google news

This board is for discussions, bug reports, etc. for pre-releases of the v28 milestone building on UXP.

Moderator: satrow

User avatar
teaseapeaeyepee
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: 2018-07-14, 17:24

google news always locks up my browser

Unread post by teaseapeaeyepee » 2018-07-14, 17:38

problem;

go to https://news.google.com/?taa=1&hl=en-GB ... ceid=GB:en

palemoon 28 beta 3 is non responsive for 60 seconds with a spinning wheel .

is there a monitoring or telemetry tool built in or as an addon that i can use to see what exactly happens when i reload the page ?

User avatar
teaseapeaeyepee
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: 2018-07-14, 17:24

google news

Unread post by teaseapeaeyepee » 2018-07-14, 17:45

google news renders 28b3 non responsive .

totally locks up browser for 60 seconds spinning wheel and all 100% cpu usage.

how can i monitor what happens when i go to this page to see which part is causing the cpu usage ?

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 24457
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: 58°2'16"N 14°58'31"E
Contact:

Re: google news

Unread post by Moonchild » 2018-07-14, 18:00

Loads up in a few seconds for me.
Are you using any browser extensions?
"If you want to build a better world for yourself, you have to be willing to build one for everybody." -- Coyote Osborne
Image

User avatar
Isengrim
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back
Posts: 967
Joined: 2015-09-08, 22:54
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

Re: google news always locks up my browser

Unread post by Isengrim » 2018-07-14, 18:18

It hangs for a few seconds for me, though I see similar behavior on 27 as well as 28 (with clean profiles). Google News is extremely javascript-heavy, so that may have something to do with it.

I see a number of CSP errors in the browser console (accessible from the Web Developer menu), but I don't think that would necessarily equate to slow loading times.
Linux Mint 19.2 Cinnamon (64-bit), Windows 7 (64-bit), Windows 10 build 1803 (64-bit)
"As long as there is someone who will appreciate the work involved in the creation, the effort is time well spent." ~ Tetsuzou Kamadani, Cave Story

User avatar
teaseapeaeyepee
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: 2018-07-14, 17:24

Re: google news

Unread post by teaseapeaeyepee » 2018-07-14, 18:56

yes i use extentions but i just did a clean profile and same thing happens.

i only really started getting this issue after google news changed its format the old google news worked fine .

User avatar
therube
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1078
Joined: 2018-06-08, 17:02

Re: google news

Unread post by therube » 2018-07-15, 14:08

Loads rather poorly on my end; PM 27, PM28, SeaMonkey 2.49.4 (akin to FF 52).

Loads better in FF 61.

Walter Dnes
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 607
Joined: 2015-07-30, 20:29
Location: Vaughan, ON, Canada

Re: google news

Unread post by Walter Dnes » 2018-07-16, 17:45

Homebrew PM28b3 takes 35 seconds to load on a 10-year-old Intel CORE2 with 3 gigs ram running 32-bit optimized Gentoo.
There's a right way
There's a wrong way
And then there's my way

User avatar
therube
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1078
Joined: 2018-06-08, 17:02

Re: google news

Unread post by therube » 2018-07-17, 00:22

This is rather bad, in particular when you open PM & it restores its' session & you didn't realize that google news happened to be the focused tab. (You wonder for a bit why PM isn't opening as expected, & then once if finally does, it's like, oh yeah.)
Last edited by therube on 2018-07-17, 00:23, edited 1 time in total.

Locked