Odd right-click behavior with links

The place to report Pale Moon specific bugs on Linux and other operating systems.

Moderator: satrow

User avatar
MoonPie
New to the forum
New to the forum
Posts: 2
Joined: 2019-08-20, 00:33

Odd right-click behavior with links

Unread post by MoonPie » 2019-08-20, 01:30

Using version 28.6.1 - 32-bit in Puppy Linux 7.5 (Xenial Xerus)

Normally, when I right-click a link, I expect to get the standard drop-down list: Open link in New Tab, New Window, New Private Window, etc.

If I go to Walmart.com, everything works normally. Right-click, the list appears and waits for me to choose.

However, since I'm up here in Canada, eh... I go to Walmart.ca
I get some items up, right-click on one of them and....
- The drop-down list appears.
- The potential item instantly starts loading in the *current* tab without me choosing any option.
- The list is still showing, the mouse can highlight a selection, but nothing can be clicked.
- Once the item has loaded (at least partially) in the current tab, *then* I can click on an option, but most of them just close the list without actually doing anything.
- If I right-click and *instantly* pick an option (within 1/20th of a second or so), I can usually get it to "Open link in New Tab". Sadly, the item also still loads in the *current* tab, so now I have 2 tabs with the same item, and have to go back a page to get my previous list of items. Rather irritating.

Not sure if it's a Pale Moon bug, or some freaky coding on the Walmart.ca site, considering how many errors the WC3 HTML validator finds on so many web pages.

User avatar
therube
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1080
Joined: 2018-06-08, 17:02

Re: Odd right-click behavior with links

Unread post by therube » 2019-08-20, 10:34

https://www.walmart.ca/search/aspirin

Confirmed the issue.
Also happens in SeaMonkey.

Works as expected in FF Quantum.

Not sure what the issue is?
Spoofing the UA did not help.


(I'm sure I've been to other odd sites where I've seen similar. At the time, I've always taken it to be an "anti-tab" measure, which in some cases it may have been, but thinking about it more, seems like website coding incompatibility issue.)


(You've got expensive drugs up there. At least you don't have the generic [Equate] aspirin that I just bought down here; 325 mg 500 count, $3.24 USD. [Bayer would certainly be higher.] You might just have to cross the boarder to get some of our 'el cheapo drugs ;-).)

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 24459
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: 58°2'16"N 14°58'31"E
Contact:

Re: Odd right-click behavior with links

Unread post by Moonchild » 2019-08-20, 10:49

Ctrl+Click will open in a new tab. Websites intercepting context clicks will not be able to interrupt you that way.
It does, however, not guarantee that your current tab won't -also- go to the new page. That's just how these sites work as they want you to do one thing at a time.
"If you want to build a better world for yourself, you have to be willing to build one for everybody." -- Coyote Osborne
Image

User avatar
rereser
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: 2019-08-02, 12:49

Re: Odd right-click behavior with links

Unread post by rereser » 2019-08-23, 08:54

tested the walmart ca site on windows.
blocking the script from adobedtm.com will stop this.
don't know how to do that on linux.
more info about adobedtm.
https://better.fyi/trackers/adobedtm.com/

User avatar
therube
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1080
Joined: 2018-06-08, 17:02

Re: Odd right-click behavior with links

Unread post by therube » 2019-08-23, 11:57

That's it :-).

(Other then a script blocker) looks like an adblocker (uBlock Origin, or whatever) is going to pick up adobetm.com, so that would also handle it.


(Sometimes you need to test in a clean Profile.
Sometimes you need to test in a dirty Profile to see why you don't see an issue seen in the clean Profile.)

User avatar
Tomaso
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1296
Joined: 2015-07-23, 16:09
Location: Norway

Re: Odd right-click behavior with links

Unread post by Tomaso » 2019-08-27, 20:45

therube wrote:
2019-08-23, 11:57
looks like an adblocker (uBlock Origin, or whatever) is going to pick up adobetm.com, so that would also handle it.
Not necessarely.
The script is actually whitelisted in 'EasyPrivacy', by the following rule (most likely to avoid breakage elsewhere):

Code: Select all

@@||adobedtm.com/launch-$script
To override that whitelisting @ walmart.ca, you can add this rule to your own list:

Code: Select all

||adobedtm.com/launch-$script,important,domain=walmart.ca
--

This should take care of their cookie bar annoyance too (needs to be tested for potential breakage):

Code: Select all

walmart.ca#?#div[class^="css-"]:-abp-contains(We use cookies)

Post Reply