Page 1 of 1

Is there IDM integration plugin for PaleMoon?

Posted: 2019-05-06, 18:52
by Forita
I have IDM (internet download manager) installed on my PC, it automatically detects browsers and integrate with them, but it doesn't recognize palemoon. Is there anyway i can do to add palemoon to IDM?

Re: Is there IDM integration plugin for PaleMoon?

Posted: 2019-05-06, 23:15
by vannilla
Ask the IDM developers to release an extension for Pale Moon. It's the only way and you can search the forum if you don't believe me.

Re: Is there IDM integration plugin for PaleMoon?

Posted: 2019-05-07, 09:01
by Forita
Yes, that's the solution. I thought as Palemoon derived from Firefox, it could have another way of developing an extension for it.

Re: Is there IDM integration plugin for PaleMoon?

Posted: 2019-05-08, 15:32
by loxodont
Forita wrote:
2019-05-07, 09:01
... it could have another way of developing an extension for it.
IDM is a trial/pay product so it would need more than a developer who forks it and just a permission by the original ("enthusiast") developer to do that. It's about property and ToneC is a company.

Re: Is there IDM integration plugin for PaleMoon?

Posted: 2019-05-08, 23:22
by Nightbird
You can add a browser

Re: Is there IDM integration plugin for PaleMoon?

Posted: 2019-05-08, 23:32
by back2themoon
So far, the IDM developers have refused to support Pale Moon. Suggestion: learn how to use youtube-dl. It's less complicated than it looks.

Instructions for Windows:
  1. Create a folder somewhere on your PC (avoid special locations like Program Files etc.). Optionally name it FFmpeg
  2. Download latest FFmpeg from here: https://ffmpeg.zeranoe.com/builds/ (Version: select the release build, Linking: select Static)
  3. Extract the contents of the downloaded file inside your created folder. Amongst others, a folder named "bin" will be created
  4. Download the Windows executable of youtube-dl (the "youtube-dl.exe" file, latest release here) and put it inside this "bin" folder
Now, youtube-dl is properly in place. One last hurdle: you need to open a Windows command prompt inside the "bin" folder, in order to send commands to youtube-dl directly.

(see below for alternative method) For Windows versions earlier than W10, right-click the "bin" folder while holding Shift and select "Open command window here". That's it. The most simple command now would be: youtube-dl.exe [your url here without brackets]. Many more options available. To quickly update, just enter: youtube-dl.exe -U

(see below for alternative method) For Windows 10, Microsoft has been pushing PowerShell and the "Open command window here" option is not available. There are many guides on how to restore it, for example this one.

Alternatively, you can skip "Open command window here" entirely for all Windows versions. You'd be able to simply write "cmd" to the start menu, open the command prompt and just enter your youtube-dl command. To do this, you need to add your "bin" folder to your system path. Many guides available, for example here (in Step 5, replace the example path with the path to your own "bin" folder).

Re: Is there IDM integration plugin for PaleMoon?

Posted: 2019-07-02, 00:37
by therube
(I can't test Internet Download Manager myself, but...)
What's new in version 6.33 Build 3
(Released: Jul 01, 2019)

Added support for Pale Moon 28
Fixed bugs
http://www.internetdownloadmanager.com/

Re: Is there IDM integration plugin for PaleMoon?

Posted: 2019-07-02, 08:39
by back2themoon
It is now compatible (starting from IDM version 6.33 Build 3). You need to follow instructions at the bottom of this page.

Re: Is there IDM integration plugin for PaleMoon?

Posted: 2019-07-03, 11:28
by pri_ma
https://data.internetdownloadmanager.co ... lemoon.xpi

older idm also work, idm 6.33 build 2 in here. :D

Re: Is there IDM integration plugin for PaleMoon?

Posted: 2019-07-19, 19:51
by Lexx Diamond
pri_ma wrote:
2019-07-03, 11:28
https://data.internetdownloadmanager.co ... lemoon.xpi

older idm also work, idm 6.33 build 2 in here. :D
Thanks a million. I was wondering why it wouldn't work for me even though the settings were correct. Your link sorted the matter out splendidly. Thanks again. :thumbup: