Netflix just stopped working, 'update your browser'

Board for discussions around the Basilisk web browser.

Moderator: satrow

User avatar
moonbat
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 723
Joined: 2015-12-09, 15:45
Location: Australia

Netflix just stopped working, 'update your browser'

Unread post by moonbat » 2019-11-08, 09:11

Running latest Basilisk build, Netflix was working on it until just now when it says the browser isn't supported when clicking on a movie to play.

Current user agent is

Code: Select all

Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:42.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/70.0 Basilisk/52.9.2019.10.31
Anything else I can try? AFAIK this has nothing to do with the DRM, else it would have said so.

Edit - the web console says -

Code: Select all

Firefox can’t establish a connection to the server at wss://push.prod.netflix.com/ws.  
"One hosts to look them up, one DNS to find them and in the darkness BIND them."

Linux Mint 19.2 Xfce x64 on HP i5 laptop with 4 GB RAM, always latest versions of PM & Basilisk unless specified.

User avatar
New Tobin Paradigm
Off-Topic Sheriff
Off-Topic Sheriff
Posts: 6178
Joined: 2012-10-09, 19:37
Location: Sector 001

Re: Netflix just stopped working, 'update your browser'

Unread post by New Tobin Paradigm » 2019-11-08, 09:51

I can confirm this with Error Code: F7121-3078. They must have finally deactivated Widevine 1.4.9 support. I tried every trick I could think of but no dice. This may not have trickled down to all markets but US Netfix using Widevine 1.4.9 is down.

If you reset the user agent override back to what we provide as default and disable DRM it will fall back to Silverlight on Windows (likely Machintosh too) at least for the moment.

Otherwise, you will have to use one of the Chrome browsers or current-day Firefox. There is nothing to be done until Travis can complete the API update for Widevine x.10 (however their versioning scheme works at the moment).

As an aside, I don't know why you have opened up yet ANOTHER thread for this.. was the previous half-dozen not enough dude?
Image
- Old and insecure for legitimate and reasonable purposes. -
http://binaryoutcast.com/ | http://thereisonlyxul.org/ | Freenode #binaryoutcast

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 24822
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: 58°2'16"N 14°58'31"E
Contact:

Re: Netflix just stopped working, 'update your browser'

Unread post by Moonchild » 2019-11-08, 10:03

Hey, using Silverlight will give you better image quality anyway!
"If you want to build a better world for yourself, you have to be willing to build one for everybody." -- Coyote Osborne
Image

User avatar
moonbat
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 723
Joined: 2015-12-09, 15:45
Location: Australia

Re: Netflix just stopped working, 'update your browser'

Unread post by moonbat » 2019-11-08, 10:37

New Tobin Paradigm wrote:
2019-11-08, 09:51
As an aside, I don't know why you have opened up yet ANOTHER thread for this.. was the previous half-dozen not enough dude?
They were locked :(
And those were related to DRM, or asking why it doesn't work in Pale Moon where there's no DRM, rather than browser incompatibility.

Also isn't Silverlight Windows specific? I'm on Linux.
"One hosts to look them up, one DNS to find them and in the darkness BIND them."

Linux Mint 19.2 Xfce x64 on HP i5 laptop with 4 GB RAM, always latest versions of PM & Basilisk unless specified.

User avatar
billmcct
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 658
Joined: 2012-09-04, 15:19
Location: Atlanta Georgia USA

Re: Netflix just stopped working, 'update your browser'

Unread post by billmcct » 2019-11-08, 11:12

Win 7 x64 - Pale Moon 28x 32bit

User avatar
moonbat
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 723
Joined: 2015-12-09, 15:45
Location: Australia

Re: Netflix just stopped working, 'update your browser'

Unread post by moonbat » 2019-11-08, 13:22

Already seen that, Pipelights' repositories haven't worked in 2 years.
"One hosts to look them up, one DNS to find them and in the darkness BIND them."

Linux Mint 19.2 Xfce x64 on HP i5 laptop with 4 GB RAM, always latest versions of PM & Basilisk unless specified.

Post Reply