Non flash speedtest refuses to work Topic is solved

This board is for discussions, bug reports, etc. for pre-releases of the v27 milestone codenamed "Tycho".

Since the beta phase is over, this board is closed for new posts/topics.

Moderator: satrow

User avatar
cartel
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 326
Joined: Sun, 16 Mar 2014, 21:57
Location: Chilliwack, BC

Non flash speedtest refuses to work

Unread postby cartel » Tue, 01 Nov 2016, 01:32

http://beta.speedtest.net/

default "new" profile, no difference
Attachments
2015041.jpg

User avatar
satrow
Forum staff
Forum staff
Posts: 1694
Joined: Thu, 08 Sep 2011, 11:27

Re: Non flash speedtest refuses to work

Unread postby satrow » Tue, 01 Nov 2016, 02:40

Same here - but it is a Beta.

How about this one, it's a little more mature: http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest.html ?

GMforker
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 537
Joined: Thu, 27 Aug 2015, 06:29
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Non flash speedtest refuses to work

Unread postby GMforker » Tue, 01 Nov 2016, 04:11

cartel wrote:http://beta.speedtest.net/

Maybe this would help...

Last bad: Firefox 46.0a1 (2016-01-06)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:46.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/46.0
Built from https://hg.mozilla.org/mozilla-central/ ... a3849adbf7

First good: Firefox 46.0a1 (2016-01-07)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:46.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/46.0
Built from https://hg.mozilla.org/mozilla-central/ ... 0f60c54b5c

Pushlog
http://hg.mozilla.org/mozilla-central/p ... 0f60c54b5c

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 22284
Joined: Sun, 28 Aug 2011, 17:27
Location: 58.5°N 15.5°E
Contact:

Re: Non flash speedtest refuses to work

Unread postby Moonchild » Tue, 01 Nov 2016, 12:00

Well, at least all 5 of their ads work -- no real indication as to why the test itself doesn't; there are no errors and without a clearer indication of what to look for, the pushlog is not useful.
Informing Ookla of this is also impossible because their "contact" forwards to the same page as "support" which is just a FAQ and a dead end otherwise.
Their loss, I suppose - I'm not very inclined to support a site that demands you have no less than 5 ads on the screen for a test (they hard-block visitors with ad blockers).

EDIT: Correction... 7 ads. They should rename themselves to adtest.net :P
Attachments
adtest-dot-net.png
Improving Mozilla code: You know you're on the right track with code changes when you spend the majority of your time deleting code.

"If you want to build a better world for yourself, you have to be willing to build one for everybody." -- Coyote Osborne

coffeebreak
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1371
Joined: Sat, 26 Sep 2015, 04:51
Location: U.S.

Re: Non flash speedtest refuses to work

Unread postby coffeebreak » Tue, 01 Nov 2016, 18:12

Off-topic:
Moonchild wrote:...(they hard-block visitors with ad blockers)

That's not been my experience with their regular test -- It has always worked fine for me with adblocking turned on. (Though there was a kind-of-recent thread with this complaint).

There is actually a support article about using adblockers on their site (Using Speedtest.net with an adblocker), and though they clearly would like to be white-listed it's also clear that they don't try to enforce it.

Moonchild wrote:...their "contact" forwards to the same page as "support" which is just a FAQ and a dead end otherwise.

Looks like they require an account to contact them with a problem. At bottom of each support article was a contact link that opened a login page for me.

User avatar
cartel
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 326
Joined: Sun, 16 Mar 2014, 21:57
Location: Chilliwack, BC

Re: Non flash speedtest refuses to work

Unread postby cartel » Fri, 11 Nov 2016, 11:37

works now 8-)


2015075.jpg

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 22284
Joined: Sun, 28 Aug 2011, 17:27
Location: 58.5°N 15.5°E
Contact:

Re: Non flash speedtest refuses to work  Topic is solved

Unread postby Moonchild » Fri, 11 Nov 2016, 11:47

I did contact them about this and they made clear that it is in beta and that they first and foremost focus on "mainstream browser compatibility" -- but it looks like they got around to looking at this for Pale Moon compatibility now, and addressed whatever was the issue there.
(FTR: it also works in 26.5 now)
Improving Mozilla code: You know you're on the right track with code changes when you spend the majority of your time deleting code.

"If you want to build a better world for yourself, you have to be willing to build one for everybody." -- Coyote Osborne


Return to “Pale Moon "Tycho" alpha/beta”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest