How to change user-agent?

Board for discussions around the Basilisk web browser.
bitairy
Moongazer
Moongazer
Posts: 13
Joined: 2017-12-31, 06:37

How to change user-agent?

Unread post by bitairy » 2021-04-18, 08:42

Hello All.
I started using Basilisk almost from the first of its releases and to change User-Agent and Spoofing Time-Zone used addon https://github.com/dillbyrne/random-agent-spoofer
After march releases Basilisk my old addon stopped changing user-agent to others and now User Agent is constantly such
Mozilla / 5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; RV: 68.0) GECKO / 20100101 GOANNA / 4.8 Firefox / 68.0 Basilisk / 20210317
Please advise the alternative to addon or method for changing User-Agent in the latest releases of Basilisk
Thanks in advance

vannilla
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1692
Joined: 2018-05-05, 13:29

Re: How to change user-agent?

Unread post by vannilla » 2021-04-18, 09:56

Look at the addons site, search the forum... it's all there, with various degrees of user friendliness.
Things do exists, including something I did myself, so you are bound to find something if you search for it.

bitairy
Moongazer
Moongazer
Posts: 13
Joined: 2017-12-31, 06:37

Re: How to change user-agent?

Unread post by bitairy » 2021-04-18, 11:16

I found the addon sasuga which changes the User Agent string for a specified domain. I tried to specify the wildcard [*] value in the domain field, but it did not work. :oops:
Sasuga Single addon for Basilisk? , if you know more alternatives for permanent change user-agent for any domains please tell me.
I also search on the Forum on for user-agent and did not see anything.

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 30262
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: Tranås, SE
Contact:

Re: How to change user-agent?

Unread post by Moonchild » 2021-04-18, 11:23

Site-specific user agent overrides are just that: site-specific.
Trying to specify "*" for "all sites" won't work.

That being said it is generally a really bad idea to override the user-agent string for all domains. You should only be doing this for websites which cause issues otherwise (by doing user-agent sniffing). Contrary to popular belief, faking your user-agent globally doesn't improve your privacy on the web and causes a lot more trouble than it potentially solves.
"Son, in life you do not fight battles because you expect to win, you fight them merely because they need to be fought." -- Snagglepuss
Image

bitairy
Moongazer
Moongazer
Posts: 13
Joined: 2017-12-31, 06:37

Re: How to change user-agent?

Unread post by bitairy » 2021-04-18, 11:37

Yes, perhaps you are right in many ways, but there are situations when you need to defeat censorship on the Internet and masking the browser and time zone is a harsh necessity not a whim. You can advise how to change User-Agent for all domains?

User avatar
New Tobin Paradigm
Knows the dark side
Knows the dark side
Posts: 9984
Joined: 2012-10-09, 19:37
Location: Sector 001

Re: How to change user-agent?

Unread post by New Tobin Paradigm » 2021-04-18, 11:49

User agents don't have anything to do with time zones or geo-location or anything other than the supposed identity of the web client. Moonchild is not only right in many ways but quite correct in every way.
I actually don't hold a grudge against someone talking trash about me if they're shot afterwards. I try to rise above that and find my own peace.
Image

bitairy
Moongazer
Moongazer
Posts: 13
Joined: 2017-12-31, 06:37

Re: How to change user-agent?

Unread post by bitairy » 2021-04-18, 12:39

Thanks for the desire to help and not deviate from the original topic of the discussion. I see that there is no solution, so I just got the old version of Basilisk from yours archive. Sadly that comes to use the old version

vannilla
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1692
Joined: 2018-05-05, 13:29

Re: How to change user-agent?

Unread post by vannilla » 2021-04-18, 13:01

There is a solution... hint: look at the release notes.

coffeebreak
Moon Magic practitioner
Moon Magic practitioner
Posts: 2736
Joined: 2015-09-26, 04:51
Location: U.S.

Re: How to change user-agent?

Unread post by coffeebreak » 2021-04-18, 15:37

bitairy wrote:
2021-04-18, 08:42
method for changing User-Agent
See this post.

(You could have quickly found the information yourself with a forum search on "user agent override" or similar, narrowed to the Basilisk board by using advanced search (accessed by clicking the gear icon in upper R corner of any forum page).)

User avatar
New Tobin Paradigm
Knows the dark side
Knows the dark side
Posts: 9984
Joined: 2012-10-09, 19:37
Location: Sector 001

Re: How to change user-agent?

Unread post by New Tobin Paradigm » 2021-04-18, 17:39

Which if you do so you will be branded mentally deficient and treated as such. Don't try and play hardball here either.
I actually don't hold a grudge against someone talking trash about me if they're shot afterwards. I try to rise above that and find my own peace.
Image

User avatar
BobbyW
Moongazer
Moongazer
Posts: 14
Joined: 2017-02-27, 22:32

Re: How to change user-agent?

Unread post by BobbyW » 2021-05-14, 07:16

bitairy wrote:
2021-04-18, 08:42
Hello All.
I started using Basilisk almost from the first of its releases and to change User-Agent and Spoofing Time-Zone used addon https://github.com/dillbyrne/random-agent-spoofer
After march releases Basilisk my old addon stopped changing user-agent to others and now User Agent is constantly such
Mozilla / 5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; RV: 68.0) GECKO / 20100101 GOANNA / 4.8 Firefox / 68.0 Basilisk / 20210317
Please advise the alternative to addon or method for changing User-Agent in the latest releases of Basilisk
Thanks in advance
Well, I've researched it a little, & found a way to manually change the BASILISK browser's UA

First things first, for safe keeping, make a copy of your ORIGINAL UA for the latest version of Basilisk & keep it somewhere safe just in case you wish to revert back to it some day down the road.

Now, for the fun......

1. Go to ABOUT:CONFIG

2. You will be asked if you wish to accept the risk of upsetting the Dragons.......click the I promise to be careful if you choose to continue, & accept all risk

3. Make a New Preference Name ➜ network.http.useragent.global_override by Right Clicking & selecting New > String & entering network.http.useragent.global_override in the popup box, click OK, then when asked for a New String Value paste the user agent you wish to use in the Enter String Value box, & once you verify it's correct, click OK.

4. You should then see your new Preference with your New UserAgent in the Value.

5. Now if you check your useragent you will see whatever you pasted in the as the New String Value as noted above.

Now, when you want to change the UserAgent to another UA, all you do is go to this Preference Name you created in ABOUT:CONFIG

network.http.useragent.global_override and when there Right Click on the Preference Name & choose > Modify


PS......if you wan to get there quickly use this in your address bar instead:

about:config?filter=network.http.useragent.global_override

Have fun!

User avatar
moonbat
Knows the dark side
Knows the dark side
Posts: 3286
Joined: 2015-12-09, 15:45
Contact:

Re: How to change user-agent?

Unread post by moonbat » 2021-05-14, 08:42

/facepalm

Don't fuck with the global user agent, it does nothing to make you anonymous and will only break browser detection on sites. There are site specific user agent overrides for a reason. Use PermissionsPlus or Sasuga if you want to make changes to an individual site without having to dick around in about:config.
"One hosts to look them up, one DNS to find them and in the darkness BIND them."

Image
Linux Mint 20.1 Xfce x64 on HP i5-5200 laptop, 12 GB RAM.
AutoPageColor|PermissionsPlus|PMPlayer|Pure URL|RecordRewind|TextFX

User avatar
New Tobin Paradigm
Knows the dark side
Knows the dark side
Posts: 9984
Joined: 2012-10-09, 19:37
Location: Sector 001

Re: How to change user-agent?

Unread post by New Tobin Paradigm » 2021-05-14, 08:44

Can I get my sasuga with sauteed onions and some honey mustard on a toasted bun?
I actually don't hold a grudge against someone talking trash about me if they're shot afterwards. I try to rise above that and find my own peace.
Image

User avatar
jobbautista9
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 349
Joined: 2020-11-03, 06:47
Location: Philippines
Contact:

Re: How to change user-agent?

Unread post by jobbautista9 » 2021-05-14, 09:15

Pssst... There's User Agent Status too... ;)
Cyndaquil is the best starter, except in Pokemon Mystery Dungeon, which sucks. I still love PMD though!

Developer of Ambassador in Window Menu, BrowserTickTock, CacheSwitch, Chrome Navigator, Cite4Wiki, Clickity Touch 'n Push, ColorPili, EditDatContent, EditDatTitle, Esrever, Go Menu, User Agent Status, Website Navigation Bar, and Yet Another about:config Helper.

My PGP public key (My copy on rw.rs)

Avatar by @MaxiOrphy of Instagram.

User avatar
moonbat
Knows the dark side
Knows the dark side
Posts: 3286
Joined: 2015-12-09, 15:45
Contact:

Re: How to change user-agent?

Unread post by moonbat » 2021-05-14, 09:43

The more the merrier :thumbup:
Is this a fork or a brand new one you made?
"One hosts to look them up, one DNS to find them and in the darkness BIND them."

Image
Linux Mint 20.1 Xfce x64 on HP i5-5200 laptop, 12 GB RAM.
AutoPageColor|PermissionsPlus|PMPlayer|Pure URL|RecordRewind|TextFX

User avatar
New Tobin Paradigm
Knows the dark side
Knows the dark side
Posts: 9984
Joined: 2012-10-09, 19:37
Location: Sector 001

Re: How to change user-agent?

Unread post by New Tobin Paradigm » 2021-05-14, 10:15

Guys, we should return to the topic at hand. I'm hungry.
I actually don't hold a grudge against someone talking trash about me if they're shot afterwards. I try to rise above that and find my own peace.
Image

User avatar
jobbautista9
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 349
Joined: 2020-11-03, 06:47
Location: Philippines
Contact:

Re: How to change user-agent?

Unread post by jobbautista9 » 2021-05-14, 11:19

moonbat wrote:
2021-05-14, 09:43
Is this a fork or a brand new one you made?
Brand-new actually. :)
Cyndaquil is the best starter, except in Pokemon Mystery Dungeon, which sucks. I still love PMD though!

Developer of Ambassador in Window Menu, BrowserTickTock, CacheSwitch, Chrome Navigator, Cite4Wiki, Clickity Touch 'n Push, ColorPili, EditDatContent, EditDatTitle, Esrever, Go Menu, User Agent Status, Website Navigation Bar, and Yet Another about:config Helper.

My PGP public key (My copy on rw.rs)

Avatar by @MaxiOrphy of Instagram.

User avatar
New Tobin Paradigm
Knows the dark side
Knows the dark side
Posts: 9984
Joined: 2012-10-09, 19:37
Location: Sector 001

Re: How to change user-agent?

Unread post by New Tobin Paradigm » 2021-05-14, 11:25

jobbautista9 wrote:
2021-05-14, 11:19
moonbat wrote:
2021-05-14, 09:43
Is this a fork or a brand new one you made?
Brand-new actually. :)
Well good.. I don't need a fork.. or a spoon!
I actually don't hold a grudge against someone talking trash about me if they're shot afterwards. I try to rise above that and find my own peace.
Image

Post Reply