Page 1 of 1

Pages not loading correctly in background tabs

Posted: Fri, 08 Feb 2019, 14:52
by lsbkf
On some websites that load content on javascript, said content fails to load when the link is openend in a new tab and I don't go to see immediately. Also occurs when I open in the same tab but quickly change to another one to do something else while it's loading.
Examples you can try to open in a new tab, wait a few seconds, switch tab to it (console has errors), and F5 to confirm there was actually something to load (errors mostly disappear) :
https://osu.ppy.sh/home/news/2019-02-06 ... -4-results
https://www.pixiv.net/member_illust.php ... d=73072627
https://www.youtube.com/ fails to load the left column with my home / playlist / subscription list, but the middle is fine (video recommendations and others ...).

It works correctly however, if the content is setup to load progressively and not immediately :
https://www.webtoons.com/en/fantasy/tow ... isode_no=1 (strip images and comments section appear a few seconds after scrolling into them)
Pixiv is a weird case though, it's either progressive loading or doing all the bulk in one go depending on my fullscreen mode or activating thumbnails, but it still chokes either way.


Version 28.3.1
I wasn't sure if it was because of noscript/greasemonkey shenanigans with the new update, because it looks exactly like noscript blocked everything, but it happens in safe mode as well so it's not the culprit.

Re: Pages not loading correctly in background tabs

Posted: Fri, 08 Feb 2019, 15:14
by Nigaikaze
lsbkf wrote:I wasn't sure if it was because of noscript/greasemonkey shenanigans with the new update, because it looks exactly like noscript blocked everything, but it happens in safe mode as well so it's not the culprit.

Try it all again using a new clean profile without any extensions installed. There have been reports here in the past of NoScript still causing problems even after it has been disabled.

Re: Pages not loading correctly in background tabs

Posted: Fri, 08 Feb 2019, 16:38
by lsbkf
No luck with a clean new profile.
I tried bisecting (with a new profile each time), it seems to break between versions 27.9.3 and 28.0.1, although I'm not sure because PM 27 and before have other problems now that didn't exist back then (system is not the same, shared libraries changed, websites are probably using fancy bleeding edge features).

Re: Pages not loading correctly in background tabs

Posted: Fri, 08 Feb 2019, 16:49
by vannilla
I can see the pixiv gallery just fine, but the Osu page gives me errors about an undefined reference.
Reloading the page will then show the content as expected.

Re: Pages not loading correctly in background tabs

Posted: Fri, 08 Feb 2019, 19:08
by Moonchild
Please be aware that tabs in the background have their JS timers and processing throttled. One of the risks of websites that use JS to display actual content and not doing so with long delays in mind that can result from background loading is that the loading process might break.
This is not something we can do anything about.

Re: Pages not loading correctly in background tabs

Posted: Fri, 08 Feb 2019, 22:39
by Goodydino
Off-topic:
I have set a set up that shows the pointing finger cursor if the link goes to the same tab and replaces the current page but shows a cross-hair cursor if the link is set to open a new tab. Those links should all open in the same tab as the page listing them, but they all open in a new tab. Why?

Mod. comment: unrelated.

Re: Pages not loading correctly in background tabs

Posted: Sat, 09 Feb 2019, 04:30
by lsbkf
So if I understand correctly, these pages could fail to load properly as well with older computers because it would take too much time to process for them ?
What do I do. Is there a configuration trick to let them go full throttle the first 5 seconds or so, and only then set a limit ?

Re: Pages not loading correctly in background tabs

Posted: Sat, 09 Feb 2019, 09:18
by Moonchild
lsbkf wrote:So if I understand correctly, these pages could fail to load properly as well with older computers because it would take too much time to process for them ?

That's possible, yes, but it's a little more subtle than that in how it all interacts.

lsbkf wrote:What do I do.

Load these sites in the foreground and/or complain to webmasters.

lsbkf wrote:Is there a configuration trick to let them go full throttle the first 5 seconds or so, and only then set a limit ?

No, there is not.