Can't make github issues

For support with specific websites

Moderator: trava90

Forum rules
Please always mention the name/domain of the website in question in your topic title.
Please one website per topic thread (to help keep things organized). While behavior on different sites might at first glance seem similar, they are not necessarily caused by the same.

Please try to include any relevant output from the Toolkit Error Console or the Developer Tools Web Console using the following procedure:
  1. Clear any current output
  2. Navigate or refresh the page in question
  3. Copy and paste Errors or seemingly relevant Warnings into a single [ code ] block.
User avatar
stefan11111
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 43
Joined: 2023-08-13, 18:09

Can't make github issues

Unread post by stefan11111 » 2025-01-24, 00:05

Please always mention the name/domain of the website in question in your topic title.

Please try to include any relevant output from the Toolkit Error Console or the Developer Tools Web Console using the following procedure:

1) Clear any current output
2) Navigate or refresh the page in question
3) Copy and paste Errors or seemingly relevant Warnings into a single [ code ] block.

Code: Select all

SyntaxError: 'dialog:modal, [role="dialog"][aria-modal="true"]' is not a valid selector 
vendors-node_modules_oddbird_popover-polyfill_dist_popover_js-9da652f58479.js:1
	value https://github.githubassets.com/assets/vendors-node_modules_oddbird_popover-polyfill_dist_popover_js-9da652f58479.js:1:4659
	b/i</e< https://github.githubassets.com/assets/ui_packages_ui-commands_ui-commands_ts-a706a57c5626.js:1:16548
	b/i< https://github.githubassets.com/assets/ui_packages_ui-commands_ui-commands_ts-a706a57c5626.js:1:16784
	b/n< https://github.githubassets.com/assets/ui_packages_ui-commands_ui-commands_ts-a706a57c5626.js:1:16893
	e https://github.githubassets.com/assets/ui_packages_ui-commands_ui-commands_ts-a706a57c5626.js:1:17338
	triggerCommand https://github.githubassets.com/assets/ui_packages_ui-commands_ui-commands_ts-a706a57c5626.js:1:17684
	onClick https://github.githubassets.com/assets/ui_packages_ui-commands_ui-commands_ts-a706a57c5626.js:1:18856
	eO https://github.githubassets.com/assets/react-lib-2131e17288a8.js:25:14919
	ej https://github.githubassets.com/assets/react-lib-2131e17288a8.js:25:15073
	n7/< https://github.githubassets.com/assets/react-lib-2131e17288a8.js:25:33389
	n7 https://github.githubassets.com/assets/react-lib-2131e17288a8.js:25:33488
	re https://github.githubassets.com/assets/react-lib-2131e17288a8.js:25:33902
	ro/< https://github.githubassets.com/assets/react-lib-2131e17288a8.js:25:39358
	u_ https://github.githubassets.com/assets/react-lib-2131e17288a8.js:25:96272
	eL https://github.githubassets.com/assets/react-lib-2131e17288a8.js:25:14057
	ro https://github.githubassets.com/assets/react-lib-2131e17288a8.js:25:35193
	tO https://github.githubassets.com/assets/react-lib-2131e17288a8.js:25:20861
	tI https://github.githubassets.com/assets/react-lib-2131e17288a8.js:25:20645
	bind_applyFunctionN self-hosted:1227:9
	bind_invokeFunctionN self-hosted:1214:12
	tI self-hosted:1194:16

        
Any idea how to fix this?

User avatar
andyprough
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back
Posts: 993
Joined: 2020-05-31, 04:33

Re: Can't make github issues

Unread post by andyprough » 2025-01-24, 01:43

Yeah, I tried it and can confirm that I can't get github to create a new issue using Pale Moon. I can fill the form out, but when I click the green "Create" button at the bottom of the form nothing happens.

If anyone wants to try creating a test Issue on a github repo, feel free to create one on my repo here: https://github.com/andyprough/OpenOfficeAppImagex86

User avatar
adoxa
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 338
Joined: 2019-03-16, 13:26
Location: Qld, Aus.
Contact:

Re: Can't make github issues

Unread post by adoxa » 2025-01-24, 07:06

Press Ctrl+Enter instead, or use this Modify HTTP Response filter.

Code: Select all

[["github.githubassets.com",["/ui_packages_ui-commands_ui-commands_ts/",["dialog:modal, ",""]]]]

User avatar
andyprough
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back
Posts: 993
Joined: 2020-05-31, 04:33

Re: Can't make github issues

Unread post by andyprough » 2025-01-24, 07:15

adoxa wrote:
2025-01-24, 07:06
Press Ctrl+Enter instead, or use this Modify HTTP Response filter.

Code: Select all

[["github.githubassets.com",["/ui_packages_ui-commands_ui-commands_ts/",["dialog:modal, ",""]]]]
Can confirm that pressing Ctrl+Enter while the cursor is in the text box works to create the issue. Thanks for that and for this Modify HTTP Resonse filter @adoxa. Is this something that needs to be fixed in Pale Moon's js handling, or is this something that Github is doing incorrectly and that the devs should not try to adapt to in Pale Moon?

User avatar
adoxa
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 338
Joined: 2019-03-16, 13:26
Location: Qld, Aus.
Contact:

Re: Can't make github issues

Unread post by adoxa » 2025-01-24, 07:27

I suspect it's because UXP has not yet added support for the :modal pseudo-class.

User avatar
stefan11111
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 43
Joined: 2023-08-13, 18:09

Re: Can't make github issues

Unread post by stefan11111 » 2025-01-24, 09:08

adoxa wrote:
2025-01-24, 07:06
Press Ctrl+Enter instead, or use this Modify HTTP Response filter.

Code: Select all

[["github.githubassets.com",["/ui_packages_ui-commands_ui-commands_ts/",["dialog:modal, ",""]]]]
Thanks, this works.
How did you come up with this filter?
adoxa wrote: I suspect it's because UXP has not yet added support for the :modal pseudo-class.
So this is not because github broke specs in some way, but due to a bug in palemoon?

User avatar
adoxa
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 338
Joined: 2019-03-16, 13:26
Location: Qld, Aus.
Contact:

Re: Can't make github issues

Unread post by adoxa » 2025-01-24, 09:40

stefan11111 wrote:
2025-01-24, 09:08
How did you come up with this filter?
Look at the error message, remove what makes it an error. :)
So this is not because github broke specs in some way, but due to a bug in palemoon?
You could consider it an example of Facebook's old motto: Move fast and break things.

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 36964
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: Motala, SE
Contact:

Re: Can't make github issues

Unread post by Moonchild » 2025-01-24, 10:56

stefan11111 wrote:
2025-01-24, 09:08
So this is not because github broke specs in some way, but due to a bug in palemoon?
That all depends on whether you call "not being the latest version of Google Chrome" a "bug".
There are several groups constantly pushing for changes to specs, and because of the volume of changes to the already obscenely large collection of Web APIs we have to be reactive rather than keeping pace with every single change (because we don't have half a billion or more a year to spend on developer wages).
This issue was raised on the repo, and 33.6.0 will have support for :modal.
See Issue #2681 (UXP) and Issue #2682 (UXP)
"The world will not be destroyed by those who do evil, but by those who watch them without doing anything." - Albert Einstein
"Seek wisdom, not knowledge. Knowledge is of the past; wisdom is of the future." -- Native American proverb
"Linux makes everything difficult." -- Lyceus Anubite

User avatar
stefan11111
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 43
Joined: 2023-08-13, 18:09

Re: Can't make github issues

Unread post by stefan11111 » 2025-01-24, 11:05

Moonchild wrote:
2025-01-24, 10:56
stefan11111 wrote:
2025-01-24, 09:08
So this is not because github broke specs in some way, but due to a bug in palemoon?
This issue was raised on the repo, and 33.6.0 will have support for :modal.
See Issue #2681 (UXP) and Issue #2682 (UXP)
When will 33.6.0 be released?

Next month. But if you can't wait, this has landed on master so you can build your own in the meantime.
So If I build this commit: https://repo.palemoon.org/MoonchildProd ... 068f06df63 ,
everything should work (that is the last commit currently).
Are there any known issues with it?

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 36964
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: Motala, SE
Contact:

Re: Can't make github issues

Unread post by Moonchild » 2025-01-24, 11:09

stefan11111 wrote:
2025-01-24, 11:05
So If I build this commit: https://repo.palemoon.org/MoonchildProd ... 068f06df63 ,
everything should work (that is the last commit currently).
Are there any known issues with it?
That should work, yes. If it doesn't let us know.

Be aware that your cookies database will be migrated to a newer version and you can't use it with older versions of the browser anymore.
"The world will not be destroyed by those who do evil, but by those who watch them without doing anything." - Albert Einstein
"Seek wisdom, not knowledge. Knowledge is of the past; wisdom is of the future." -- Native American proverb
"Linux makes everything difficult." -- Lyceus Anubite

User avatar
stefan11111
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 43
Joined: 2023-08-13, 18:09

Re: Can't make github issues

Unread post by stefan11111 » 2025-01-24, 13:49

Moonchild wrote:
2025-01-24, 11:09
stefan11111 wrote:
2025-01-24, 11:05
So If I build this commit: https://repo.palemoon.org/MoonchildProd ... 068f06df63 ,
everything should work (that is the last commit currently).
Are there any known issues with it?
That should work, yes. If it doesn't let us know.

Be aware that your cookies database will be migrated to a newer version and you can't use it with older versions of the browser anymore.
Build finished and I can make github issues.
Should I be concerned about these?

Code: Select all

ReferenceError: PerformanceObserver is not defined[Learn More]  
behaviors-4ff625c629d0.js:11:5667
	[86803] https://github.githubassets.com/assets/behaviors-4ff625c629d0.js:11:5667
	s https://github.githubassets.com/assets/wp-runtime-8e999f9cf862.js:1:141
	t https://github.githubassets.com/assets/behaviors-4ff625c629d0.js:34:5615
	<anonymous> https://github.githubassets.com/assets/behaviors-4ff625c629d0.js:34:6980
	s.O https://github.githubassets.com/assets/wp-runtime-8e999f9cf862.js:1:519
	<anonymous> https://github.githubassets.com/assets/behaviors-4ff625c629d0.js:34:6992
	_ https://github.githubassets.com/assets/wp-runtime-8e999f9cf862.js:1:52961
	_ self-hosted:1120:17
	<anonymous> https://github.githubassets.com/assets/behaviors-4ff625c629d0.js:1:55
Content Security Policy: The report URI (about:blank) should be an HTTP or HTTPS URI.  
(unknown)
Content Security Policy: The page’s settings observed the loading of a resource at https://github.com/assets-cdn/worker/socket-worker-10fbbfa136f2.js (“worker-src”). A CSP report is being sent.
I don't see any problems because of these. Is it fine to just ignore them?

User avatar
back2themoon
Moon Magic practitioner
Moon Magic practitioner
Posts: 2640
Joined: 2012-08-19, 20:32

Re: Can't make github issues

Unread post by back2themoon » 2025-01-24, 16:22

You can disable the new "experience" (this word has been abused so badly) in your GitHub settings. You obviously need a GH account.

Feature preview/New Issues Experience (disable it and you are ok).

Also discussed in this Palefill extension issue: https://github.com/martok/palefill/issues/97

User avatar
stefan11111
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 43
Joined: 2023-08-13, 18:09

Re: Can't make github issues

Unread post by stefan11111 » 2025-01-24, 16:35

back2themoon wrote:
2025-01-24, 16:22
You can disable the new "experience" (this word has been abused so badly) in your GitHub settings. You obviously need a GH account.

Feature preview/New Issues Experience (disable it and you are ok).

Also discussed in this Palefill extension issue: https://github.com/martok/palefill/issues/97
Thanks. Disabled it now.
Not the first time github fixed something that wasn't broken.

User avatar
stefan11111
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 43
Joined: 2023-08-13, 18:09

Re: Can't make github issues

Unread post by stefan11111 » 2025-01-24, 20:29

adoxa wrote:
2025-01-24, 07:27
I suspect it's because UXP has not yet added support for the :modal pseudo-class.
By the way, what does that class do?
Surely not something too important, as it could be worked around with extensions.

Doesn't js, being loosely typed, try to keep running even after encountering things that make other languages error?
Why couldn't that happen here?

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 36964
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: Motala, SE
Contact:

Re: Can't make github issues

Unread post by Moonchild » 2025-01-24, 22:29

stefan11111 wrote:
2025-01-24, 20:29
Doesn't js, being loosely typed, try to keep running even after encountering things that make other languages error?
No, because typing doesn't have much to do with syntax, and js is very strict with its syntax, not to mention everyone does a "use strict" everywhere almost as boilerplate. Also, any error in JS tends be fatal (unless in a try/catch) so it will absolutely break on the first error.
In addition, the issue here is that :modal is CSS, and the error thrown is that it finds an invalid CSS selector (making the query from JS fail, and making the script abort) and the calling JS isn't handling a throw there because it is assumed that it never throws because "everyone supports :modal, right?".
"The world will not be destroyed by those who do evil, but by those who watch them without doing anything." - Albert Einstein
"Seek wisdom, not knowledge. Knowledge is of the past; wisdom is of the future." -- Native American proverb
"Linux makes everything difficult." -- Lyceus Anubite

User avatar
stefan11111
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 43
Joined: 2023-08-13, 18:09

Re: Can't make github issues

Unread post by stefan11111 » 2025-01-24, 23:19

Moonchild wrote:
2025-01-24, 22:29
stefan11111 wrote:
2025-01-24, 20:29
Doesn't js, being loosely typed, try to keep running even after encountering things that make other languages error?
In addition, the issue here is that :modal is CSS, and the error thrown is that it finds an invalid CSS selector (making the query from JS fail, and making the script abort) and the calling JS isn't handling a throw there because it is assumed that it never throws because "everyone supports :modal, right?".
Is :modal a very, very common extension, or is this just how the web is programmed, assume nothing fails, never check for errors?
If it's the latter, it just seems insane to not check for errors. Imagine writing X11 apps and always assuming whatever X11 extension you want is there. Or never checking malloc(), open(), etc for failure.
But maybe web programming is different.

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 36964
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: Motala, SE
Contact:

Re: Can't make github issues

Unread post by Moonchild » 2025-01-25, 00:09

Unfortunately it's common practice these days to just "check the latest version of Chrome and maybe Firefox" and assume every browser supports what they do.
There are plenty of ways this can be handled gracefully, but it's not done anymore.
As for how recent :modal is, seems it's been in Chrome since 105 and Firefox 103, so definitely a more recent addition, although not super new.
"The world will not be destroyed by those who do evil, but by those who watch them without doing anything." - Albert Einstein
"Seek wisdom, not knowledge. Knowledge is of the past; wisdom is of the future." -- Native American proverb
"Linux makes everything difficult." -- Lyceus Anubite

User avatar
stefan11111
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 43
Joined: 2023-08-13, 18:09

Re: Can't make github issues

Unread post by stefan11111 » 2025-01-25, 10:11

Moonchild wrote:
2025-01-25, 00:09
Off-topic, but I felt like this didn't deserve another thread.
I notice that in the git build of palemoon, in my dwm bar, instead of 'Pale Moon', it now says 'New Moon'.
Will that cause any problems?
I always build without enabling official-branding, so maybe a default changed and that's probably why this happened.
Should I keep using palemoon like this, or should I enable official-branding?

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 36964
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: Motala, SE
Contact:

Re: Can't make github issues

Unread post by Moonchild » 2025-01-25, 15:03

If you're just building for your own use, it's perfectly fine and recommended to use official branding.
There were a few recent changes that no longer hard-code the application name and adopt the branded name so that's likely why you see this in the dwm bar.
"The world will not be destroyed by those who do evil, but by those who watch them without doing anything." - Albert Einstein
"Seek wisdom, not knowledge. Knowledge is of the past; wisdom is of the future." -- Native American proverb
"Linux makes everything difficult." -- Lyceus Anubite

thosrtanner
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 428
Joined: 2014-05-10, 18:19
Location: UK

Re: Can't make github issues

Unread post by thosrtanner » 2025-02-02, 21:08

stefan11111 wrote:
2025-01-24, 23:19
Or never checking malloc(), open(), etc for failure.
But maybe web programming is different.
No, web programming is not different. People do not check malloc, open, read, or write for failure even now.

Post Reply