Codecademy seems to be broken in PM 27.8.1

The place to report Pale Moon specific bugs on Linux and other operating systems.

Moderator: satrow

kbhasi
Hobby Astronomer
Hobby Astronomer
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed, 25 Jan 2017, 10:40

Codecademy seems to be broken in PM 27.8.1

Postby kbhasi » Fri, 09 Mar 2018, 17:34

Long story short, a club I'm in (but only for the first 4 meetings this year due to another long story) introduced me to Codecademy, which worked fine on their PCs (Firefox ESR 52.x on RHEL 7.x), but I found it doesn't seem to work right in Pale Moon.

Mainly, the fact that portions of the course viewer are broken (including the navigation buttons and pane), and I don't even get a "Connecting to Codecademy" status indicator in the top left (while loading the course viewer). My current workaround is to use Waterfox (abbreviated here as "WFx"), and I decided to skip Basilisk thinking it was a rendering engine and/or platform issue, however, I will be sticking with PM for my default web browser because of its interface.

Screenshots:
Last edited by kbhasi on Fri, 09 Mar 2018, 17:37, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Sajadi
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back
Posts: 871
Joined: Fri, 19 Apr 2013, 00:46

Re: Codecademy seems to be broken in PM 27.8.1

Postby Sajadi » Fri, 09 Mar 2018, 18:07

kbhasi wrote:Long story short, a club I'm in (but only for the first 4 meetings this year due to another long story) introduced me to Codecademy, which worked fine on their PCs (Firefox ESR 52.x on RHEL 7.x), but I found it doesn't seem to work right in Pale Moon.


Load the pages which are broken and take a look to the error console of the webdeveloper tools and see if there are any errors (not the warnings) are upcoming ;)

User avatar
SpockFan02
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 343
Joined: Sun, 24 Sep 2017, 16:35

Re: Codecademy seems to be broken in PM 27.8.1

Postby SpockFan02 » Sat, 10 Mar 2018, 02:36

Man, Codecademy... It's been a while but I remember using it during Hour of Code like four or five years ago.

I don't see a problem with the Syllabus view, but I can confirm that the Dashboard is missing some stuff and the course viewer doesn't work (can't use the editor or advance to the next slide). Before someone suggests it, neither a Safari nor a Firefox user agent override fixed it for me.

Web Console warnings:

Code: Select all

calling a builtin ArrayBuffer constructor without new is deprecated and will be forbidden in ES6 head-8a0bc06a3703d17d41c6.js:1:62979
calling a builtin typed array constructor without new is deprecated and will be forbidden in ES6 head-8a0bc06a3703d17d41c6.js:1:59497

Code: Select all

mutating the [[Prototype]] of an object will cause your code to run very slowly; instead create the object with the correct initial [[Prototype]] value using Object.create

Code: Select all

The character encoding of a framed document was not declared. The document may appear different if viewed without the document framing it.

Error:

Code: Select all

"Unhandled promise rejection" ReferenceError: z is not defined
Stack trace:
u@https://production.cdmycdn.com/webpack/vendor-eae40617c86789afb039.js:1:391995
L/<@https://production.cdmycdn.com/webpack/vendor-eae40617c86789afb039.js:1:395139
["./node_modules/velocity-animate/velocity.js"]/</t.dequeue/<@https://production.cdmycdn.com/webpack/vendor-eae40617c86789afb039.js:1:368911
["./node_modules/velocity-animate/velocity.js"]/</t.each@https://production.cdmycdn.com/webpack/vendor-eae40617c86789afb039.js:1:367545
["./node_modules/velocity-animate/velocity.js"]/</t.dequeue@https://production.cdmycdn.com/webpack/vendor-eae40617c86789afb039.js:1:368762
L@https://production.cdmycdn.com/webpack/vendor-eae40617c86789afb039.js:1:395205
["./node_modules/velocity-animate/velocity.js"]/i/</m/<@https://production.cdmycdn.com/webpack/vendor-eae40617c86789afb039.js:1:387906
["./node_modules/velocity-animate/velocity.js"]/</t.each@https://production.cdmycdn.com/webpack/vendor-eae40617c86789afb039.js:1:367545
["./node_modules/velocity-animate/velocity.js"]/i/</m@https://production.cdmycdn.com/webpack/vendor-eae40617c86789afb039.js:1:387870
["./node_modules/velocity-react/velocity-component.js"]/s<.runAnimation@https://production.cdmycdn.com/webpack/vendor-eae40617c86789afb039.js:1:403296
["./node_modules/velocity-react/velocity-component.js"]/s<.componentDidMount@https://production.cdmycdn.com/webpack/vendor-eae40617c86789afb039.js:1:402778
["./node_modules/react-dom/lib/CallbackQueue.js"]/i</e.prototype.notifyAll@https://production.cdmycdn.com/webpack/vendor-eae40617c86789afb039.js:1:189608
["./node_modules/react-dom/lib/ReactReconcileTransaction.js"]/c<.close@https://production.cdmycdn.com/webpack/vendor-eae40617c86789afb039.js:1:276126
["./node_modules/react-dom/lib/Transaction.js"]/i.closeAll@https://production.cdmycdn.com/webpack/vendor-eae40617c86789afb039.js:1:303447
["./node_modules/react-dom/lib/Transaction.js"]/i.perform@https://production.cdmycdn.com/webpack/vendor-eae40617c86789afb039.js:1:302945
A@https://production.cdmycdn.com/webpack/vendor-eae40617c86789afb039.js:1:268214
["./node_modules/react-dom/lib/Transaction.js"]/i.perform@https://production.cdmycdn.com/webpack/vendor-eae40617c86789afb039.js:1:302865
["./node_modules/react-dom/lib/ReactDefaultBatchingStrategy.js"]/d.batchedUpdates@https://production.cdmycdn.com/webpack/vendor-eae40617c86789afb039.js:1:257827
["./node_modules/react-dom/lib/ReactUpdates.js"]/j.batchedUpdates@https://production.cdmycdn.com/webpack/vendor-eae40617c86789afb039.js:1:283770
["./node_modules/react-dom/lib/ReactMount.js"]/L._renderNewRootComponent@https://production.cdmycdn.com/webpack/vendor-eae40617c86789afb039.js:1:269220
["./node_modules/react-dom/lib/ReactMount.js"]/L._renderSubtreeIntoContainer@https://production.cdmycdn.com/webpack/vendor-eae40617c86789afb039.js:1:270201
["./node_modules/react-dom/lib/ReactMount.js"]/L.render@https://production.cdmycdn.com/webpack/vendor-eae40617c86789afb039.js:1:270328
e/<@https://production.cdmycdn.com/webpack/platform-bb284583c10653cd2a1b.js:1:1212070
b@https://production.cdmycdn.com/webpack/head-8a0bc06a3703d17d41c6.js:1:5369
y/n._invoke</<@https://production.cdmycdn.com/webpack/head-8a0bc06a3703d17d41c6.js:1:5159
k/</e[o]@https://production.cdmycdn.com/webpack/head-8a0bc06a3703d17d41c6.js:1:5545
r@https://production.cdmycdn.com/webpack/platform-bb284583c10653cd2a1b.js:1:1212250
e/this.mountReactComponentToNode</n</<@https://production.cdmycdn.com/webpack/platform-bb284583c10653cd2a1b.js:1:1212233
["./node_modules/core-js/modules/es6.promise.js"]/S@https://production.cdmycdn.com/webpack/head-8a0bc06a3703d17d41c6.js:1:96650
e/this.mountReactComponentToNode</n<@https://production.cdmycdn.com/webpack/platform-bb284583c10653cd2a1b.js:1:1212191
e/this.mountReactComponentToNode</<@https://production.cdmycdn.com/webpack/platform-bb284583c10653cd2a1b.js:1:1212432
["./webpack/assets/javascripts/libs/reactBinder.js"]/d</<.value</<@https://production.cdmycdn.com/webpack/platform-bb284583c10653cd2a1b.js:1:1212604
e@https://production.cdmycdn.com/webpack/platform-bb284583c10653cd2a1b.js:1:1212501
["./webpack/assets/javascripts/bundles/platform.js"]@https://production.cdmycdn.com/webpack/platform-bb284583c10653cd2a1b.js:1:1055592
o@https://production.cdmycdn.com/webpack/runtime-a5b518aa1b057e2f5937.js:1:411
window.webpackJsonp@https://production.cdmycdn.com/webpack/runtime-a5b518aa1b057e2f5937.js:1:284
@https://production.cdmycdn.com/webpack/platform-bb284583c10653cd2a1b.js:1:1

User avatar
Sajadi
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back
Posts: 871
Joined: Fri, 19 Apr 2013, 00:46

Re: Codecademy seems to be broken in PM 27.8.1

Postby Sajadi » Sat, 10 Mar 2018, 09:59

SpockMan02 wrote:Man, Codecademy... It's been a while but I remember using it during Hour of Code like four or five years ago.

I don't see a problem with the Syllabus view, but I can confirm that the Dashboard is missing some stuff and the course viewer doesn't work (can't use the editor or advance to the next slide)


Seems to be a Github report material ;)

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 21163
Joined: Sun, 28 Aug 2011, 17:27
Location: 58.5°N 15.5°E
Contact:

Re: Codecademy seems to be broken in PM 27.8.1

Postby Moonchild » Sat, 10 Mar 2018, 20:06

No, it's not GitHub material. We can't have an issue opened for every broken website out there unless the actual cause has been pinpointed as a bug on our end.
Last edited by Moonchild on Sat, 10 Mar 2018, 20:28, edited 1 time in total.
Improving Mozilla code: You know you're on the right track with code changes when you spend the majority of your time deleting code.

"The wisest men follow their own direction." - Euripedes

GMforker
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 508
Joined: Thu, 27 Aug 2015, 06:29
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Codecademy seems to be broken in PM 27.8.1

Postby GMforker » Sat, 10 Mar 2018, 20:53

It's very likely Issue #900 (also according to tests).

kbhasi
Hobby Astronomer
Hobby Astronomer
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed, 25 Jan 2017, 10:40

Re: Codecademy seems to be broken in PM 27.8.1

Postby kbhasi » Mon, 12 Mar 2018, 05:04

Well, for another thing, GitHub also seems to be broken, though I don't feel like posting screenshots of the extent of that.
Guess I'm gonna go and add Waterfox to my K-Menu, but I still love PM and its UI.

Edit: I can still post screenshots if anyone wants
Last edited by kbhasi on Mon, 12 Mar 2018, 05:06, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
adesh
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 517
Joined: Tue, 06 Jun 2017, 07:38

Re: Codecademy seems to be broken in PM 27.8.1

Postby adesh » Mon, 12 Mar 2018, 05:56

I use GitHub regularly and it seems to work fine here, what's broken. I guess this might be related to your setup as there aren't any issues reported for GitHub.

kbhasi
Hobby Astronomer
Hobby Astronomer
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed, 25 Jan 2017, 10:40

Re: Codecademy seems to be broken in PM 27.8.1

Postby kbhasi » Mon, 12 Mar 2018, 11:30

adesh wrote:I use GitHub regularly and it seems to work fine here, what's broken. I guess this might be related to your setup as there aren't any issues reported for GitHub.

Well...
Attachments
Screenshot_20180312_192951.png

kbhasi
Hobby Astronomer
Hobby Astronomer
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed, 25 Jan 2017, 10:40

Re: Codecademy seems to be broken in PM 27.8.1

Postby kbhasi » Mon, 12 Mar 2018, 12:04

However, earlier today, I posted a rant about such pages being broken in PM, and, after receiving a comment on my post, and subsequently replying, I realised some things:

  1. It's bad (and/or lazy) coding that seems to be accepted by Blink, and Gecko may have been patched to respect that bad coding, but Goanna hasn't been patched as of yet, at least from my point of view
  2. I feel that Chrome is the most popular web browser due to Google's aggressive marketing tactics they sometimes use
    • An example of this would be that when I was using Edge (which was what I was using before I switched to using PM full time), I kept receiving adverts for Chrome on sites that use Google AdSense for advertising units. Using the Edge developer tools to spoof the user agent as Chrome itself, allowed me to not see those adverts, albeit with slight issues on some Google websites, one of which was YouTube (with the older interface) from what I remember. I do remember this happened back in 2016.
  3. One of the things I like about PM is that it's just... different.
    1. This includes the use of the older XUL Platform, and refusing to support WebExtensions,
    2. I feel that not patching Goanna to accept such bad coding would help to distance it further apart from upstream mainstream
  4. The person who commented on my rant, mentioned that "Chrome is the new Internet Explorer", and I do agree with them. I feel glad to be using a web browser that's just different...
  5. I can sense an impending "Browser War II" in the near future, only, that time, it would be Google Chrome (and possibly Firefox Quantum) vs. all other web browsers

kbhasi
Hobby Astronomer
Hobby Astronomer
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed, 25 Jan 2017, 10:40

Re: Codecademy seems to be broken in PM 27.8.1

Postby kbhasi » Wed, 14 Mar 2018, 13:46

Weirdly enough, I tested the GitHub page in PM on 2 other PCs, both also running PM 27.8.1, both updated to that earlier today, and both of them do seem to load the page correctly, while the install here, which has way more plugins, and sync enabled (the other 2 PCs don't have it enabled).

Of the 2 other PCs, one runs Debian 9, while the other one runs Windows 7. My main system, where I'm experiencing the problem, is running Debian on its "testing" channel.

Edit: GitLab seems to be broken as well. Strange.
Last edited by kbhasi on Wed, 14 Mar 2018, 14:39, edited 2 times in total.


Return to “Bug reports (Linux & other)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests