Question about Skia

Discussions about the development and maturation of the Unified XUL Platform (UXP).
Warning: may contain highly-technical topics.

Moderator: trava90

Post Reply
User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 26136
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: 58°2'16"N 14°58'31"E
Contact:

Question about Skia

Post by Moonchild » 2020-02-21, 11:01

This is more of a curiosity than anything else, but I'm trying to understand why various rebuilds based on Pale Moon code decided to disable Skia in their configuration.
What's the reasoning behind this? Is it something we should consider?
"There will be times when the position you advocate, no matter how well framed and supported, will not be accepted by the public simply because you are who you are." -- Merrill Rose
Image

User avatar
JustOff
Localization Coordinator
Localization Coordinator
Posts: 1935
Joined: 2015-09-03, 19:47
Location: UA
Contact:

Re: Question about Skia

Post by JustOff » 2020-02-21, 11:09

Here are the add-ons I made in a spare time. That was fun!

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 26136
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: 58°2'16"N 14°58'31"E
Contact:

Re: Question about Skia

Post by Moonchild » 2020-02-21, 11:23

I don't see any significant font differences...
Attachments
Cairo.png
Direct2D.png
Skia.png
"There will be times when the position you advocate, no matter how well framed and supported, will not be accepted by the public simply because you are who you are." -- Merrill Rose
Image

User avatar
JustOff
Localization Coordinator
Localization Coordinator
Posts: 1935
Joined: 2015-09-03, 19:47
Location: UA
Contact:

Re: Question about Skia

Post by JustOff » 2020-02-21, 11:32

Me neither, and roytam1 did not disable skia, AFAIK. Perhaps Fedor2 has something to add.
Here are the add-ons I made in a spare time. That was fun!

User avatar
New Tobin Paradigm
Off-Topic Sheriff
Off-Topic Sheriff
Posts: 6924
Joined: 2012-10-09, 19:37
Location: Sector 001

Re: Question about Skia

Post by New Tobin Paradigm » 2020-02-21, 11:40

Remember they are XP. So rendering may be different between the two on old and insecure operating systems from 19 years ago.
Image
- This program cannot be run in DOS mode. -
https://binaryoutcast.com/ | Freenode #binaryoutcast | http://thereisonlyxul.org/

roytam1
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 169
Joined: 2015-03-11, 07:01
Location: Hong Kong

Re: Question about Skia

Post by roytam1 » 2020-02-21, 14:02

JustOff wrote:
2020-02-21, 11:32
Me neither, and roytam1 did not disable skia, AFAIK. Perhaps Fedor2 has something to add.
I do want to try disabling it because Skia doesn't look good with CJK ideographs.

User avatar
back2themoon
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1627
Joined: 2012-08-19, 20:32

Re: Question about Skia

Post by back2themoon » 2020-02-21, 14:17

Is the Direct2D/Hardware acceleration on/off status related to this?
Safe Mode / clean profile info: Help/Restart in Safe Mode
Information to include when asking for support - How to apply user agent overrides
How to download videos

Windows 10 Pro • Pale Moon x64 • Interlink x64 • Emsisoft Anti-Malware

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 26136
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: 58°2'16"N 14°58'31"E
Contact:

Re: Question about Skia

Post by Moonchild » 2020-02-21, 15:40

roytam1 wrote:
2020-02-21, 14:02
Skia doesn't look good with CJK ideographs
Do you have an example page that is particularly troublesome so I can compare?


Of note, we haven't used Skia for content, only for canvas for quite a while, it's either direct2d+cairo, cg, or cairo depending on your O.S., but that has been primarily because of stability concerns around the UXP fork point (and it doesn't play nice with XRender either).
"There will be times when the position you advocate, no matter how well framed and supported, will not be accepted by the public simply because you are who you are." -- Merrill Rose
Image

User avatar
Fedor2
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 675
Joined: 2016-04-11, 01:26

Re: Question about Skia

Post by Fedor2 » 2020-02-22, 08:59

So the skia story: before 52 firefox things looked good and i did not know such words at all, but b mozilla changed skia code and made put it before cairo in the 52. It was dirext2d,cairo,skia and became dirext2d,skia,cairo. That was bad for winxp users, fonts showed tired and strike eyes, meanwhile win7 users did not noticed that because they have direct2d first. I decided to exclude skia from building to save the binary code, but recently i was asked to restore skia, well code will be plumper than.

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 26136
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: 58°2'16"N 14°58'31"E
Contact:

Re: Question about Skia

Post by Moonchild » 2020-02-22, 09:31

Thanks for responding.

As stated above I tested on Win 7 in all 3 modes and didn't see any issues in the current release version. Direct2d isn't always available (depends on HWA being available and enabled or not, etc.).
By the way direct2d,cairo,skia makes no sense because cairo will always be there and usable, so skia will never be selected in that case. That order would have been a genuine bug.

If the consideration is only for XP's font handling then that answers my question. Thank you.
"There will be times when the position you advocate, no matter how well framed and supported, will not be accepted by the public simply because you are who you are." -- Merrill Rose
Image

Post Reply