Massive memory spike and hang when using CAA

General discussion, compatibility and contributed extensions.

Moderators: satrow, FranklinDM, Lootyhoof

Post Reply
User avatar
moonbat
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back
Posts: 805
Joined: 2015-12-09, 15:45
Location: Australia

Massive memory spike and hang when using CAA

Post by moonbat » 2019-07-09, 07:45

So I just installed the Classic Addons Archive, and it hangs PM on opening, for about 2 minutes. Switch away from the page, or try searching for an extension and again it hangs. Each time memory usage shot up by about 100 MB, and given that this is a puny 4 GB i5 laptop, I'm not impressed. Is this expected behavior, and is it because of low RAM on my laptop? Using the latest x64 PM build.
"One hosts to look them up, one DNS to find them and in the darkness BIND them."

Linux Mint 19.2 Xfce x64 on HP i5 laptop with 4 GB RAM, always latest versions of PM & Basilisk unless specified.

coffeebreak
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1955
Joined: 2015-09-26, 04:51
Location: U.S.

Re: Massive memory spike and hang when using CAA

Post by coffeebreak » 2019-07-09, 08:48

No it's not expected behavior, and it doesn't happen when I use CAA.

Does it still ocur in safe mode? Or in a new profile?

vannilla
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 717
Joined: 2018-05-05, 13:29

Re: Massive memory spike and hang when using CAA

Post by vannilla » 2019-07-09, 11:04

When you first install it, it has to build a database with all the provided extensions.
There are a lot of them, and it can take a while to complete the operation.

User avatar
moonbat
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back
Posts: 805
Joined: 2015-12-09, 15:45
Location: Australia

Re: Massive memory spike and hang when using CAA

Post by moonbat » 2019-07-10, 13:03

vannilla wrote:
2019-07-09, 11:04
When you first install it, it has to build a database with all the provided extensions.
There are a lot of them, and it can take a while to complete the operation.
Not the first time..whenever I open it this happens. Memory usage drops back after I close it.
"One hosts to look them up, one DNS to find them and in the darkness BIND them."

Linux Mint 19.2 Xfce x64 on HP i5 laptop with 4 GB RAM, always latest versions of PM & Basilisk unless specified.

User avatar
moonbat
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back
Posts: 805
Joined: 2015-12-09, 15:45
Location: Australia

Re: Massive memory spike and hang when using CAA

Post by moonbat » 2019-07-10, 13:20

coffeebreak wrote:
2019-07-09, 08:48
No it's not expected behavior, and it doesn't happen when I use CAA.

Does it still ocur in safe mode? Or in a new profile?
Found the culprit, it was CanvasBlocker, which anonymizes the canvas component to prevent fingerprinting. It can whitelist certain URLs, but I'm not sure how to do that for the caa: protocol handler that is used. Edit - just adding caa: to the whitelist worked.
"One hosts to look them up, one DNS to find them and in the darkness BIND them."

Linux Mint 19.2 Xfce x64 on HP i5 laptop with 4 GB RAM, always latest versions of PM & Basilisk unless specified.

Falna
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 351
Joined: 2015-08-23, 17:56
Location: UK / France

Re: Massive memory spike and hang when using CAA

Post by Falna » 2019-07-11, 09:47

moonbat wrote:
2019-07-10, 13:20
Found the culprit, it was CanvasBlocker
You should be able to ditch that and use Pale Moon's inbuilt poisondata instead: viewtopic.php?f=19&t=22067&p=166762

User avatar
moonbat
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back
Posts: 805
Joined: 2015-12-09, 15:45
Location: Australia

Re: Massive memory spike and hang when using CAA

Post by moonbat » 2019-07-11, 10:16

Falna wrote:
2019-07-11, 09:47
You should be able to ditch that and use Pale Moon's inbuilt poisondata instead: viewtopic.php?f=19&t=22067&p=166762
Turns out I'd already done that :D
Guess I can get rid of the extension then.
"One hosts to look them up, one DNS to find them and in the darkness BIND them."

Linux Mint 19.2 Xfce x64 on HP i5 laptop with 4 GB RAM, always latest versions of PM & Basilisk unless specified.

Post Reply