Is there a guide for building Palemoon on Windows

Talk about code development, features, specific bugs, enhancements, patches, and similar things.
Forum rules
Please keep everything here strictly on-topic.
This board is meant for Pale Moon source code development related subjects only like code snippets, patches, specific bugs, git, the repositories, etc.

This is not for tech support! Please do not post tech support questions in the "Development" board!
Please make sure not to use this board for support questions. Please post issues with specific websites, extensions, etc. in the relevant boards for those topics.

Please keep things on-topic as this forum will be used for reference for Pale Moon development. Expect topics that aren't relevant as such to be moved or deleted.
Mercury

Is there a guide for building Palemoon on Windows

Unread post by Mercury » 2013-11-01, 23:42

I'll preface by saying that I have limited development experience, most of it in Java, and most of it some years ago.

My goal is simply to build Palemoon with a single line of code altered and for an non-SSE2 CPU. (This is for an old WinXP box.) I'm aware that for non-SSE2 processors the recommendation is to simply use Firefox, but since I'd need the aforementioned code change in Firefox anyway, I thought I'd compile the browser I prefer. :)

My question is a simple one, I hope: Where can I find instructions to get Palemoon built with as little fuss as possible?

I checked the "Tutorials" section of this forum and didn't find anything. I googled instructions for building Firefox, and found this: https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/doc ... efox_build

However, those seem to have a lot of prerequisites listed (MozillaBuild among others), and I'd like to avoid installing anything unnecessary. I will be using VS2008. Are those instructions valid for Palemoon?

Thanks in advance for any insights.

Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru

Re: Is there a guide for building Palemoon on Windows