Did something recently change with flash? I'm on Linux

General discussion and compatibility support about browser plug-ins.
(e.g. Adobe Flash, Java plugin, authentication plugins, Unity)

Moderators: Indalecio, satrow, Lootyhoof, Andrew Gilbertson

ttggx
New to the forum
New to the forum
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2017 8:29 pm

Did something recently change with flash? I'm on Linux

Postby ttggx » Sat Jun 24, 2017 9:28 pm

Hello, I saw this thread about Java:
viewtopic.php?f=43&t=15981
I'm on Linux [Manjaro] as well but thought to create a new thread because to the best of my knowledge this is about Flash.

At Bank of America they have a product called "shopsafe" that opens in a little window. You can create vendor specific "virtual" credit card numbers with it.

It's been working fine for years, but just over the past week I get "a plugin is needed to display this content". The same thing just started happening in Firefox with Shopsafe, with a little puzzle symbol in the window.

After some research I found that Google Chrome was supposed to be Flash friendly, after installing it too would not work. Then [strangely] after trying it and reloading a bunch of times it suddenly gave me an option to choose to allow flash. I can now access the Shopsafe. However, I would prefer to continue with Pale Moon, where I do a bunch of related business type stuff.

Question: I look at my palemoon plugins and it says "you don't have any add-ons of this type" [!!?]. Wouldn't that be where Adobe Flash is shown? I also used the link from the other thread to check for Java, looks like I don't have that either. So, how was I accessing the Shopsafe all these years? It definitely requires a plugin, from my experience with Chrome I'd say it is Flash.
thanks for any info!

Toa-Nuva
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 6:12 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Did something recently change with flash? I'm on Linux

Postby Toa-Nuva » Sun Jun 25, 2017 7:49 am

Have you also checked your package manager? Make sure the package "flashplugin" is installed. (If it is, you can try reinstalling it, maybe that will fix it.)
Afterwards, restart the browser and check the "Plugins" page again.

(As for Chrome, I think (?) Chrome ships with its own, Chrome-specific version of Flash. So that would by why Flash works for you in Chrome, even though it doesn't in other browsers.)

User avatar
troypulk
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 199
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 11:53 pm
Location: Washington State, USA

Re: Did something recently change with flash? I'm on Linux

Postby troypulk » Sun Jun 25, 2017 3:16 pm

Also some web sites update their flash really fast so if you have an older version it will not work.

Right now the latest is 26.0.0.131 my distro has the last one still 25.0.0.171

If this is it you might have to wait for your distro to update.
SolydX EE x64

Pale Moon 27.5.1 x64

ttggx
New to the forum
New to the forum
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2017 8:29 pm

Re: Did something recently change with flash? I'm on Linux

Postby ttggx » Mon Jun 26, 2017 1:41 am

heh, thank you troypulk and Toa-Nuva! Yeah that was it, flashplugin was missing. Must have got lost in an update or something, I'll have to assume it was there before because like I said the bank app was always working. OK, great, mystery solved! thanks again, much appreciated


Return to “Browser plug-ins”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests