Load tabs concurrently [NOT bookmarks, NOT sessionrestore]

Add-ons for Pale Moon and other applications
General discussion, compatibility, contributed extensions, themes, plugins, and more.

Moderators: FranklinDM, Lootyhoof

User avatar
LehA64
Hobby Astronomer
Hobby Astronomer
Posts: 19
Joined: 2020-11-28, 10:32

Load tabs concurrently [NOT bookmarks, NOT sessionrestore]

Unread post by LehA64 » 2022-05-28, 17:34

Hi,
I recently switched from Basilisk to PM 31, and I have tried to find PM addons that will match my workflow. One of the things I haven't found yet is replacement for old Load Tabs Progressively / Load Tabs Progressively Fixed addon, that I was using on Firefox and Basilisk.

On session restore Session Manager opens tabs nicely per the concurrency limit I set. Tab Mix Plus addon can be set to do the same when I open multiple tabs from bookmarks. For some reason neither of those will update the history (visit count / last visit date). Anyhow, that did not happen on FF/Basilisk neither, and it's not an issue for me.

My problem is related to my habit of reading news headlines, and use "Open Link In New Tab" (clicking mouse middle button) to open interesting events to new tabs that I'll then read later when I have time (immediately after checking the headlines, or at the next coffee break - always before exiting the running PM session). That may result to some 40+ open tabs, from which there may be some 20 ones opening simultaneously. That then slows down scrolling the headlines on the active tab :D
Thus my question is if there's any other way to limit the number of concurrently loading tabs in that situation but to use "Don't load tab until selected" option? Any addon that could fit here? I'll prefer solution that already has loaded given tab when I select it. I may also read the tabs in random order. Load Tabs Progressively Fixed addon was fine for that, and it also updated the history information.

I was also thinking option to bookmark the links instead of opening them, and then load the bookmarks using Tab Mix Plus concurrency mechanism, but I prefer solution that does not require extra clicks for selecting the bookmarks and then cleaning up them later.

Juha

User avatar
Figueroa
Moonbather
Moonbather
Posts: 53
Joined: 2021-04-06, 18:32

Re: Load tabs concurrently [NOT bookmarks, NOT sessionrestore]

Unread post by Figueroa » 2022-05-28, 23:20

LehA64 wrote:
2022-05-28, 17:34
Hi,
One of the things I haven't found yet is replacement for old Load Tabs Progressively / Load Tabs Progressively Fixed addon, that I was using on Firefox and Basilisk.
Juha
As of v31, Pale Moon once again will try to use the old Firefox addons. Both of those addons are available through the Classic Add-ons Archive.
https://github.com/JustOff/ca-archive

I was currious, so I installed the Fixed version and it seemed to work as described. Only one bug that I noticed: it stops the addon for Classic Add-ons Archive from working, ironically.

User avatar
LehA64
Hobby Astronomer
Hobby Astronomer
Posts: 19
Joined: 2020-11-28, 10:32

Re: Load tabs concurrently [NOT bookmarks, NOT sessionrestore]

Unread post by LehA64 » 2022-05-29, 09:27

Figueroa wrote:
2022-05-28, 23:20
As of v31, Pale Moon once again will try to use the old Firefox addons. Both of those addons are available through the Classic Add-ons Archive.
https://github.com/JustOff/ca-archive

I was currious, so I installed the Fixed version and it seemed to work as described. Only one bug that I noticed: it stops the addon for Classic Add-ons Archive from working, ironically.
Thank you for your reply. I have stored some of the addon versions earlier, and then I loaded the rest of addon versions that were available on Classic Add-ons Archive and tested all of them. Because those did not work, I started this discussion.
I was waiting for PM31 before I started my journey from Basilisk to PM just because I knew that there are no similar addons in PM 28 for many of the ones I have used.

On Linux (Xubuntu 20.04 LTS), the results of PM 31.0.0 were as follows (I only use Linux):
- PM / Don't load tabs until selected: off
- Tab Mix Plus / Load tabs progressively when ... : off
- Load Tabs .. addon
+ Max number of concurrent ... : 4
+ Max number of loaded ... : -1
+ Tabs to load first: First tabs
+ Auto-reload: off

load_tabs_progressively-0.5-fx.xpi, -0.8-fx.xpi, -0.9-fx.xpi, -0.9.9-fx.xpi
No tabs will open while addon is active, including the Addon page. Have to remove the addon on Safe Mode.

load_tabs_progressively-1.0-fx.xpi, -1.6-fx.xpi, -1.6.1-fx.xpi
Loads all tabs immediately, both from bookmarks (20 on test) and from news page.

load_tabs_progressively_fixed-1.1-fx.xpi to -1.6-fx.xpi, -1.8-fx.xpi
The first tab from bookmarks is loaded.
The second one has valid address on address bar but it does not load. Ctrl-R for the tab does not help, but only Ctrl-Shift-R.
The rest of the tabs will only show about:blank (my home page).
Because that didn't work, I didn't test the news pages at all.

Can you please tell which OS version you used on your tests, and the states of the above settings?

User avatar
LehA64
Hobby Astronomer
Hobby Astronomer
Posts: 19
Joined: 2020-11-28, 10:32

Re: Load tabs concurrently [NOT bookmarks, NOT sessionrestore]

Unread post by LehA64 » 2022-05-29, 10:35

I retested this with profile that had no addons but Load Tabs Progressively [Fixed] using the versions
load_tabs_progressively-1.6.1-fx.xpi
load_tabs_progressively_fixed-1.8-fx.xpi

Results were as earlier, so other addons don't interfere with this. "Fixed" version does not load anything but the first one, "nofixed" loads all at once.

I continued testing "nofixed" by adding Tab Mix Plus 0.5.8.3 addon and then setting Load tabs progressively when ... to On there. The tabs loaded from bookmarks will load progressively as expected, but it does not help the "open multiple links from news headlines", that again loads all simultaneously.

User avatar
LehA64
Hobby Astronomer
Hobby Astronomer
Posts: 19
Joined: 2020-11-28, 10:32

Re: Load tabs concurrently [NOT bookmarks, NOT sessionrestore]

Unread post by LehA64 » 2022-05-29, 13:43

LehA64 wrote:
2022-05-28, 17:34
Tab Mix Plus addon can be set to do the same [opens tabs progressively if configured] when I open multiple tabs from bookmarks.
Clarification: Without the Load Tabs Progressive addon, Tab Mix Plus will open all tabs progressively, if I only activate tabs that have already been loaded. If I activate tab that is not yet loaded (for example the rightmost one), that one is loaded, but then the progressive loading is stopped, leaving non-loaded tabs in between.

User avatar
LAR Grizzly
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 296
Joined: 2017-08-11, 16:49
Location: Upstate Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: Load tabs concurrently [NOT bookmarks, NOT sessionrestore]

Unread post by LAR Grizzly » 2022-05-29, 15:40

I'm using an old FX add-on called "Load Tab on Select" to load tabs in the background and prevent excessive load on PM while viewing my current page. I converted it to work in PM using JustOff's Moon Tester Tool. I've attached it, if you want to try it out. Both, the original and converted, files are included.
Attachments
Load Tab on Select 0.5.8.1.zip
(12.35 KiB) Downloaded 4 times
Win7 Pro SP1 64 Bit
Comodo Internet Security
Pale Moon 31.1.0, Interlink Mail 52.9.8194, SeaMonkey 2.53.12, Firefox 52.9.0esr, and Thunderbird 52.9.1

User avatar
LehA64
Hobby Astronomer
Hobby Astronomer
Posts: 19
Joined: 2020-11-28, 10:32

Re: Load tabs concurrently [NOT bookmarks, NOT sessionrestore]

Unread post by LehA64 » 2022-05-29, 23:09

LAR Grizzly wrote:
2022-05-29, 15:40
I'm using an old FX add-on called "Load Tab on Select" to load tabs in the background and prevent excessive load on PM while viewing my current page. I converted it to work in PM using JustOff's Moon Tester Tool. I've attached it, if you want to try it out. Both, the original and converted, files are included.
Thank you, but that is just opposite to what I'm searching for. I'll like to get the tab to be loaded before I select it.
The issue is that the news pages selected from the headlines would take up to 5 sec each to be loaded, and I'll like to avoid waiting that time after I have selected the tab. If I - without any load limiter - have 20 concurrently loading tabs, it will cause excessive load for (at minimum of) 100 seconds.
https://www.hs.fi/
https://www.is.fi/
https://www.iltalehti.fi/

User avatar
LAR Grizzly
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 296
Joined: 2017-08-11, 16:49
Location: Upstate Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: Load tabs concurrently [NOT bookmarks, NOT sessionrestore]

Unread post by LAR Grizzly » 2022-05-30, 00:02

LehA64 wrote:
2022-05-29, 23:09
Thank you, but that is just opposite to what I'm searching for. I'll like to get the tab to be loaded before I select it.
OK. I got it. You want them all to load, but not all at once. Load Tab on Select loads upon clicking the tab, making you wait for the page load. Sorry I misinterpreted your intention. Hope you get it worked out. ;)
Win7 Pro SP1 64 Bit
Comodo Internet Security
Pale Moon 31.1.0, Interlink Mail 52.9.8194, SeaMonkey 2.53.12, Firefox 52.9.0esr, and Thunderbird 52.9.1

User avatar
moonbat
Knows the dark side
Knows the dark side
Posts: 3952
Joined: 2015-12-09, 15:45
Contact:

Re: Load tabs concurrently [NOT bookmarks, NOT sessionrestore]

Unread post by moonbat » 2022-05-30, 00:29

LAR Grizzly wrote:
2022-05-29, 15:40
I'm using an old FX add-on called "Load Tab on Select"
You may want to look at Suspender.
"One hosts to look them up, one DNS to find them and in the darkness BIND them."

Image
Linux Mint 20.1 Xfce x64 on HP i5-5200 laptop, 12 GB RAM.
AutoPageColor|PermissionsPlus|PMPlayer|Pure URL|RecordRewind|TextFX

User avatar
LAR Grizzly
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 296
Joined: 2017-08-11, 16:49
Location: Upstate Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: Load tabs concurrently [NOT bookmarks, NOT sessionrestore]

Unread post by LAR Grizzly » 2022-05-30, 03:37

moonbat wrote:
2022-05-30, 00:29
You may want to look at Suspender.
Thanks for the tip. I have tried Suspender, but it doesn't offer what I need. I have a lot of video bookmarks in several folders. I middle click on a particular folder to open all of the video sites. It saves me the time of clicking each bookmark individually. Load Tabs on Select suspends a full loading of the tab until I select it. Suspender doesn't do that.
Win7 Pro SP1 64 Bit
Comodo Internet Security
Pale Moon 31.1.0, Interlink Mail 52.9.8194, SeaMonkey 2.53.12, Firefox 52.9.0esr, and Thunderbird 52.9.1

User avatar
moonbat
Knows the dark side
Knows the dark side
Posts: 3952
Joined: 2015-12-09, 15:45
Contact:

Re: Load tabs concurrently [NOT bookmarks, NOT sessionrestore]

Unread post by moonbat » 2022-05-30, 03:44

LAR Grizzly wrote:
2022-05-30, 03:37
Load Tabs on Select suspends a full loading of the tab until I select it.
Tools->Preferences->Tabs->'Don't load tabs until selected' :roll:

There's no need for an obsolete FF extension when the feature is built in. Pays to go through all preferences to get an idea of what the browser is capable of, out of the box.
"One hosts to look them up, one DNS to find them and in the darkness BIND them."

Image
Linux Mint 20.1 Xfce x64 on HP i5-5200 laptop, 12 GB RAM.
AutoPageColor|PermissionsPlus|PMPlayer|Pure URL|RecordRewind|TextFX

User avatar
LAR Grizzly
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 296
Joined: 2017-08-11, 16:49
Location: Upstate Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: Load tabs concurrently [NOT bookmarks, NOT sessionrestore]

Unread post by LAR Grizzly » 2022-05-30, 03:54

moonbat wrote:
2022-05-30, 03:44
Tools->Preferences->Tabs->'Don't load tabs until selected' :roll: There's no need for an obsolete FF extension when the feature is built in. Pays to go through all preferences to get an idea of what the browser is capable of, out of the box.
That pref doesn't do what I described. I wish that it did! :cry:

Try it. Set the pref and middle click on a folder to open multiple tabs. They all fully load.
Win7 Pro SP1 64 Bit
Comodo Internet Security
Pale Moon 31.1.0, Interlink Mail 52.9.8194, SeaMonkey 2.53.12, Firefox 52.9.0esr, and Thunderbird 52.9.1

User avatar
moonbat
Knows the dark side
Knows the dark side
Posts: 3952
Joined: 2015-12-09, 15:45
Contact:

Re: Load tabs concurrently [NOT bookmarks, NOT sessionrestore]

Unread post by moonbat » 2022-05-30, 04:02

You're right. Had to do 'open all in tabs', on a fresh profile. Middle click doesn't work on opening them all.
"One hosts to look them up, one DNS to find them and in the darkness BIND them."

Image
Linux Mint 20.1 Xfce x64 on HP i5-5200 laptop, 12 GB RAM.
AutoPageColor|PermissionsPlus|PMPlayer|Pure URL|RecordRewind|TextFX

User avatar
LAR Grizzly
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 296
Joined: 2017-08-11, 16:49
Location: Upstate Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: Load tabs concurrently [NOT bookmarks, NOT sessionrestore]

Unread post by LAR Grizzly » 2022-05-30, 04:12

moonbat wrote:
2022-05-30, 04:02
You're right. Had to do 'open all in tabs', on a fresh profile. Middle click doesn't work on opening them all.
Yeah, it would be nice if it worked. Load Tab on Select is the only FX add-on I have. I guess I'll keep using it until it quits working. If it does, I'll have to modify my surfing behavior! :eh:
Win7 Pro SP1 64 Bit
Comodo Internet Security
Pale Moon 31.1.0, Interlink Mail 52.9.8194, SeaMonkey 2.53.12, Firefox 52.9.0esr, and Thunderbird 52.9.1

User avatar
FranklinDM
Add-ons Team
Add-ons Team
Posts: 389
Joined: 2017-01-14, 02:40
Location: Manila, Philippines
Contact:

Re: Load tabs concurrently [NOT bookmarks, NOT sessionrestore]

Unread post by FranklinDM » 2022-05-30, 04:25

Off-topic:
moonbat wrote:
2022-05-30, 03:44
'Don't load tabs until selected'
That option would be better named as "Don't load tabs until selected on startup" because it controls only the session store's behavior when restoring tabs.

User avatar
LAR Grizzly
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 296
Joined: 2017-08-11, 16:49
Location: Upstate Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: Load tabs concurrently [NOT bookmarks, NOT sessionrestore]

Unread post by LAR Grizzly » 2022-05-30, 16:38

FranklinDM wrote:
2022-05-30, 04:25
Off-topic:
That option would be better named as "Don't load tabs until selected on startup" because it controls only the session store's behavior when restoring tabs.
Or maybe, Moonchild could implement that restore session tab behavior pref to all tabs? :thumbup:
Win7 Pro SP1 64 Bit
Comodo Internet Security
Pale Moon 31.1.0, Interlink Mail 52.9.8194, SeaMonkey 2.53.12, Firefox 52.9.0esr, and Thunderbird 52.9.1

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 32190
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: Tranås, SE
Contact:

Re: Load tabs concurrently [NOT bookmarks, NOT sessionrestore]

Unread post by Moonchild » 2022-05-30, 18:40

LAR Grizzly wrote:
2022-05-30, 16:38
Or maybe, Moonchild could implement that restore session tab behavior pref to all tabs? :thumbup:
No. The specific behavior asked for here is extremely specific. Normally when you activate a link you want it to load. Not wanting a link to load and just open a "suspended" tab instead is such uncommon behaviour I don't want to implement that in the core.
"You will observe with concern how long a useful truth may be known and exist before it is generally received and practiced on." -- Benjamin Franklin
"Compromise and collaboration lie at the heart of all great endeavours" -- Kassandra
Image

User avatar
LAR Grizzly
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 296
Joined: 2017-08-11, 16:49
Location: Upstate Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: Load tabs concurrently [NOT bookmarks, NOT sessionrestore]

Unread post by LAR Grizzly » 2022-05-30, 20:34

Moonchild wrote:
2022-05-30, 18:40
I don't want to implement that in the core.
OK. No problem. Just a thought. So far, Load Tabs on Select is working fine. I'll keep my fingers crossed. ;)
Win7 Pro SP1 64 Bit
Comodo Internet Security
Pale Moon 31.1.0, Interlink Mail 52.9.8194, SeaMonkey 2.53.12, Firefox 52.9.0esr, and Thunderbird 52.9.1

Post Reply