Will Basilisk replace Pale Moon?

Board for discussions around the Basilisk web browser.

Moderator: Basilisk-Dev

MrLuxury

Will Basilisk replace Pale Moon?

Unread post by MrLuxury » 2021-02-11, 21:00

I am new to this browser but would like to know if Basilisk will replace Pale Moon? Because i see Basilisk being more modern while Pale Moon is a bit old school? Will Pale Moon's UI be updated?

Night Wing
Knows the dark side
Knows the dark side

Re: Will Basilisk replace Pale Moon?

Unread post by Night Wing » 2021-02-11, 21:31

Short answer, "no".
Linux Mint 21.3 (Virginia) Xfce w/ Linux Pale Moon, Linux Waterfox, Linux SeaLion, Linux Firefox
MX Linux 23.2 (Libretto) Xfce w/ Linux Pale Moon, Linux Waterfox, Linux SeaLion, Linux Firefox
Linux Debian 12.5 (Bookworm) Xfce w/ Linux Pale Moon, Linux Waterfox, Linux SeaLion, Linux Firefox

vannilla
Moon Magic practitioner
Moon Magic practitioner

Unread post by vannilla » 2021-02-11, 21:49

MrLuxury wrote:
2021-02-11, 21:00
Basilisk being more modern while Pale Moon is a bit old school?
That's a strange comparison, let me tell you.
I've seen "old school" user interfaces outlive modern ones by a large margin, so you might want to reconsider your priorities.

billmcct
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back

Unread post by billmcct » 2021-02-11, 22:11

MrLuxury wrote:
I am new to this browser but would like to know if Basilisk will replace Pale Moon?
That would be a very big HELL NO.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The difference between the Impossible and the Possible lies in a man's Determination.
Tommy Lasorda

Tharthan
Board Warrior
Board Warrior

Unread post by Tharthan » 2021-02-11, 23:09

No.

They are different projects.

If Pale Moon's default look is not to your liking, MrLuxury, there are a great variety of different themes that you can choose from since Pale Moon is Your browser, Your way™:

https://forum.palemoon.org/viewforum.php?f=45