New FreeBSD port

Talk about code development, features, specific bugs, enhancements, patches, and similar things.
Forum rules
Please keep everything here strictly on-topic.
This board is meant for Pale Moon source code development related subjects only like code snippets, patches, specific bugs, git, the repositories, etc.

This is not for tech support! Please do not post tech support questions in the "Development" board!
Please make sure not to use this board for support questions. Please post issues with specific websites, extensions, etc. in the relevant boards for those topics.

Please keep things on-topic as this forum will be used for reference for Pale Moon development. Expect topics that aren't relevant as such to be moved or deleted.
OlCe1

New FreeBSD port

Unread post by OlCe1 » 2020-11-13, 22:29

Hi,

I've just finished porting the Pale Moon/XUL code base to FreeBSD. In fact, I've been using Pale Moon for more than 6 months on this platform, without any problem.

But before packages are automatically built and distributed through official repositories, I would like to check with you that this is done in accordance with your licence and policy. I've indeed noticed a lot of activities around branding recently, including a change of the redistribution licence, so additional clarifications might be useful.

Main characteristics of this port
1. The build is done with unofficial branding.
2. The codebase is essentially FreeBSD-compatible, except for a few places, which have been minimally patched. The only notable exception is your particular version of jemalloc, which cannot work as is on recent FreeBSD because of an infinite recursion between "malloc" and "pthread_mutex_init". It may have worked before changes done for Issue #1307, but I didn't actually check beyond looking at commits related to it, in particular commit a954e19. I did not have time to fix this, so the port uses system's jemalloc instead.