How to use SOCKS5 proxy with user/pass + foxyproxy?

General discussion, compatibility and contributed extensions.

Moderators: satrow, FranklinDM, Lootyhoof

Locked
User avatar
GcBGvgDkcddveu66
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018-11-15, 20:13

How to use SOCKS5 proxy with user/pass + foxyproxy?

Post by GcBGvgDkcddveu66 » 2018-11-15, 20:23

Hello,

I have SOCKS 5 proxy with username and password. On Firefox and Chrome I am using FoxyProxy addon. I see for the Pale Moon it's also ported, but when I try to use it I am getting message like in the attachment.

What is the way to use SOCKS5 proxy with authentication in Pale Moon?

Thank you.
Attachments
The error when you are trying to use SOCKS5 with auth.
The error when you are trying to use SOCKS5 with auth.
Last edited by Moonchild on 2018-11-15, 21:42, edited 1 time in total.

yami_
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 505
Joined: 2018-04-26, 11:05

Re: How to use SOCKS5 proxy with user/pass + foxyproxy?

Post by yami_ » 2018-11-15, 21:51

Maybe you could use the build-in proxy settings in Tools > Preferences > Advanced > Network > Settings...?
Attachments
fig. 1
fig. 1
Last edited by yami_ on 2018-11-15, 21:51, edited 1 time in total.
cat came back from Berkeley waving flags -- rob pike

User avatar
GcBGvgDkcddveu66
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018-11-15, 20:13

Re: How to use SOCKS5 proxy with user/pass + foxyproxy?

Post by GcBGvgDkcddveu66 » 2018-11-16, 01:01

I would if I could. There is no AUTH (login+pass) function. That is why I wonder the developers can add it? The funny thing is the bug exists since 17 years... https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=122752
Last edited by GcBGvgDkcddveu66 on 2018-11-16, 01:01, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
gepus
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 371
Joined: 2017-12-14, 12:59

Re: How to use SOCKS5 proxy with user/pass + foxyproxy?

Post by gepus » 2018-11-16, 09:43

Try FoxyProxy Basic from Pale Moon's add-on site.
I didn't test myself but it should work. Not sure but be aware that user name and password might get stored in plain text somewhere in your profile folder.
Last edited by gepus on 2018-11-16, 09:44, edited 1 time in total.

yami_
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 505
Joined: 2018-04-26, 11:05

Re: How to use SOCKS5 proxy with user/pass + foxyproxy?

Post by yami_ » 2018-11-16, 10:43

I always thought that you can enter the username and password together with the server address, but apparently you can not. Interestingly enough, if I understand the this correctly, UXP should support the SOCKS5 username and password authentication, but it simply is not exposed in the settings.
cat came back from Berkeley waving flags -- rob pike

User avatar
GcBGvgDkcddveu66
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018-11-15, 20:13

Re: How to use SOCKS5 proxy with user/pass + foxyproxy?

Post by GcBGvgDkcddveu66 » 2018-11-16, 13:32

@gepus
Thanks for trying to help, but... did you even read my post and take a look on the screenshot? I am using FoxyProxy, but it does not work.

User avatar
JustOff
Localization Coordinator
Localization Coordinator
Posts: 1805
Joined: 2015-09-03, 19:47
Location: UA
Contact:

Re: How to use SOCKS5 proxy with user/pass + foxyproxy?

Post by JustOff » 2018-11-16, 16:44

FoxyProxy simply does not handle Goanna platform applications properly. You should try to apply the following patch to the FoxyProxy Basic v3.6.5:

Code: Select all

--- components\common.js.orig Fri Jan 27 13:35:18 2017
+++ components\common.js      Fri Nov 16 18:33:52 2018
@@ -27,3 +27,3 @@
   // We need that to handle bug 769764 properly.
-  fp.isGecko17 = this.vc.compare(this.appInfo.platformVersion, "18.0a1") < 0;
+  fp.isGecko17 = false;
   // We only need to add the foxyproxy service to our wrapper if we are about
@@ -38,3 +38,3 @@
   // SOCKS is supported but not with authentication.
-  fp.isGecko45 = this.vc.compare(this.appInfo.platformVersion, "45.0a1") >= 0;
+  fp.isGecko45 = true;
PS: Download XPI -> Rename to ZIP -> Extract common.js -> Edit common.js -> Replace common.js in ZIP -> Rename to XPI -> Install.
Here are the add-ons I made in a spare time. That was fun!

User avatar
gepus
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 371
Joined: 2017-12-14, 12:59

Re: How to use SOCKS5 proxy with user/pass + foxyproxy?

Post by gepus » 2018-11-16, 18:22

GcBGvgDkcddveu66 wrote:@gepus
Thanks for trying to help, but... did you even read my post and take a look on the screenshot? I am using FoxyProxy, but it does not work.
Sorry, I overlooked your screenshot. My bad. :oops:

Let's hope, the patch offered by JustOff can help.

User avatar
GcBGvgDkcddveu66
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018-11-15, 20:13

Re: How to use SOCKS5 proxy with user/pass + foxyproxy?

Post by GcBGvgDkcddveu66 » 2018-11-17, 01:21

@JustOff
Thank you so much, I will test it out by Monday as have no access to machine at the moment. I do really appreciate how much kind you are.

@gepus
Not a problem at all. You've tried! ;-)

Locked