Ready Boost

General project discussion
Forum rules
This General Discussion board is meant for topics that are still relevant to Pale Moon, web browsers, browser tech, and related, but don't have a more fitting board available.

Please stick to the relevance of this forum here, which focuses on everything around the Pale Moon project and its user community. "Random" subjects don't belong here, and should be posted in the Off-Topic board.
User avatar
Vultural
Moonbather
Moonbather
Posts: 67
Joined: 2015-08-26, 16:32
Location: Cheung Chau

Ready Boost

Post by Vultural » 2021-04-06, 15:04

Pale Moon seems to use more RAM. I have 4 GB, and could buy more, but my laptop needs DDR2 which is pricey.
Usually I close the browser, then reopen it.
Friends have suggested Ready Boost, of which I have been skeptical.
Does anyone have an opinion about Ready Boost? Is it useful? Or is it a pipedream?
Thank you.
Image

User avatar
Pentium4User
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 653
Joined: 2019-04-24, 09:38

Re: Ready Boost

Post by Pentium4User » 2021-04-06, 15:13

ReadyBoost enables NAND memory mass storage CompactFlash, SD card, and USB flash drive devices to be used as a cache between the hard drive and random access memory in an effort to increase computing performance.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ReadyBoost

This might help reduce RAM usage by the OS itself but I think most of the RAM usage by the browser is web content that isn't on your drive.
Powerline adapters (dLAN) hardly interfere shortwave radio, so stop using them.

Yes, I still use a 64 bit capable Pentium 4 670 processor with Pale Moon.

Michaell
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 161
Joined: 2018-05-26, 18:13

Re: Ready Boost

Post by Michaell » 2021-04-06, 15:43

I also have just 4GB. Haven't used ReadyBoost. Others I've tried don't really help. All I do now is monitor and start closing things at ~80% to avoid crashes.
Win10home(1709), PM29.x-port

User avatar
back2themoon
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1879
Joined: 2012-08-19, 20:32

Re: Ready Boost

Post by back2themoon » 2021-04-06, 17:21

Using many open tabs? Suspender might help.

User avatar
Nuck-TH
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 33
Joined: 2020-03-02, 16:04

Re: Ready Boost

Post by Nuck-TH » 2021-04-06, 17:27

SSD with system and pagefile on it will improve overall QOL of being on laptop, not just in Pale Moon.
ReadyBoost won't do anything good, considering speed of USB 2.0 and usb storage devices.

User avatar
Vultural
Moonbather
Moonbather
Posts: 67
Joined: 2015-08-26, 16:32
Location: Cheung Chau

Re: Ready Boost

Post by Vultural » 2021-04-06, 18:46

Thank you for the comments. I had been pondering SSD, which is cheaper than RAM in my situation.
back2themoon wrote:
2021-04-06, 17:21
Using many open tabs? Suspender might help.
I usually run 2 tabs. 3 on occasion, though I avoid that.
Currently, I am running 1 tab. Even typing this, Pale Moon hangs ("not responding") intermittently.
My add-ons are uBlock Origin and Clear Cache. [Disconnect (3.15), Fireshot and Lucifox have disabled for a few weeks.]
I ended up removing legacy NoScript awhile ago, an add-on I relied on, but it had become a bad relationship,

Outside of the browser, I mostly use a word processor for writing.
Most of my memory usage is from Pale Moon and AVG.
The browser freezing, not responding, has stymied me.
I was hoping (oh, the fool and his hopes) that Ready Boost might be a workaround.
Glancing at CleanMem from time to time, the RB has not.
Image

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 29675
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: Tranås, SE
Contact:

Re: Ready Boost

Post by Moonchild » 2021-04-07, 08:10

Have you tried making a fresh profile since removing NoScript?
"Son, in life you do not fight battles because you expect to win, you fight them merely because they need to be fought." -- Snagglepuss
Image

User avatar
Vultural
Moonbather
Moonbather
Posts: 67
Joined: 2015-08-26, 16:32
Location: Cheung Chau

Re: Ready Boost

Post by Vultural » 2021-04-07, 14:24

Moonchild wrote:
2021-04-07, 08:10
Have you tried making a fresh profile since removing NoScript?
Mmm ... actually I never knew how to do that, so it never entered my mind.
I saw a link in "Gotta Go" (viewtopic.php?f=65&t=26532&p=212181&hil ... le#p212181) and followed instructions.
Thank you.
Also, I read Vannilla's comments elsewhere (viewtopic.php?f=3&t=26469&p=212415#p212404) about a possible problem caused by Google or Gmail.
While I avoid Google on principle, damned if the first place I log into every morning is Blogger to post film reviews.
Then I go about my business.
I think I will use a different browser for that from now on. Maybe Midori, which I seldom use.
Thanks again, all.
Image

User avatar
moonbat
Moon Magic practitioner
Moon Magic practitioner
Posts: 2933
Joined: 2015-12-09, 15:45
Contact:

Re: Ready Boost

Post by moonbat » 2021-04-08, 00:19

Vultural wrote:
2021-04-07, 14:24
Mmm ... actually I never knew how to do that, so it never entered my mind.
Open about:profiles in a new tab (as in type that in the address bar), and you'll be taken to an easy GUI to create and manage profiles. Then install Profile Switcher which can be configured to let you choose which profile to use at startup.

And finally another important tip. Create one profile and leave it at its defaults without changing anything. The next time you have a problem with a broken website, use this for testing so that you can easily rule out any problems caused by extensions or settings in your main profile before you report it here.
"One hosts to look them up, one DNS to find them and in the darkness BIND them."

Image
Linux Mint 20.1 Xfce x64 on HP i5-5200 laptop, 12 GB RAM.
Advanced URL Builder(fork)|PermissionsPlus|PMPlayer|Pure URL|RecordRewind|TextFX

User avatar
New Tobin Paradigm
Knows the dark side
Knows the dark side
Posts: 9284
Joined: 2012-10-09, 19:37
Location: Seriphia Galaxy

Re: Ready Boost

Post by New Tobin Paradigm » 2021-04-08, 00:40

You would be better off using -profilemanager or --profilemanager depending on Windows vs Linux to deal with your profiles rather than a limited immature in-content form.

HOWEVER, ReadyBoost is a shit gimmick technology. Basically a slow as fuck ram drive saved on nand chips over USB. Terrible. Just download more ram!
You know I have the greatest enthusiasm possible for the mission.
Image

User avatar
Vultural
Moonbather
Moonbather
Posts: 67
Joined: 2015-08-26, 16:32
Location: Cheung Chau

Re: Ready Boost

Post by Vultural » 2021-04-08, 01:07

To be honest, I have never thought about profile ... ever!
I'm laughing because I use VPNs from time to time, and have privacy extensions, and have various email accounts.
But profiles, for me, are akin to, "You know, you could set up an account on Jupiter."
New Tobin Paradigm wrote:
2021-04-08, 00:40
... Just download more ram!
Wait, wait, wait! Really?
I cannot install (it would be $140), but I can download?
How do I do this?
An admirer wants to know!
Image

User avatar
moonbat
Moon Magic practitioner
Moon Magic practitioner
Posts: 2933
Joined: 2015-12-09, 15:45
Contact:

Re: Ready Boost

Post by moonbat » 2021-04-08, 03:32

Vultural wrote:
2021-04-08, 01:07
To be honest, I have never thought about profile ... ever!
Yeah, normally no one needs to except when you want to backup. But heed what I said about keeping a separate fresh profile handy to quickly test broken websites before posting about them here.
"One hosts to look them up, one DNS to find them and in the darkness BIND them."

Image
Linux Mint 20.1 Xfce x64 on HP i5-5200 laptop, 12 GB RAM.
Advanced URL Builder(fork)|PermissionsPlus|PMPlayer|Pure URL|RecordRewind|TextFX

User avatar
New Tobin Paradigm
Knows the dark side
Knows the dark side
Posts: 9284
Joined: 2012-10-09, 19:37
Location: Seriphia Galaxy

Re: Ready Boost

Post by New Tobin Paradigm » 2021-04-08, 04:04

Well if it is FRESH you should delete the profile when you are done with it and create a new one when you need it. Else it will get stale and no one has bothered to write nsIToolkitProfileZiploc to seal in the freshness yet.
You know I have the greatest enthusiasm possible for the mission.
Image

User avatar
moonbat
Moon Magic practitioner
Moon Magic practitioner
Posts: 2933
Joined: 2015-12-09, 15:45
Contact:

Re: Ready Boost

Post by moonbat » 2021-04-08, 05:14

New Tobin Paradigm wrote:
2021-04-08, 04:04
Well if it is FRESH you should delete the profile when you are done with it and create a new one when you need it. Else it will get stale and no one has bothered to write nsIToolkitProfileZiploc to seal in the freshness yet.
:lol:
Someone might take this seriously!
"One hosts to look them up, one DNS to find them and in the darkness BIND them."

Image
Linux Mint 20.1 Xfce x64 on HP i5-5200 laptop, 12 GB RAM.
Advanced URL Builder(fork)|PermissionsPlus|PMPlayer|Pure URL|RecordRewind|TextFX

User avatar
Vultural
Moonbather
Moonbather
Posts: 67
Joined: 2015-08-26, 16:32
Location: Cheung Chau

Re: Ready Boost

Post by Vultural » 2021-04-08, 18:37

Thanks, gents.
My problems seem to have gone away.
I made a copy of the new profile, and clouded it.
Chances are, I will never think of it.
Generally, if a site refuses to work with PM, I try a different browser.
I'm just a user, and I suspect other users do likewise.
Per Mr. Tobin's advice, I removed the Ready Boost which seemed to do jack.
Thank you again for the comments.
Image

User avatar
New Tobin Paradigm
Knows the dark side
Knows the dark side
Posts: 9284
Joined: 2012-10-09, 19:37
Location: Seriphia Galaxy

Re: Ready Boost

Post by New Tobin Paradigm » 2021-04-08, 20:06

Hopefully ram prices drop and you can get some. Seems almost all pc compoents are being jacked up for no reason.
You know I have the greatest enthusiasm possible for the mission.
Image

User avatar
moonbat
Moon Magic practitioner
Moon Magic practitioner
Posts: 2933
Joined: 2015-12-09, 15:45
Contact:

Re: Ready Boost

Post by moonbat » 2021-04-09, 01:12

Vultural wrote:
2021-04-08, 18:37
Generally, if a site refuses to work with PM, I try a different browser.
Seems a bit drastic :P
"One hosts to look them up, one DNS to find them and in the darkness BIND them."

Image
Linux Mint 20.1 Xfce x64 on HP i5-5200 laptop, 12 GB RAM.
Advanced URL Builder(fork)|PermissionsPlus|PMPlayer|Pure URL|RecordRewind|TextFX

User avatar
Lunokhod
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 363
Joined: 2017-04-20, 21:25
Contact:

Re: Ready Boost

Post by Lunokhod » 2021-04-09, 13:27

There are some things that might preload stuff into RAM, but this can be done so although the RAM is full, it can still be used if needed, like superfetch in Windows claims to do. So RAM appearing full may not be a problem, it's only your entire OS being loaded into there in case it's needed. Many data plans have a 10-15GB download limit per month, it would take some seriously heavy websites to use up 4GB. About 10 year old laptops and newer often have some internal slot for a mini ssd drive that can be used to speed system performance, but that mainly entails installing the OS or key parts of it on there. Also SSD's come in different speeds, eg Western Digital green, red and black. An ssd is still 1 or 2 orders of magnitude slower than RAM though.
Wait, it's all Ohio? Always has been...

User avatar
tcaudilllg
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: 2021-04-05, 18:05

Re: Ready Boost

Post by tcaudilllg » 2021-04-12, 00:56

I recommend disabling Ion in about:config. It's only used when a piece of Javascript is called hundreds of times (to speed it up), often fails to deliver and will increase your RAM usage 2x.

User avatar
New Tobin Paradigm
Knows the dark side
Knows the dark side
Posts: 9284
Joined: 2012-10-09, 19:37
Location: Seriphia Galaxy

Re: Ready Boost

Post by New Tobin Paradigm » 2021-04-12, 01:28

So what you JUST said is disable IonMonkey because it is only useful on the whole of the modern (read: corporate) web.

Uh huh. Good luck with that.
You know I have the greatest enthusiasm possible for the mission.
Image

Post Reply