How do I debug an add-on?

Add-ons for Pale Moon and other UXP Applications
General discussion, compatibility, contributed extensions, themes, plugins, and more.

Moderators: FranklinDM, Lootyhoof

User avatar
Odyssey346
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: 2021-05-10, 05:14
Location: Drammen, NO

How do I debug an add-on?

Unread post by Odyssey346 » 2021-06-21, 21:02

Hi, I'm trying to see whats wrong with VimFX because it doesn't seem to work. I go to about:debugging, enable add-on debugging, and then press Debug, accept remote connection, nothing happens. Just a blank devtool. So, how do I properly debug an add-on?

User avatar
moonbat
Knows the dark side
Knows the dark side
Posts: 3378
Joined: 2015-12-09, 15:45
Contact:

Re: How do I debug an add-on?

Unread post by moonbat » 2021-06-22, 08:23

Did you click the debug button next to the relevant addon? In my case I get a prompt about a debug connection from localhost, then a devtools window pops up with a console, a log, a debugger and other tools.

Before delving here it pays to just clear the error console and normally use the extension, then see if there's any errors shown.
"One hosts to look them up, one DNS to find them and in the darkness BIND them."

Image
Linux Mint 20.1 Xfce x64 on HP i5-5200 laptop, 12 GB RAM.
AutoPageColor|PermissionsPlus|PMPlayer|Pure URL|RecordRewind|TextFX

User avatar
Odyssey346
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: 2021-05-10, 05:14
Location: Drammen, NO

Re: How do I debug an add-on?

Unread post by Odyssey346 » 2021-06-22, 08:59

moonbat wrote:
2021-06-22, 08:23
Did you click the debug button next to the relevant addon? In my case I get a prompt about a debug connection from localhost, then a devtools window pops up with a console, a log, a debugger and other tools.

Before delving here it pays to just clear the error console and normally use the extension, then see if there's any errors shown.
I did click the Debug button next to the relevant add-on, yeah. It tells me to accept a debug connection from 127.0.0.1, which I then accept. Nothing appears. Just the theme from the devtools, nothing else.

User avatar
Odyssey346
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: 2021-05-10, 05:14
Location: Drammen, NO

Re: How do I debug an add-on?

Unread post by Odyssey346 » 2021-06-22, 09:01

ok what it works now

User avatar
New Tobin Paradigm
Knows the dark side
Knows the dark side
Posts: 10257
Joined: 2012-10-09, 19:37
Location: Sector 001

Re: How do I debug an add-on?

Unread post by New Tobin Paradigm » 2021-06-22, 12:56

The Mozilla DevTools we have especially the debugger is total garbage and always was. You are best served doing it the old way with a text editor, the toolkit Error Console, and DOMi.
I'm sorry, my responses are limited. You must ask the right questions.
Image

Post Reply