Page 2 of 2

Re: Search bar changed in beta1

Posted: 2018-07-05, 03:17
by Pallid Planetoid
SpockFan02 -- More problems with the search bar that I'll need your help on that needs additional CSS code beyond what you've given me.

This is what I get now (more text at the end is messed up with text shadowing):
Click on to enlarge
Click on to enlarge
... makes me wonder how much more text can be displayed on the search bar that needs fixing.

The text will display either "Reached end of page, continued from top" like in the screen-shot or "Reached top of page, continued from bottom".

This is what I've got which works for everything else except the last text I didn't know would occur:

Code: Select all

.findbar-find-next,
.findbar-find-previous,
.findbar-button > .toolbarbutton-text,
.findbar-button > .checkbox-label-box,
.found-matches { text-shadow: 0 0 0 !important; }

.findbar { background color: rgb(0,0,0) !important; }
Hopefully the CSS code needed to fix this new text problem will cover whatever else might occur in the find bar. :think:

Re: Search bar changed in beta1

Posted: 2018-07-05, 05:49
by SpockFan02
Add .findbar-find-status to the text-shadow rule to get those messages.

You could also use

Code: Select all

.findbar-container * { text-shadow: 0 0 0 !important; }
to catch anything else in the findbar, and it shouldn't have side effects unless something in there is actually supposed to have text shadow, which I don't think is the case.

Re: Search bar changed in beta1

Posted: 2018-07-05, 06:47
by Pallid Planetoid
^ Thanks again SpockFan02 -- works great! :thumbup: --- I also added the "catch-all" (wildcard "container") line as well just in case ;) (which should take care of it for good!). :clap:

Re: Search bar changed in beta1

Posted: 2018-07-05, 07:01
by SpockFan02
:thumbup: I'm happy to help.

FYI that catch-all works by selecting any element (the asterisk) that is within .findbar-container, and I found .findbar-container and all the other elements by using DOMi (DOM Inspector).

Re: Search bar changed in beta1

Posted: 2018-07-05, 07:23
by Pallid Planetoid
SpockFan02 wrote:....and I found .findbar-container and all the other elements by using DOMi (DOM Inspector).
Oh -- so that's how you find out what element names are used like the elements "button" and "find-status" that the find-bar uses besides the "container" element that is using the "*" wildcard for any element within the "container" element of the find-bar -- good to know, I'll check this out some more when I get the time. :thumbup:

Re: Search bar changed in beta1

Posted: 2018-07-05, 11:16
by Moonchild
These style changes should all be fixed with Issue #568 (UXP).

Re: Search bar changed in beta1

Posted: 2018-07-11, 16:44
by Pallid Planetoid
SpockFan02 wrote:.... I found .findbar-container and all the other elements by using DOMi (DOM Inspector).
I've installed DOM Inspector:
dom inspector.png
How do you first start it to use it? I see no button icons available anywhere in the browser and no "options" button for the extension in the add-ons list. Looking at this Introduction link: https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Tools/Add-ons/DOM_Inspector/Introduction_to_DOM_Inspector I see where it says "When you first start the DOM Inspector..." but I see no way to do this. :?

Re: Search bar changed in beta1

Posted: 2018-07-11, 17:52
by SpockFan02
Pale Moon Rising wrote:
SpockFan02 wrote:.... I found .findbar-container and all the other elements by using DOMi (DOM Inspector).
I've installed DOM Inspector: dom inspector.pngHow do you first start it to use it? I see no button icons available anywhere in the browser and no "options" button for the extension in the add-ons list. Looking at this Introduction link: https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Tools/Add-ons/DOM_Inspector/Introduction_to_DOM_Inspector I see where it says "When you first start the DOM Inspector..." but I see no way to do this. :?
Tools --> Web Developer --> DOM Inspector, or ctrl+shift+I (cmd on Mac). You can also use Element Inspector to shift+right-click on any element to highlight it in the DOM tree, or InspectorWidget to click and do the same.

Re: Search bar changed in beta1

Posted: 2018-07-11, 18:26
by Pallid Planetoid
^ Thanks - not sure if I need the other two add-ons (this one make 38 extensions I'm now using)....
Off-topic:
Anyway - since an upgrade to my start.me page the former CSS code no longer works.

Using DOMi I am not getting the information to the right (specifically what I need pointed out) for the start.me start-page that I use:
missing info in DOMi interface.png
I'm figuring the top line (as illustrated below in the CSS code) has changed with the new upgrade they just rolled out causing all my CSS code below to not work:

Code: Select all

@namespace url(http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml);

@-moz-document domain("start.me") {
  .flex.clearfix{display: none !important;}
  header#header{display: none !important;}
  article.widget{border-radius: 15px;}
  section#searchbar .wrapper{border-radius: 10px;}
  section#searchbar .button{border-radius: 10px;}
  .buttons #add-content{border-radius: 10px;}
  #header .buttons #me{border-radius: 10px; overflow: hidden;}
  /*#footer{display: none;}*/
  #footer-ad{display: none;}
}
Looking at the "Namespace URL" value it is "undefined", I'm figuring that the "@namespace urL" value (in parentheses above) needs to be different than what it was before so the CSS code will work as it did before. But the DOM Inspector isn't providing this information.... would using either of the two other extensions help in this regard?

Re: Search bar changed in beta1

Posted: 2018-07-11, 18:31
by SpockFan02
Off-topic:
Pale Moon Rising wrote:... Looking at the "Namespace URL" value it is "undefined", I'm figuring that the "@namespace urL" value (in parentheses above) needs to be different than what it was before so the CSS code will work as it did before. But the DOM Inspector isn't providing this information....
Click on HTML in the tree, it'll show the namespace.
Pale Moon Rising wrote:... would using either of the two other extensions help in this regard?
No, they only provide alternate ways to activate DOMi and select elements.

Also, use the dropdowns in the top-left of the two panes to look at style information, etc.