Is switch profile not available on mac?

Support and discussions for the Apple Mac OS X builds of Pale Moon
Forum rules
Important note:
The Mac OSX version of Pale Moon is provided by various people and is not official or in any way organized at this moment. Your assistance in bringing this build to fruition is greatly appreciated, but you can expect there to be bugs and problems as long as we don't have a maintainer or official builds!

Any specific bugs you find that don't have their own topic yet: please make a new topic; one bug per topic please to keep things organized.

Please also note that these builds are currently created by various independent Mac OS X people and not by our core team; core devs will likely not be able to provide insight or assistance due to lack of Mac hardware and OS/build knowledge for Mac. You'll have to solve the issues among yourselves.
Locked
User avatar
pmoontgs
Hobby Astronomer
Hobby Astronomer
Posts: 18
Joined: 2020-08-04, 00:53

Is switch profile not available on mac?

Post by pmoontgs » 2020-08-06, 19:33

i see it, but i cannot create a new profile.

coffeebreak
Moon Magic practitioner
Moon Magic practitioner
Posts: 2544
Joined: 2015-09-26, 04:51
Location: U.S.

Re: Is switch profile not available on mac?

Post by coffeebreak » 2020-08-06, 19:40

pmoontgs wrote:
2020-08-06, 19:33
i see it
You see what where?
Whatever you may think, it's not self-evident.
Please describe specifically what you tried to do, and don't assume that anyone will or should understand anything that you don't actually explain.

User avatar
pmoontgs
Hobby Astronomer
Hobby Astronomer
Posts: 18
Joined: 2020-08-04, 00:53

Re: Is switch profile not available on mac?

Post by pmoontgs » 2020-08-06, 19:46

i see this https://imgur.com/a/Qi5nOCC, but as you can see there is no + for adding new one.

User avatar
New Tobin Paradigm
Knows the dark side
Knows the dark side
Posts: 8545
Joined: 2012-10-09, 19:37
Location: Skaro

Re: Is switch profile not available on mac?

Post by New Tobin Paradigm » 2020-08-06, 20:08

You can use about:profiles but that doesn't give you a way to SWITCH only launch (effectively using --no-remote) and create from within the browser. It is very feature incomplete. The other way is to do it by command line as you would on linux.. Just need to find [appname]-bin within the .app package. Remember, .app packages are actually just folders treated in a special way by Finder. I don't know off hand the .app directory structure but just find the actual runtime binary and issue it a --profile-manager and it will work.

I may update my Profile Switcher extension to restore full profile manager capabilities in the future making it virtually identical to what Borealis and Interlink have. I am still debating it and if I can find time to actually do it. Likely will tho just not this minute.
return NS_OK;
Image

coffeebreak
Moon Magic practitioner
Moon Magic practitioner
Posts: 2544
Joined: 2015-09-26, 04:51
Location: U.S.

Re: Is switch profile not available on mac?

Post by coffeebreak » 2020-08-06, 20:15

New Tobin Paradigm wrote:
2020-08-06, 20:08
You can use about:profiles but that doesn't give you a way to SWITCH only launch (effectively using --no-remote) and create from within the browser. It is very feature incomplete. The other way is to do it by command line as you would on linux
Then is this a known problem with the Mac?

User avatar
New Tobin Paradigm
Knows the dark side
Knows the dark side
Posts: 8545
Joined: 2012-10-09, 19:37
Location: Skaro

Re: Is switch profile not available on mac?

Post by New Tobin Paradigm » 2020-08-06, 20:28

I don't SEE a problem. The only issue here is that mac can't easily access the profile manager proper because of the way Apple does their .app bundles. That and not many people realize how they work. I do because I am .. well me.. But yeah.

Not an issue with either UXP Applications or my extension. Simply a case of by design from multiple points making this a bit of a bitch on the Macintosh.
return NS_OK;
Image

coffeebreak
Moon Magic practitioner
Moon Magic practitioner
Posts: 2544
Joined: 2015-09-26, 04:51
Location: U.S.

Re: Is switch profile not available on mac?

Post by coffeebreak » 2020-08-06, 20:36

Oh. I had no idea.

User avatar
New Tobin Paradigm
Knows the dark side
Knows the dark side
Posts: 8545
Joined: 2012-10-09, 19:37
Location: Skaro

Re: Is switch profile not available on mac?

Post by New Tobin Paradigm » 2020-08-06, 21:16

Still when I get around to expanding Profile Switcher it will be fine.
return NS_OK;
Image

Locked