override string for Amazon Prime

Board for discussions around the Basilisk web browser.

Moderator: satrow

User avatar
gracious1
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back
Posts: 876
Joined: 2016-05-15, 05:00
Location: humid upstate NY

override string for Amazon Prime

Unread post by gracious1 » 2019-01-21, 03:18

Although it wasn't true a couple of weeks ago, I find I cannot watch video on Amazon Prime on Basilisk. What is the useragent override string I should use? I'm using Windows 10.
20 July 1969 🌗 50th Anniversary of Apollo 11 🌓 "One small step for [a] man, one giant leap for mankind." 🚀

User avatar
therube
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1101
Joined: 2018-06-08, 17:02

Re: override string for Amazon Prime

Unread post by therube » 2019-01-21, 17:18

Does AP require DRM?
Does Basilisk support DRM?

Otherwise, why not just try a "stock" FF (64) useragent & see if that works?

User avatar
Nigaikaze
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1110
Joined: 2014-02-02, 22:15
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: override string for Amazon Prime

Unread post by Nigaikaze » 2019-01-21, 18:16

therube wrote:Does Basilisk support DRM?
Yes, if it is enabled (under Preferences > Content).
gracious1 wrote:I find I cannot watch video on Amazon Prime on Basilisk.
What happens when you try? Do you get any sort of error message?
Nichi nichi kore ko jitsu = Every day is a good day.

User avatar
gracious1
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back
Posts: 876
Joined: 2016-05-15, 05:00
Location: humid upstate NY

Re: override string for Amazon Prime

Unread post by gracious1 » 2019-01-22, 14:03

It says that I need to update my version of Firefox.
I do have DRM enabled (I'm not that clueless!)
I am not sure what the string in Windows is supposed to be.

This only happened in the last week or so. Earlier this month, I was doing fine without any override.
20 July 1969 🌗 50th Anniversary of Apollo 11 🌓 "One small step for [a] man, one giant leap for mankind." 🚀

User avatar
therube
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1101
Joined: 2018-06-08, 17:02

Re: override string for Amazon Prime

Unread post by therube » 2019-01-22, 17:33

Try & see what it does?

Code: Select all

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:64.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/64.0

coffeebreak
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1917
Joined: 2015-09-26, 04:51
Location: U.S.

Re: override string for Amazon Prime

Unread post by coffeebreak » 2019-01-22, 23:16

gracious1 wrote:I am not sure what the string in Windows is supposed to be.

I don't believe it should make a difference if the string refers to Win 10 or 7 (assuming an override fixes the problem), but:

W10 FF64

Code: Select all

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:64.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/64.0
or
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; WOW64; rv:64.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/64.0
W10 FF60

Code: Select all

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:60.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/60.0
or
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; WOW64; rv:60.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/60.0
(Just for info, this site maintains an updated list of common user agents: techblog.willshouse.com)

Locked