Page 1 of 1

Add Bookmark Here ² not working?

Posted: 2016-10-28, 00:55
by kizo07
It seems that Add Bookmark Here ² (Version 23.0.20140225.1) not working in 27b3

Re: Add Bookmark Here ² not working?

Posted: 2016-10-28, 16:50
by Shadeclan
I verified this using the latest version of this add-on that still works with Pale Moon - 23.0.20140225.1

Re: Add Bookmark Here ² not working?

Posted: 2016-10-29, 09:00
by Moonchild
The extension will have to be updated to work with the changes to the places API. Very likely it will have to target Pale Moon specifically from this point forward.

Code: Select all

Error: TypeError: PlacesUtils.nodeIsReadOnly is not a function
Source File: chrome://abhere2/content/browserOverlay.js
Line: 480

Re: Add Bookmark Here ² not working?

Posted: 2016-10-29, 19:40
by kizo07
Thanks for your reply. It was nice add-on for the easiest and fastest bookmarking. I know that is not a priority but it should be considered to be finally interpreted/coded into the future PM .. just like in Opera or Maxthon. Something like 'Bookmark Current Page' or 'Add Here' in every bookmarks folder.
Otherwise I have for years been a user of Maxthon, until ver.4. After that 'fox' for a few months and the last two years I use PM. The best browser to date.. and I already see that PM 27 gonna be even better. Thanks again.

Re: Add Bookmark Here ² not working?

Posted: 2016-10-30, 10:26
by JustOff
Moonchild wrote:The extension will have to be updated to work with the changes to the places API.
The fix for PM27+ is simple (actually taken from abh2 31.0.20150313):

Code: Select all

--- browserOverlay.js.orig	Mon Feb 24 01:28:10 2014
+++ browserOverlay.js	Sun Oct 30 12:23:11 2016
@@ -299,0 +300,4 @@
+	nodeIsReadOnly: function(node) {
+		return PlacesUtils.nodeIsFolder(node) && PlacesUIUtils.isContentsReadOnly(node); // Firefox36+
+	},
+
@@ -355 +359 @@
-		if (PlacesUtils.nodeIsReadOnly(node)) return;
+		if (abHere2.nodeIsReadOnly(node)) return;
@@ -480 +484 @@
-			if (ip && ip.node && !PlacesUtils.nodeIsReadOnly(ip.node)) {
+			if (ip && ip.node && !abHere2.nodeIsReadOnly(ip.node)) {
I can share patched xpi (verified, works for me), but I'm not sure how to do it in most acceptable way.

Re: Add Bookmark Here ² not working?

Posted: 2016-10-30, 11:10
by New Tobin Paradigm
We do have an Add-ons Site for a reason.

In fact we are prepping a major update to the Add-ons Site with all new software written by my self over the past week to make somewhat easier for everyone and to get a few things that have been requested.

In any event, you can always rebrand, change the author and id, and make it a fork. Unless you can get upstream to accept a patch. Forking is likely the better option as long as the license allows it.

Re: Add Bookmark Here ² not working?

Posted: 2016-10-31, 17:48
by Shadeclan
Sounds like a plan. Why not make a fork - especially if you already have the fix.

Re: Add Bookmark Here ² not working?

Posted: 2016-11-04, 18:45
by JustOff
Until I figured out with addons.palemoon.org, here is the fix.

Re: Add Bookmark Here ² not working?

Posted: 2016-11-05, 09:11
by Doelli
This seems like almost the same issue like in this post:
viewtopic.php?p=94355#p94355

Does anyone know, how to fix it (without removing code from "AddBookmarkHere.uc.js ", as i did)?

Re: Add Bookmark Here ² not working?

Posted: 2016-11-06, 01:47
by kizo07
Works flawlessly! Many thanks JustOff