Java plugin not working Topic is solved

General discussion and compatibility support about browser plug-ins.
(e.g. Adobe Flash, Java plugin, authentication plugins, Unity)

Moderators: satrow, FranklinDM, Lootyhoof

casperlu59

Java plugin not working

Post by casperlu59 » 2017-07-15, 11:56

I am using 32 bit Java on the latest Pale Moon. I can't get it to work

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 24888
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: 58°2'16"N 14°58'31"E
Contact:

Re: Java plugin not working

Post by Moonchild » 2017-07-15, 12:42

Make sure you are also using 32-bit Pale Moon, in that case.
"If you want to build a better world for yourself, you have to be willing to build one for everybody." -- Coyote Osborne
Image

casperlu59

Re: Java plugin not working

Post by casperlu59 » 2017-07-15, 14:17

I am using the 32 bit pale moon. I play on pogo.com and I can't get any of their java games to work on pale moon, firefox or IE11

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 24888
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: 58°2'16"N 14°58'31"E
Contact:

Re: Java plugin not working

Post by Moonchild » 2017-07-16, 01:48

Can you provide an example of a Java game on that site? Because it looks like just about everything there is Flash-based.
"If you want to build a better world for yourself, you have to be willing to build one for everybody." -- Coyote Osborne
Image

casperlu59

Re: Java plugin not working

Post by casperlu59 » 2017-07-16, 08:12

Fortune Bingo, Aces Up, Casino Island Blackjack, Lottso. These are the ones I know for sure. None will load

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 24888
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: 58°2'16"N 14°58'31"E
Contact:

Re: Java plugin not working

Post by Moonchild » 2017-07-16, 09:37

I see how it can be confusing, because their ads will cover the plugin area so it may not be clear that you have to give permission.
When loading a Java game, click the "building block" plugin icon at the start of the address bar and give it permission (you may want to "allow and remember" for pogo so you don't have to do this again). Once the plugin is activated for the site, you will get a second confirmation to actually run the java applet.
Attachments
pogo1.png
"If you want to build a better world for yourself, you have to be willing to build one for everybody." -- Coyote Osborne
Image

casperlu59

Re: Java plugin not working

Post by casperlu59 » 2017-07-16, 09:54

I don't get any ads because I am a Pogo member. I tried clicking on that button and chose "allow" but it still won't load

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 24888
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: 58°2'16"N 14°58'31"E
Contact:

Re: Java plugin not working

Post by Moonchild » 2017-07-16, 10:49

casperlu59 wrote:I don't get any ads because I am a Pogo member. I tried clicking on that button and chose "allow" but it still won't load
Check your add-ons manager, plugins category, to make sure that the Java plugin is enabled.
Otherwise it all works on this end, so I can't really provide any further assistance.
"If you want to build a better world for yourself, you have to be willing to build one for everybody." -- Coyote Osborne
Image

User avatar
hitokage
Moon lover
Moon lover
Posts: 79
Joined: 2014-05-03, 02:19
Location: Frederick, MD

Re: Java plugin not working

Post by hitokage » 2017-07-19, 09:32

You can use this link to check whether Java is installed and working properly - you should receive a prompt asking if you want the Java applet to run, and then get an applet that saying it's installed correctly.

Also, they just updated Java again (July 18th), so you may want to grab the newest version.

User avatar
WilliamK
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 175
Joined: 2018-02-23, 06:51

Re: Java plugin not working

Post by WilliamK » 2018-05-30, 02:48

Not long ago I praised PM for maintaining support for Java. I use it in Webmin to manage files almost every day.

Today I logged in and tried to open that File Manager and now get an error message that reads "A plugin is needed to display this content"!

I have not updated PM recently and have always had Java installed and up to date :crazy:

I rolled back to Java version 8_162 in case the latest update is the culprit. Should Java show up in PM's list of plugins?
Last edited by WilliamK on 2018-05-30, 04:31, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
SpockFan02
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 510
Joined: 2017-09-24, 16:35
Location: Mak pupulusšum, California

Re: Java plugin not working

Post by SpockFan02 » 2018-05-30, 05:29

WilliamK wrote:... Should Java show up in PM's list of plugins?
Yes, it should.
Screenshot 2018-05-29 22.25.47.png
27.9.0 (64-bit) on macOS 10.12.6, for reference.

User avatar
WilliamK
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 175
Joined: 2018-02-23, 06:51

Re: Java plugin not working

Post by WilliamK » 2018-05-30, 06:28

Thanks, but that is a Mac thing. Never seen it referred to as "Java Applet Plugin" before. I'm on Win7 and no browser, even Firefox43, is showing any Java plugin in the plugin list. Yet I have it installed and Java apps run on the desktop perfectly.

User avatar
SpockFan02
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 510
Joined: 2017-09-24, 16:35
Location: Mak pupulusšum, California

Re: Java plugin not working

Post by SpockFan02 » 2018-05-30, 07:49

Desktop apps shouldn't need a browser plugin to run! :lol:

User avatar
WilliamK
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 175
Joined: 2018-02-23, 06:51

Re: Java plugin not working

Post by WilliamK » 2018-05-30, 07:55

SpockFan02 wrote:Desktop apps shouldn't need a browser plugin to run!
Ah, but Java apps (.jar) do need Java installed and enabled.

User avatar
SpockFan02
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 510
Joined: 2017-09-24, 16:35
Location: Mak pupulusšum, California

Re: Java plugin not working

Post by SpockFan02 » 2018-05-30, 08:00

WilliamK wrote:
SpockFan02 wrote:Desktop apps shouldn't need a browser plugin to run!
Ah, but Java apps (.jar) do need Java installed and enabled.
Yeah. Anyway, apparently it's called Java Applet Plug-in on macOS and Java (TM) Platform plugin on Windows.

User avatar
WilliamK
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 175
Joined: 2018-02-23, 06:51

Re: Java plugin not working

Post by WilliamK » 2018-05-30, 08:32

SpockFan02 wrote: Java (TM) Platform plugin on Windows.
Beats me. This is not showing in any browser. Not even IE11.

vannilla
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 698
Joined: 2018-05-05, 13:29

Re: Java plugin not working

Post by vannilla » 2018-05-30, 09:31

WilliamK wrote:Beats me. This is not showing in any browser. Not even IE11.
There's also the possibility that Oracle stopped releasing the browser plugin.
I can't find any informations about it right now though.

User avatar
WilliamK
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 175
Joined: 2018-02-23, 06:51

Re: Java plugin not working

Post by WilliamK » 2018-05-30, 09:50

vannilla wrote:There's also the possibility that Oracle stopped releasing the browser plugin.
In case this might be the case, I reverted to an earlier version that I recall was working ok.

Maybe something in my Windows is clagged.

yami_
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 505
Joined: 2018-04-26, 11:05

Re: Java plugin not working

Post by yami_ » 2018-05-30, 10:15

vannilla wrote: There's also the possibility that Oracle stopped releasing the browser plugin.
I can't find any informations about it right now though.
I have just updated to Java SE 8 Update 172 and the plugin is still present in Pale Moon, Basilisk and IE11. The plugin version is 11.172.2.11. I use Windows 7 SP1.
cat came back from Berkeley waving flags -- rob pike

User avatar
WilliamK
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 175
Joined: 2018-02-23, 06:51

Re: Java plugin not working

Post by WilliamK » 2018-05-31, 00:34

Java still does not appear in any browser plugin list on my PC, even though it is installed and usable by desktop apps created in Java.

But no drama, because I did resolve my Webmin dilemma by upgrading to the latest version of Webmin which now uses CGI for the FileManager. Some functions like unzip and delete zip file when upload completes are missing but overall it is very much faster.

Locked