Question about Pale Moon and WebComponents

Discussions about the development and maturation of the platform code (UXP).
Warning: may contain highly-technical topics.

Moderators: trava90, athenian200

dfleiss
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter

Question about Pale Moon and WebComponents

Unread post by dfleiss » 2021-10-26, 02:53

Please don't take this as an accusation or attack, because it isn't meant to be.

I've been using Pale Moon for five years or more, and I would like to continue using it. But every week I discover that another website won't let me browse it using Pale Moon, usually (but not always) because the website uses WebComponents. As the list of websites for which I need to use another browser grows longer, I increasingly wonder why I bother splitting my time between two browsers. I like being able to customize the browser using extensions -- I started using Pale Moon when Firefox abandoned my favorite extensions -- but I wonder if I'm just on a slow path toward being forced to adopt another browser.

Does anybody think Pale Moon will be able to deal with WebComponents? If so, when do you think that will be?

I'm not trying to start an argument or point any fingers, I'm just asking for an honest assessment so I can decide whether I want to continue using two browsers -- the browser of my choice and a browser I feel I'm being forced to use -- or whether it's time for me to surrender.

Thank you.

New Tobin Paradigm

Re: Question about Pale Moon and WebComponents

Unread post by New Tobin Paradigm » 2021-10-26, 08:41

There are five points we are targeting right now as far as the major Horseshit Web Tech and other issues to contend with. All of them in current and active development.