Addon "Document Font Toggle"

General discussion, compatibility and contributed extensions.

Moderators: satrow, Lootyhoof, Andrew Gilbertson

Vitasta
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 1:39 pm

Addon "Document Font Toggle"

Postby Vitasta » Sat Jul 15, 2017 1:49 pm

Hi,

I come directly from Firefox and want to try out Pale Moon in the hope it is more stable and needs less RAM.

In my old firefox profile I have the following addon "Document Font Toggle".
With this addon I can change between the user defined font and the font from the homepage with one click.

I wanted to add this addon into Pale Moon. But then I discovered, that this addon was removed through the developer from the mozilla addon website. https://addons.mozilla.org/de/firefox/a ... nt-toggle/

So I have it still in Firefox and it works in firefox 54. It was last updatet in september 2015.

Question:
Is there a way to get it from my firefox profile into Pale Moon?

Thank you.

Vitasta

User avatar
billmcct
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 158
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2012 3:19 pm
Location: Atlanta Georgia

Re: Addon "Document Font Toggle"

Postby billmcct » Sat Jul 15, 2017 3:09 pm


User avatar
JustOff
Localization Coordinator
Localization Coordinator
Posts: 968
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2015 7:47 pm
Location: UA
Contact:

Re: Addon "Document Font Toggle"

Postby JustOff » Sat Jul 15, 2017 3:28 pm

To install "Document Font Toggle" addon from Firefox profile into Pale Moon follow these steps:

  1. Open Firefox, enter about:support into location bar and press Enter
  2. Click to "Open Folder" button to open Firefox profile in Windows Explorer
  3. Change folder to extensions, copy dft@dietrich.cx.xpi file and save it somewhere
  4. Open Pale Moon and install Moon Tester Tool add-on
  5. Go to about:addons, open "Moon Tester Tool" options and then "Select file..."
  6. Select dft@dietrich.cx.xpi from step 3.
Note:
  • Do not forget to read all the warnings and restrictions for Moon Tester Tool
  • I give this instruction to you only because I already checked that "Document Font Toggle" works well when installed this way
Here are the add-ons I made in a spare time. That was fun!

Vitasta
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 1:39 pm

Re: Addon "Document Font Toggle"

Postby Vitasta » Sat Jul 15, 2017 5:36 pm

@JustOff

Thank you. I tried this out.
Result: Not able to install because it is Jetpack/SDK addon:
Pale Moon Addon Error.PNG

User avatar
JustOff
Localization Coordinator
Localization Coordinator
Posts: 968
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2015 7:47 pm
Location: UA
Contact:

Re: Addon "Document Font Toggle"

Postby JustOff » Sat Jul 15, 2017 6:34 pm

Vitasta wrote:Result: Not able to install because it is Jetpack/SDK addon

It seems that your copy of the add-on was packaged using old toolchain. Here is the build made using the modern one, it will be installed without errors.
Here are the add-ons I made in a spare time. That was fun!

Vitasta
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 1:39 pm

Re: Addon "Document Font Toggle"

Postby Vitasta » Sat Jul 15, 2017 6:50 pm

Thank you. This version works great. I like it.

In the mean time I have deactivated Moon Tester Tool. And I am surprised: Now it works nevertheless. (?)

User avatar
JustOff
Localization Coordinator
Localization Coordinator
Posts: 968
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2015 7:47 pm
Location: UA
Contact:

Re: Addon "Document Font Toggle"

Postby JustOff » Sat Jul 15, 2017 7:02 pm

@Vitasta
you may even uninstall it 8-)
Here are the add-ons I made in a spare time. That was fun!

Vitasta
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 1:39 pm

Re: Addon "Document Font Toggle"

Postby Vitasta » Sat Jul 15, 2017 7:11 pm

OK. Thank you.

What is with this addon:
https://addons.mozilla.org/de/firefox/a ... src=search
(You can save the wohle webpage in one single file with this addon.)

First I wanted to make an entry for this addon in viewtopic.php?f=44&t=5883&start=80

But there is written, that we can report further addons in the "compatibility board".
I was not able to find the "compatibility board" to report this.

User avatar
JustOff
Localization Coordinator
Localization Coordinator
Posts: 968
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2015 7:47 pm
Location: UA
Contact:

Re: Addon "Document Font Toggle"

Postby JustOff » Sat Jul 15, 2017 7:26 pm

Vitasta wrote:What is with this addon:
https://addons.mozilla.org/de/firefox/a ... src=search

This add-on made using WebExtensions, Pale Moon does not support this type of extensions.

(You can save the wohle webpage in one single file with this addon.)

Take a look at MozArchiver.

I was not able to find the "compatibility board" to report this.

Use forum search and open new topic if required. Known Incompatible Add-ons page can be also useful.
Here are the add-ons I made in a spare time. That was fun!

Vitasta
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 1:39 pm

Re: Addon "Document Font Toggle"

Postby Vitasta » Sat Jul 15, 2017 7:42 pm

Thank you for the link of MozArchiver.

But not sure if I will use it. "Save Page WE" makes a single file which is in html.

Vitasta
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 1:39 pm

Re: Addon "Document Font Toggle"

Postby Vitasta » Sun Jul 16, 2017 6:44 am

@billmcct

Addon Exporter seems not to work in Firefox:
Addon Exporter.PNG

There is no export Button after the restart.

User avatar
billmcct
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 158
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2012 3:19 pm
Location: Atlanta Georgia

Re: Addon "Document Font Toggle"

Postby billmcct » Sun Jul 16, 2017 8:01 am

Vitasta wrote:@billmcct

Addon Exporter seems not to work in Firefox:
Addon Exporter.PNG
There is no export Button after the restart.


I knew it didn't work in Palemoon, but thought it would in FF since it was written for it.
After looking again, this was the ONLY release of the addon besides a beta version and it hasn't been updated since it's release on 05/28/2014.

Vitasta
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 1:39 pm

Re: Addon "Document Font Toggle"

Postby Vitasta » Sun Jul 16, 2017 8:23 am

OK.

In general, when I want to move an Addon from Firefox to Pale Moon without using Moon Tester Tool can I then simply copy it from Firefox Profile to Pale Moon Profile and then start Pale Moon. Or are other steps needed?

User avatar
JustOff
Localization Coordinator
Localization Coordinator
Posts: 968
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2015 7:47 pm
Location: UA
Contact:

Re: Addon "Document Font Toggle"

Postby JustOff » Sun Jul 16, 2017 10:51 am

Vitasta wrote:can I then simply copy it from Firefox Profile to Pale Moon Profile and then start Pale Moon?

Theoretically yes, but this is not the best way to migrate since you will probably need versions different from installed in Firefox.
Here are the add-ons I made in a spare time. That was fun!

Vitasta
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 1:39 pm

Re: Addon "Document Font Toggle"

Postby Vitasta » Mon Jul 17, 2017 12:02 pm

JustOff wrote:
Vitasta wrote:can I then simply copy it from Firefox Profile to Pale Moon Profile and then start Pale Moon?

Theoretically yes, but this is not the best way to migrate since you will probably need versions different from installed in Firefox.


No , this seems not to work.
I copied http://s000.tinyupload.com/index.php?fi ... 1884113028 (Cleanlinks) into the folder "extensions" of my Pale Moon profile. Then I closed Pale Moon and started it again. Now CleanLinks Addon was not part of the addon list.

But I found out how it works:
When we have saved any *.xpi anywhere, we must go to File->open File and choose this *.xpi. Now it will be installed.

I was able to install Clean Links version 2.8a1 with "File->open File".

Question:
When we install addons via webpage, Pale Moon gives a warning when it is not compatible. Does Pale Moon also give a warning when we use the "File->open File" way?

Vitasta
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 1:39 pm

Re: Addon "Document Font Toggle"

Postby Vitasta » Sat Jul 22, 2017 2:50 pm

Vitasta wrote:
JustOff wrote:
Vitasta wrote:can I then simply copy it from Firefox Profile to Pale Moon Profile and then start Pale Moon?

Theoretically yes, but this is not the best way to migrate since you will probably need versions different from installed in Firefox.


No , this seems not to work.


Correction: In the meantime I found that the most extensions work this way.


Return to “Browser extensions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests