Tab Mix Plus

This board is for discussions, bug reports, etc. for pre-releases of the v27 milestone codenamed "Tycho".

Since the beta phase is over, this board is closed for new posts/topics.

Moderator: satrow

GMforker
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 537
Joined: Thu, 27 Aug 2015, 06:29
Location: Czech Republic

Tab Mix Plus

Unread postby GMforker » Wed, 31 Aug 2016, 06:29

Pale Moon 27.0.0a2
Build ID: 20160728120832
User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:3.0) Gecko/20100101 Goanna/20160728 PaleMoon/27.0.0a2
Built from git commit db7d338053c68af15e083e2c2badabe4e7b379b8

I started a thread (perhaps I could do it? :-) ) about the issue: viewtopic.php?f=56&t=12927#p91596

Pale Moon throws an errors in the Error Console:

1)

After restart:

Code: Select all

Error: TypeError: window is null
Source File: resource://tabmixplus/DynamicRules.jsm
Line: 95

See bug #1002843

2)

The menu: "Tools - Tab Mix Plus Options... - Links"

After opened:

Code: Select all

Error: aUpdate is not defined
Source File: chrome://tabmixplus/content/changecode.js line 197 > eval
Line: 10


After closed:

Code: Select all

Error: TypeError: this.paneButton is undefined
Source File: chrome://tabmixplus/content/preferences/preferences.js
Line: 570


See:
https://bitbucket.org/onemen/tabmixplus ... ces.jsm-16
(the version comparison failed)

I suggest you try to contact the author
(see also viewtopic.php?f=56&t=12937#p91491)
http://tabmixplus.org/forum/
Last edited by GMforker on Mon, 05 Sep 2016, 02:28, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
New Tobin Paradigm
Knows the dark side
Knows the dark side
Posts: 4679
Joined: Tue, 09 Oct 2012, 19:37

Re: Tab Mix Plus 0.5.0.0

Unread postby New Tobin Paradigm » Wed, 31 Aug 2016, 07:42

The Add-ons Team is not going out and talking to extension authors anymore.. We tried that.. it didn't bare much fruit. It is the user's responsiblity to see out authors of your favorite extensions and the author to support us. Not vice versa.

GMforker
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 537
Joined: Thu, 27 Aug 2015, 06:29
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Tab Mix Plus 0.5.0.0

Unread postby GMforker » Wed, 31 Aug 2016, 07:53

Matt A Tobin wrote:It is the user's responsiblity to see out authors of your favorite extensions

I'm sorry, but so it was meant (I said it for all / I'm speaking into the space) :-)

Davesnothere
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue, 02 Sep 2014, 03:47
Location: Canada

Re: Tab Mix Plus 0.5.0.0

Unread postby Davesnothere » Sun, 04 Sep 2016, 23:14

GMforker wrote:Pale Moon 27.0.0a2
Build ID: 20160728120832
User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:3.0) Gecko/20100101 Goanna/20160728 PaleMoon/27.0.0a2
Built from git commit db7d338053c68af15e083e2c2badabe4e7b379b8

I started a thread (perhaps I could do it? :-) ) about the issue: viewtopic.php?f=56&t=12927#p91596 ....

Thanks for launching this thread, regarding my OT remark in my post in your linked thread. :)

Now that we have a dedicated thread for this issue, I do need to add that the problem is NOT unique to the new version of TMP extension.

I have run tests, and noted that multiple versions of Tab Mix Plus (from 0.4.1.7 thru current) exhibit this anomaly with PM27A2 (in fact I had first noticed it while using the older TMP, and tried the newer one without it helping), so it is due to change(s) of the code of version PM27, not of the newest TMP code.

Therefive, I respectfully ask that the PM devs take a look at it.

And it might be good to change the name of this thread to something like just 'Tab Mix Plus'.

Thanks. :)

BTW, I am testing with the 32-bit version of PM27A2, on Vista Home Basic SP2.

GMforker
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 537
Joined: Thu, 27 Aug 2015, 06:29
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Tab Mix Plus 0.5.0.0

Unread postby GMforker » Mon, 05 Sep 2016, 02:40

Davesnothere wrote:Now that we have a dedicated thread for this issue, I do need to add that the problem is NOT unique to the new version of TMP extension.
I have run tests, and noted that multiple versions of Tab Mix Plus (from 0.4.1.7 thru current) exhibit this anomaly with PM27A2 (in fact I had first noticed it while using the older TMP, and tried the newer one without it helping), so it is due to change(s) of the code of version PM27, not of the newest TMP code. Therefive, I respectfully ask that the PM devs take a look at it. And it might be good to change the name of this thread to something like just 'Tab Mix Plus'.

So be it... :-)

But point number one, I think, can be fixed in Pale Moon.

Davesnothere
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue, 02 Sep 2014, 03:47
Location: Canada

Re: Tab Mix Plus 0.5.0.0

Unread postby Davesnothere » Mon, 05 Sep 2016, 20:58

GMforker wrote:But point number one, I think, can be fixed in Pale Moon.

I agree, and thanks for the thread name change.

ag0044
Hobby Astronomer
Hobby Astronomer
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat, 28 Apr 2012, 16:29
Location: Australia

Re: Tab Mix Plus

Unread postby ag0044 » Tue, 06 Sep 2016, 00:14

Windows: 7 Pro 64-bit
Pale Moon: 27.0.0a2
Build ID: 20160728120832

Using TMP 0.4.1.8.

If I open TMP Options, I get no errors in the Error Console.
If I try to export my TMP Preferences, it succeeds, and without any messages in the EC.

I will note that when I first tried PM27 with a very old profile (with about 40 extensions), I got a lot of "has stopped working" errors, or what seemed like crashes. Unusable.

I created a new profile, and gradually added in about 10 extensions (including TMP). No problems since. Sufficient for my (meagre) needs.

Davesnothere
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue, 02 Sep 2014, 03:47
Location: Canada

Re: Tab Mix Plus

Unread postby Davesnothere » Wed, 07 Sep 2016, 12:14

ag0044 wrote:Windows: 7 Pro 64-bit
Pale Moon: 27.0.0a2
Build ID: 20160728120832

Using TMP 0.4.1.8.

If I open TMP Options, I get no errors in the Error Console.
If I try to export my TMP Preferences, it succeeds, and without any messages in the EC....

Hmmmm....

I will review and report back.

ag0044
Hobby Astronomer
Hobby Astronomer
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat, 28 Apr 2012, 16:29
Location: Australia

Re: Tab Mix Plus

Unread postby ag0044 » Thu, 08 Sep 2016, 04:26

Weird.

I created a new, clean, Test profile.

Installed TMP 0.5.0.0. Exited New Moon. Started New Moon. Clicked on TMP Options. The TMP Options window opened, but I got the same errors as GMForker's point 2 in his/her original post in this thread. I could only close the TMP Options window by using the Close Window "x". I removed TMP 0.5.0.0 and exited New Moon.

Followed the same process with TMP 0.4.2.3pre.160425a1. Got the same result.

And then with TMP 0.4.1.8. Got the same result again.

Back to my New-ish profile, with 9 extensions, and all is well with no TMP errors, I'm able to access TMP Options and export Preferences.

Weird. Way beyond my level of understanding.

My 9 extensions are:
Adblock Latitude 3.5.0b3
Clipple 0.1.3
Greasemonkey 1.15.1-signed
LastPass 3.3.1
Net Usage Item 1.2.390.1
NoScript 2.9.0.14
Tab Mix Plus 0.4.1.8
Text Link 4.1.2013040601.1-signed
Xmarks 4.3.19


Theme: Tangomoon 1.3.0

Hope there is something there that helps you. Mine works for me, so I'm not touching it!

[Edit: I'm not at all sure why I hid my list of extensions ... probably for no better reason than "because I can".]

User avatar
megaman
Moon Magic practitioner
Moon Magic practitioner
Posts: 2874
Joined: Tue, 30 Aug 2011, 16:40
Location: H-town

Re: Tab Mix Plus

Unread postby megaman » Thu, 06 Oct 2016, 20:44

Pertaining to Beta, closing Pale Moon with using the Exit(Menu) option, we have to do it twice just to close the browser, doesn't happen in Pale Moon 26.5. I'll have to hunt the Alpha to see if it happens there, not that I recall, though.
Edit: Alpha works fine.
Curiosity leads to a world of experiments.

User avatar
back2themoon
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1231
Joined: Sun, 19 Aug 2012, 20:32

Re: Tab Mix Plus

Unread postby back2themoon » Fri, 07 Oct 2016, 00:34

megaman wrote:Pertaining to Beta, closing Pale Moon with using the Exit(Menu) option, we have to do it twice just to close the browser, doesn't happen in Pale Moon 26.5. I'll have to hunt the Alpha to see if it happens there, not that I recall, though.
Edit: Alpha works fine.

I get this too with the top-right X button. It often needs to be pressed twice. Haven't tested in Safe Mode.

Abot Tab Mix Plus, its Session Manager doesn't work in the Beta.
Safe Mode / clean profile info: Help/Restart in Safe Mode
Information to include when asking for support - How to apply user agent overrides

Windows 10 Pro - Pale Moon x64 - FossaMail x64 - Emsisoft Anti-Malware

User avatar
megaman
Moon Magic practitioner
Moon Magic practitioner
Posts: 2874
Joined: Tue, 30 Aug 2011, 16:40
Location: H-town

Re: Tab Mix Plus

Unread postby megaman » Sun, 09 Oct 2016, 20:21

I'm barely seeing the problem ag0044 is having but in B2.
We might have to politely poke OneMan about this, since he was willing to work with us and did come offering help directly at our forums.
We can use this as a reference.
Curiosity leads to a world of experiments.

User avatar
back2themoon
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1231
Joined: Sun, 19 Aug 2012, 20:32

Re: Tab Mix Plus

Unread postby back2themoon » Mon, 10 Oct 2016, 13:37

The Session Manager works again in today's Beta 2. :thumbup:
Safe Mode / clean profile info: Help/Restart in Safe Mode
Information to include when asking for support - How to apply user agent overrides

Windows 10 Pro - Pale Moon x64 - FossaMail x64 - Emsisoft Anti-Malware

Davesnothere
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue, 02 Sep 2014, 03:47
Location: Canada

Re: Tab Mix Plus 0.5.0.0

Unread postby Davesnothere » Sun, 13 Nov 2016, 11:58

Davesnothere wrote:
GMforker wrote:But point number one, I think, can be fixed in Pale Moon.

I agree, and thanks for the thread name change.


We have a WORKAROUND !
:mrgreen:

Here is a copy of my latest post in the Add-ons thread of this forum, regarding the lower row of options buttons not functioning.

tpcsanh wrote:Tab Mix Plus 0.5.0.1
Davesnothere wrote:Please would someone repeat my tests and see whether what I am experiencing can be duplicated.

I am not familiar with this add-on, but I downloaded 0.5.0.1.

Windows 7 64-bit
Pale Moon Portable 27 Beta 3 64-bit
One other add-on: Adblock Latitude 3.5.0b4

Options via the Menu or Extensions: I experienced the same thing as you....

....When Options opens, the Links icon/button (at the top) is highlighted.

If I click on the Events icon/button, the Preferences button appears to function, the Apply button is greyed out, and the Close button works.

As I said I am not familiar with this add-on, so I don't know if anything is working after this point.

Interesting discovery !

I never thought to try that, because the whole premise of trying to import your settings is to NOT have to adjust ANY other settings manually.

But you are quite right, and BTW, clicking on ANY of the tabs along the top of the TMP options box first seems to enable the errant lazy buttons at the bottom.

REVISED CONCLUSION :


We have a new anomaly with Pale Moon 27, both 32 and 64 bit versions, involving multiple versions of Tab Mix Plus.

However, there seems to be a workaround, as described above.
Last edited by Davesnothere on Sun, 13 Nov 2016, 12:35, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
New Tobin Paradigm
Knows the dark side
Knows the dark side
Posts: 4679
Joined: Tue, 09 Oct 2012, 19:37

Re: Tab Mix Plus

Unread postby New Tobin Paradigm » Sun, 13 Nov 2016, 12:00

Please don't paste the same message in multiple threads.. Link to posts instead if they are related.

Davesnothere
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue, 02 Sep 2014, 03:47
Location: Canada

Re: Tab Mix Plus

Unread postby Davesnothere » Sun, 13 Nov 2016, 12:24

Matt A Tobin wrote:Please don't paste the same message in multiple threads.. Link to posts instead if they are related.

Sorry, just trying to be thorough, and did not know we could establish a 'permalink' here.

BTW, what does this board call those ?

For now, I did a 'Hide'.

mgagnonlv
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 266
Joined: Tue, 05 Mar 2013, 02:06
Location: Canada

Re: Tab Mix Plus

Unread postby mgagnonlv » Sun, 13 Nov 2016, 22:43

I think I found an easy solution to the Tab Mix Plus problem!

I just downloaded the 32-bit and 64-bit versions of Pale Moon 27 beta 3. I didn't do any customization except installing Tab Mix Plus 0.5.0.1. Same behaviour in both versions. Tested with Windows 10 Professional French-Canadian.


Steps to reproduce the bug

– Install TMP from AMO. Restart Pale Moon as directed.

– Open the TMP dialog box, either by pressing ALT, then going to Tools –> Tab Mix Plus Options, or via the "Options" toolbox and the TMP button.

– In the TMP dialog box, the Preference menu doesn't work, nor the Apply, OK, Cancel buttons (the latter don't work as they should).


Steps to solve the bug and make TMP work

– Press ALT, then go to Tools –> Tab Mix Plus Options.

– Go to Events – New Tabs

– Load on New Tab...
Default value is "New tab page... about:logopage"
Change it to "Blank page" or "New tab page... about:blank"

Now TMP works perfectly. And the funny thing is that once you make the change and click Apply or OK, you can go back and reenter the original values.


My conclusion

It seems to be a conflict between the general initial Pale Moon setting in Tools –> Options – Tabs: "when opening a new tab, show... a blank page", vs the Tab Mix Plus specific initial setting of the same. Once the value has been set by hand, the issue is solved.
Michel Gagnon
Montréal (Québec, Canada)

User avatar
megaman
Moon Magic practitioner
Moon Magic practitioner
Posts: 2874
Joined: Tue, 30 Aug 2011, 16:40
Location: H-town

Re: Tab Mix Plus

Unread postby megaman » Sun, 13 Nov 2016, 22:59

I was having this problem in the Betas, but never checked B3.
It is not happening in the 27 RC1, but it's the installed version, the others were zipped.
Using 5.0.0
Curiosity leads to a world of experiments.

Davesnothere
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue, 02 Sep 2014, 03:47
Location: Canada

Re: Tab Mix Plus

Unread postby Davesnothere » Mon, 14 Nov 2016, 15:50

megaman wrote:I was having this problem in the Betas, but never checked B3.

It is not happening in the 27 RC1, but it's the installed version, the others were zipped.

Using 5.0.0

RC1's release snuck right by me. :oops:

Thanks - will retest with that.

UPDATE :

Is RC1 available on a special page ?

The WIP page still has Beta 3.
Last edited by Davesnothere on Mon, 14 Nov 2016, 15:59, edited 1 time in total.

Davesnothere
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue, 02 Sep 2014, 03:47
Location: Canada

Re: Tab Mix Plus

Unread postby Davesnothere » Mon, 14 Nov 2016, 15:53

mgagnonlv wrote:I think I found an easy solution to the Tab Mix Plus problem!....

....My conclusion

It seems to be a conflict between the general initial Pale Moon setting in Tools –> Options – Tabs: "when opening a new tab, show... a blank page", vs the Tab Mix Plus specific initial setting of the same. Once the value has been set by hand, the issue is solved.

Thanks.

I will test PM 27 RC1, and if it still has the problem for me, I will try what you did.


Return to “Pale Moon "Tycho" alpha/beta”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests