup inducing bug?

Unread post by Nigaikaze » 2019-09-17, 01:41

Off-topic:
moonbat wrote:
2019-09-17, 01:32
Ah, I was referring to stevepusser's unofficial repositories.
Yep, the majority of the problems I was referring to occurred prior to Steve rolling in here and rolling out his repos. Steve has done a great job with those.
Nichi nichi kore ko jitsu = Every day is a good day.

User avatar
New Tobin Paradigm
Off-Topic Sheriff
Off-Topic Sheriff
Posts: 6196
Joined: 2012-10-09, 19:37
Location: Sector 001

Re: Geolocation popup inducing bug?

Unread post by New Tobin Paradigm » 2019-09-17, 09:24

For the record.. Steve's repos ARE official. He has done an outstanding job for years now for the debian crowd as well as us and should be commended for his service to users and this project.
Image
- Old and insecure for legitimate and reasonable purposes. -
http://binaryoutcast.com/ | http://thereisonlyxul.org/ | Freenode #binaryoutcast

User avatar
moonbat
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back
Posts: 751
Joined: 2015-12-09, 15:45
Location: Australia

Re: Geolocation popup inducing bug?

Unread post by moonbat » 2019-09-17, 12:47

New Tobin Paradigm wrote:
2019-09-17, 09:24
For the record.. Steve's repos ARE official. He has done an outstanding job for years now for the debian crowd as well as us and should be commended for his service to users and this project.
I mean unofficial from the distro point of view :D
Big thank you to him for making the transition (for me) from Windows to Linux painless. I set up the repos, copied my Windows PM profile and hit the ground running.
"One hosts to look them up, one DNS to find them and in the darkness BIND them."

Linux Mint 19.2 Xfce x64 on HP i5 laptop with 4 GB RAM, always latest versions of PM & Basilisk unless specified.

Post Reply