Problems doing 32-bit linux builds Topic is solved

This board is for discussions, bug reports, etc. for pre-releases of the v28 milestone building on UXP.
Walter Dnes
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 652
Joined: 2015-07-30, 20:29
Location: Vaughan, ON, Canada

Problems doing 32-bit linux builds

Unread post by Walter Dnes » 2018-06-15, 02:31

I'm working with 2 machines running 32-bit linux distros and GCC 6.4.0 ; a desktop (up-to-date Gentoo) and a laptop (CentOS 7.5). Since only 64-bit builds are offered for download, I have to do my own.

1) I keep getting gtk3 UI, on both machines, regardless of what I do. Pre-emptive answers... yes, I've already tried uncommenting the 3rd line in build/unix/mozconfig.gtk and deleting the rest of the file... yes, I've already tried --enable-default-toolkit=cairo-gtk2-x11 I'm attaching the mozconfig from the CentOS build. Right now, i"d be perfectly happy if somebody finds a stupid typo in it to fix the problem.
mozconfig.txt
(1.41 KiB) Downloaded 21 times
2) On my Gentoo machine, opening a profile does not open the homepage/whatever, hearkening back to... https://forum.palemoon.org/viewtopic.php?f=63&t=19253 Since this is my "daily driver", not a "development machine", it doesn't have all the libraries to do a standard build. So I have to include

Code: Select all

ac_add_options --disable-dbus
ac_add_options --disable-gconf
ac_add_options --disable-gio
ac_add_options --disable-pulseaudio
to get a build done. Hopefully, those disables are not the problem.
There's a right way
There's a wrong way
And then there's my way

User avatar
adesh
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1277
Joined: 2017-06-06, 07:38

Re: Problems doing 32-bit linux builds

Unread post by adesh » 2018-06-16, 12:07

1. Yes, indeed you have a typo. Default toolkit should be cairo-gtk2, not cairo-gtk2-x11. Following is what should be added to mozconfig to get a GTK2 build.

Code: Select all

ac_add_options --enable-default-toolkit=cairo-gtk2
There is no need to modify any code to change the widget toolkit.

If it helps, here is my full mozconfig for GTK2 style Pale Moon:

Code: Select all

#.mozconfig-gtk2
ac_add_options --enable-application=palemoon

mk_add_options MOZ_MAKE_FLAGS="-j1"
mk_add_options MOZ_OBJDIR=@TOPSRCDIR@/../builds/pm-gtk2
ac_add_options --enable-default-toolkit=cairo-gtk2

ac_add_options --disable-elf-hack
ac_add_options --with-pthreads

ac_add_options --disable-tests
ac_add_options --disable-updater
ac_add_options --disable-gamepad
ac_add_options --disable-webrtc
ac_add_options --disable-necko-wifi
ac_add_options --disable-accessibility
ac_add_options --disable-safe-browsing
ac_add_options --disable-parental-controls
ac_add_options --disable-pulseaudio

ac_add_options --enable-devtools
ac_add_options --enable-jemalloc
ac_add_options --enable-strip
2. There was a frontend issue which used to stop UXP Pale Moon from initializing fully and not loading the home page. I submitted a patch yesterday for the same and it should be fixed now.
Add UA mode for unofficial branding

Walter Dnes
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 652
Joined: 2015-07-30, 20:29
Location: Vaughan, ON, Canada

Re: Problems doing 32-bit linux builds

Unread post by Walter Dnes » 2018-06-16, 17:29

adesh wrote:1. Yes, indeed you have a typo. Default toolkit should be cairo-gtk2, not cairo-gtk2-x11.
Sorry aboth the confusing message. The point I was trying to make is that I tried "cairo-gtk2" AND I later tried "cairo-gtk2-x11" out of desperation.
adesh wrote:Following is what should be added to mozconfig to get a GTK2 build.

Code: Select all

ac_add_options --enable-default-toolkit=cairo-gtk2
There is no need to modify any code to change the widget toolkit.

If it helps, here is my full mozconfig for GTK2 style Pale Moon:..
I'll try the following. My build script defines environmental variables "cpucount" and "builddir" before launching mach. On the laptop I'll try...

Code: Select all

#.mozconfig-gtk2
ac_add_options --enable-application=palemoon

mk_add_options MOZ_MAKE_FLAGS="-j${cpucount}"
mk_add_options MOZ_OBJDIR=${builddir}
ac_add_options --enable-default-toolkit=cairo-gtk2

ac_add_options --disable-elf-hack
ac_add_options --with-pthreads

ac_add_options --disable-tests
ac_add_options --disable-updater
ac_add_options --disable-gamepad
ac_add_options --disable-webrtc
ac_add_options --disable-necko-wifi
ac_add_options --disable-accessibility
ac_add_options --disable-safe-browsing
ac_add_options --disable-parental-controls
ac_add_options --disable-pulseaudio

ac_add_options --enable-devtools
ac_add_options --enable-jemalloc
ac_add_options --enable-strip
ac_add_options --x-libraries=/usr/lib
All the extra clutter may have interfered with what I was trying to do.
adesh wrote:2. There was a frontend issue which used to stop UXP Pale Moon from initializing fully and not loading the home page. I submitted a patch yesterday for the same and it should be fixed now.
Add UA mode for unofficial branding
Thanks. I'll blow away the source and do a shallow "git clone" before trying a new build.
There's a right way
There's a wrong way
And then there's my way

User avatar
adesh
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1277
Joined: 2017-06-06, 07:38

Re: Problems doing 32-bit linux builds

Unread post by adesh » 2018-06-16, 17:48

Oh, okay.
If that doesn't work, try removing "x-libraries" option. And of course, you do have all the GTK2 devel packages installed.

Walter Dnes
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 652
Joined: 2015-07-30, 20:29
Location: Vaughan, ON, Canada

Re: Problems doing 32-bit linux builds

Unread post by Walter Dnes » 2018-06-17, 00:56

Thanks for the sample mozconfig. Finally fixed, although I'm still not sure what went wrong previously. I know I used "--enable-default-toolkit=cairo-gtk2" before and ended up with gtk3. Maybe getting rid of a lot of extra clutter in mozconfig solved it. Where's the widget on the page to tick for the green checkmark ("Solved")? After a few last-minute changes, here's the config I used to get a working build that gives gtk2, and properly opens up the start page(s).

Code: Select all

#.mozconfig-gtk2
ac_add_options --enable-application=palemoon

mk_add_options MOZ_MAKE_FLAGS="-j${cpucount}"
mk_add_options MOZ_OBJDIR=${builddir}
ac_add_options --enable-default-toolkit=cairo-gtk2

ac_add_options --disable-elf-hack
ac_add_options --with-pthreads

ac_add_options --disable-tests
ac_add_options --disable-updater
ac_add_options --disable-gamepad
ac_add_options --disable-webrtc
ac_add_options --disable-necko-wifi
ac_add_options --disable-accessibility
ac_add_options --disable-safe-browsing
ac_add_options --disable-parental-controls
ac_add_options --disable-pulseaudio

ac_add_options --enable-devtools
ac_add_options --enable-jemalloc
ac_add_options --enable-strip
ac_add_options --x-libraries=/usr/lib
ac_add_options --disable-dbus
ac_add_options --disable-gconf
ac_add_options --disable-gio
Last edited by Walter Dnes on 2018-06-17, 00:57, edited 1 time in total.
There's a right way
There's a wrong way
And then there's my way

User avatar
SpockFan02
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 535
Joined: 2017-09-24, 16:35
Location: Mak pupulusšum, California

Re: Problems doing 32-bit linux builds

Unread post by SpockFan02 » 2018-06-19, 02:57

Walter Dnes wrote:... Where's the widget on the page to tick for the green checkmark ("Solved")? ...
On the post that solved it, next to 'Reply with quote' and 'Report this post.'

Walter Dnes
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 652
Joined: 2015-07-30, 20:29
Location: Vaughan, ON, Canada

Re: Problems doing 32-bit linux builds

Unread post by Walter Dnes » 2018-06-19, 03:49

SpockFan02 wrote:
Walter Dnes wrote:... Where's the widget on the page to tick for the green checkmark ("Solved")? ...
On the post that solved it, next to 'Reply with quote' and 'Report this post.'
That's where I thought it was supposed to be, but it's not there. I may have stumbled over another bug. The following is what I see. Is this yet another case of fonts being (ab)used as icons, and biting people who don't have that specific font?
Attachments
screencap.png
There's a right way
There's a wrong way
And then there's my way

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 35602
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: Motala, SE
Contact:

Re: Problems doing 32-bit linux builds

Unread post by Moonchild » 2018-06-19, 11:47

Walter Dnes wrote:Is this yet another case of fonts being (ab)used as icons, and biting people who don't have that specific font?
No, it isn't. (png) images are used for those buttons.

EDIT: I tried out Walter's forum permissions and lo and behold, indeed, there are no solve buttons for him... I'll have to see if I can find out why.

EDIT2: The permissions to mark topics solved on this particular board (for UXP PM alpha/beta) were set to moderator-only, so the topic starter couldn't mark it solved. I've changed that.
Last edited by Moonchild on 2018-06-19, 11:54, edited 3 times in total.
"Sometimes, the best way to get what you want is to be a good person." -- Louis Rossmann
"Seek wisdom, not knowledge. Knowledge is of the past; wisdom is of the future." -- Native American proverb
"Linux makes everything difficult." -- Lyceus Anubite

Locked