userChrome for bookmarks toolbar adjustment

Add-ons for Pale Moon and other applications
General discussion, compatibility, contributed extensions, themes, plugins, and more.

Moderators: FranklinDM, Lootyhoof

us66mo
Moonbather
Moonbather
Posts: 51
Joined: 2017-12-25, 03:51
Location: Bonn, Germany

userChrome for bookmarks toolbar adjustment

Unread post by us66mo » 2018-01-26, 08:19

When I edited my userChrome file to get rid of the "Open all in tabs" option in the folders on my bookmarks toolbar (edit was successful), the separator line remained in the folder. See image with red arrow here:

http://www.ucog.org/HO/toolbar-folder.jpg

Can anyone help me with the necessary code to add to my userChrome file to get rid of this separator in the folders on my bookmarks toolbar?

Thanks in advance from Bonn, Germany!

User avatar
jars_
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 398
Joined: 2016-12-27, 00:12

Re: userChrome for bookmarks toolbar adjustment

Unread post by jars_ » 2018-01-26, 10:36

ther are a lot of separators in this menu.
#placesContext_openSeparator ,
#placesContext_newSeparator,
#placesContext_deleteSeparator,
#placesContext_editSeparator,

....

try some of this

Code: Select all

#placesContext_openSeparator  {
        display:none !important;
        }
or remove all separators in this toolbar

Code: Select all

menupopup#placesContext > [id$="Separator"]  {
        display:none !important;
        }

us66mo
Moonbather
Moonbather
Posts: 51
Joined: 2017-12-25, 03:51
Location: Bonn, Germany

Re: userChrome for bookmarks toolbar adjustment

Unread post by us66mo » 2018-01-26, 18:21

Hi Jars,

Thanks for the suggestions. None of them worked, so I am obviously doing something wrong. :-)

User avatar
jars_
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 398
Joined: 2016-12-27, 00:12

Re: userChrome for bookmarks toolbar adjustment

Unread post by jars_ » 2018-01-26, 18:50

so I am obviously doing something wrong.
yep , obviously ;) because this is from my own file userChrome.css and I have long removed these splitters from the menu. Look carefully you where put this codes. (SFMBE )
%PaleMoonProfile%\chrome\userChrome.css

us66mo
Moonbather
Moonbather
Posts: 51
Joined: 2017-12-25, 03:51
Location: Bonn, Germany

Re: userChrome for bookmarks toolbar adjustment

Unread post by us66mo » 2018-01-26, 19:03

Thanks again. I have the userChrome file in the right place because it works on everything else (I customized the regular bookmarks menu to get rid of stuff).

The code I used to get rid of the "Open all in tabs" menu item in my bookmarks toolbar folder was this (and it worked):

.openintabs-menuitem {display: none !important;}

But that separator stayed in there. Stubborn thing.

us66mo
Moonbather
Moonbather
Posts: 51
Joined: 2017-12-25, 03:51
Location: Bonn, Germany

Re: userChrome for bookmarks toolbar adjustment

Unread post by us66mo » 2018-01-26, 20:47

SOLVED!

This code did the trick:

.bookmarks-actions-menuseparator {
display: none !important;
}

Case closed! 8-)

Public Enema

Re: userChrome for bookmarks toolbar adjustment

Unread post by Public Enema » 2019-02-04, 23:25

While we're here, I have looked up and down, and found no handy guide to the various XUL elements of FF/PM's UI, such as placesContext, libraryToolbarSpacer, detailsDeck and a million more. Anyone knows of a resource?

coffeebreak
Moon Magic practitioner
Moon Magic practitioner
Posts: 2986
Joined: 2015-09-26, 04:51
Location: U.S.

Re: userChrome for bookmarks toolbar adjustment

Unread post by coffeebreak » 2019-02-05, 00:40

Public Enema wrote:... handy guide to the various XUL elements of FF/PM's UI ...
Anyone knows of a resource?

Try this tool: DOM Inspector

Shift+Right-click on elements in the browser chrome (or in web pages) allows to inspect and get IDs.

A bit more info here.

robertjazz

Re: userChrome for bookmarks toolbar adjustment

Unread post by robertjazz » 2019-02-18, 10:14

jars_ wrote:ther are a lot of separators in this menu.
#placesContext_openSeparator ,
#placesContext_newSeparator,
#placesContext_deleteSeparator,
#placesContext_editSeparator,

....

try some of this

Code: Select all

#placesContext_openSeparator  {
        display:none !important;
        }
or remove all separators in this toolbar

Code: Select all

menupopup#placesContext > [id$="Separator"]  {
        display:none !important;
        }
Thanks jars for the codes

Locked