Basilisk stopped playing DRM content Topic is solved

Board for discussions around the Basilisk web browser.

Moderator: satrow

User avatar
fatboy
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 239
Joined: 2017-12-19, 08:03

Basilisk stopped playing DRM content

Post by fatboy » 2018-10-01, 14:21

Good Day Community,

Basilisk (64 bit, tarball on linux) used to be able to stream DRM content on this site (https://now.dstv.com), but two updates back it stopped working. The site gives a 3011 error. Not sure that means anything?
Anyway, I am trying to get the devs of the site to explain to me what it means, they just say "It is a browser" error/ Useless.
Maybe you guys know what can cause it?

Kind Regards,
fatboy
Last edited by fatboy on 2018-10-01, 14:24, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
therube
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1105
Joined: 2018-06-08, 17:02

Re: Basilisk stopped playing DRM content

Post by therube » 2018-10-01, 15:36

Version or build date or whatever identifies Basilisk?

Anything of note in Error Console?

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 24976
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: 58°2'16"N 14°58'31"E
Contact:

Re: Basilisk stopped playing DRM content

Post by Moonchild » 2018-10-02, 08:30

fatboy wrote:Maybe you guys know what can cause it?
We can't magically know what a custom error on their end means.
"If you want to build a better world for yourself, you have to be willing to build one for everybody." -- Coyote Osborne
Image

User avatar
fatboy
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 239
Joined: 2017-12-19, 08:03

Re: Basilisk stopped playing DRM content

Post by fatboy » 2018-10-02, 12:46

Moonchild wrote: We can't magically know what a custom error on their end means.
I know, and they are frustrating the living crap out of me. I want to help you guys with bug smashing, but the people at DSTV aren't helping.

Galaxy
Hobby Astronomer
Hobby Astronomer
Posts: 27
Joined: 2016-07-04, 03:41

Re: Basilisk stopped playing DRM content

Post by Galaxy » 2018-10-02, 21:22

@fatboy: Check to see if you have version 1.4.8.903 of the Widevine Content Decryption Module plugin provided by Google Inc. installed in the Add-ons Manager.

User avatar
fatboy
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 239
Joined: 2017-12-19, 08:03

Re: Basilisk stopped playing DRM content

Post by fatboy » 2018-10-03, 09:50

Galaxy wrote:@fatboy: Check to see if you have version 1.4.8.903 of the Widevine Content Decryption Module plugin provided by Google Inc. installed in the Add-ons Manager.
OK cool, I will look tonight. What do I do if it is not installed?

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 24976
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: 58°2'16"N 14°58'31"E
Contact:

Re: Basilisk stopped playing DRM content

Post by Moonchild » 2018-10-03, 10:01

fatboy wrote:
Galaxy wrote:@fatboy: Check to see if you have version 1.4.8.903 of the Widevine Content Decryption Module plugin provided by Google Inc. installed in the Add-ons Manager.
OK cool, I will look tonight. What do I do if it is not installed?
Verify in preferences if, under content "Play DRM content" is checked, and visit a DRM/EME site. It should install the plugin automatically.
"If you want to build a better world for yourself, you have to be willing to build one for everybody." -- Coyote Osborne
Image

User avatar
Bollard
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018-10-06, 22:30

Re: Basilisk stopped playing DRM content

Post by Bollard » 2018-10-06, 22:40

I started experiencing this about a month ago as well.

The only information I could find was on a french website that says the problem is due to an update of Google's licence servers. The version of widevine installed by Basilisk and Firefox 52 ESR is no longer supported.

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 24976
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: 58°2'16"N 14°58'31"E
Contact:

Re: Basilisk stopped playing DRM content

Post by Moonchild » 2018-10-07, 03:10

I don't get it. The whole point of on-the-fly serving of a CDM to browsers is so that these plugins are always up-to-date when they are requested by a user.
Do you have any more specifics about this "license server update" on Google's side?
Last edited by Moonchild on 2018-10-07, 03:11, edited 1 time in total.
"If you want to build a better world for yourself, you have to be willing to build one for everybody." -- Coyote Osborne
Image

User avatar
Bollard
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018-10-06, 22:30

Re: Basilisk stopped playing DRM content

Post by Bollard » 2018-10-07, 03:31

Moonchild wrote:I don't get it. The whole point of on-the-fly serving of a CDM to browsers is so that these plugins are always up-to-date when they are requested by a user.
Do you have any more specifics about this "license server update" on Google's side?
Sorry, I'm clueless about the "license server update". This is the website where they discuss it. I'm not sure if their conclusions are correct or not, but it's all I could find.

For me, Basilisk and Firefox 52ESR always install Widevine 1.4.8.903. When I use Firefox 60 ESR, Widevine 1.4.9.1088 gets installed and works everywhere.

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 24976
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: 58°2'16"N 14°58'31"E
Contact:

Re: Basilisk stopped playing DRM content

Post by Moonchild » 2018-10-07, 03:55

Something tells me then that this is a restriction imposed by Mozilla through their update service to push the latest Firefox.
Basilisk does use Mozilla's update service to get the URL for the Gecko Media Plugin in use.

EDIT: if you change the about:config preference media.gmp-manager.url to use a hard-coded version "60.0" in the URL instead of the current "55.0", what do you get served?
Last edited by Moonchild on 2018-10-07, 04:00, edited 2 times in total.
"If you want to build a better world for yourself, you have to be willing to build one for everybody." -- Coyote Osborne
Image

User avatar
Bollard
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018-10-06, 22:30

Re: Basilisk stopped playing DRM content

Post by Bollard » 2018-10-07, 04:30

Moonchild wrote:Something tells me then that this is a restriction imposed by Mozilla through their update service to push the latest Firefox.
Basilisk does use Mozilla's update service to get the URL for the Gecko Media Plugin in use.

EDIT: if you change the about:config preference media.gmp-manager.url to use a hard-coded version "60.0" in the URL instead of the current "55.0", what do you get served?
It worked. Widevine 1.4.8.1008 was installed and DRM content is playing perfectly. Thank you!

EDIT: Interesting that Basilisk installs 1.4.8.1008 whereas Firefox 60ESR installs 1.4.9.1088. It's still working though.
Last edited by Bollard on 2018-10-07, 04:57, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
trava90
Contributing developer
Contributing developer
Posts: 1565
Joined: 2013-05-20, 18:19
Location: Earth
Contact:

Re: Basilisk stopped playing DRM content

Post by trava90 » 2018-10-07, 16:04

@Moonchild,

Looks like Mozilla recently has made some changes regarding the rules for serving Widevine updates (bug #1475260, bug #1475277, bug #1493255), that are likely causing this.

BillZM
Hobby Astronomer
Hobby Astronomer
Posts: 29
Joined: 2018-02-21, 21:03

Re: Basilisk stopped playing DRM content

Post by BillZM » 2018-10-07, 21:10

Hardcoding 62.0 updates to 1.4.9.1088

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 24976
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: 58°2'16"N 14°58'31"E
Contact:

Re: Basilisk stopped playing DRM content

Post by Moonchild » 2018-10-08, 11:02

trava90 wrote:@Moonchild,

Looks like Mozilla recently has made some changes regarding the rules for serving Widevine updates (bug #1475260, bug #1475277, bug #1493255), that are likely causing this.
Which is exactly why we should stop relying on Mozilla for this when possible.
I've shot the Widevine team at Google another e-mail about this (my previous one went unanswered) and hope we can set up something with Google directly to be served updates that don't tie to a compat version of Firefox. We can't keep pulling the update files from Mozilla.
"If you want to build a better world for yourself, you have to be willing to build one for everybody." -- Coyote Osborne
Image

User avatar
Gauri
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: 2018-11-08, 09:25

Re: Basilisk stopped playing DRM content

Post by Gauri » 2018-11-23, 12:04

Visiting https://www.netflix.com/ru/title/80018499 results in "Basilisk is installing components needed to play the audio or video on this page. Please try again later." error. Changing media.gmp-manager.url to 62.0 (Widevine 1.4.9.1088) or even 64.0 (Widevine 4.10.1146.0) doesn't help. What could be a source of the problem? Both Primetime and Widevine plugins are installed. Could they interfere each other?

User avatar
Bollard
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018-10-06, 22:30

Re: Basilisk stopped playing DRM content

Post by Bollard » 2018-11-27, 11:01

Gauri wrote:Changing media.gmp-manager.url to 62.0 (Widevine 1.4.9.1088) or even 64.0 (Widevine 4.10.1146.0) doesn't help.
Change it to 60.0

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 24976
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: 58°2'16"N 14°58'31"E
Contact:

Re: Basilisk stopped playing DRM content

Post by Moonchild » 2018-11-27, 11:05

Google again has not replied, nor even acknowledged that they have received my message. Extremely unprofessional.
I guess we'll just have to "wing it" and reverse-engineer the update procedure to provide our own update XML files.
"If you want to build a better world for yourself, you have to be willing to build one for everybody." -- Coyote Osborne
Image

User avatar
Gauri
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: 2018-11-08, 09:25

Re: Basilisk stopped playing DRM content

Post by Gauri » 2018-11-28, 06:43

Bollard wrote:Change it to 60.0
Thanks! 60.0 or 61.0 works for me!

User avatar
fatboy
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 239
Joined: 2017-12-19, 08:03

Re: Basilisk stopped playing DRM content

Post by fatboy » 2018-12-19, 13:51

Don't know what you guys did, but Basilisk is working again after the 2018.12.18 update! Thank You so much!

Post Reply