Pale Moon 28.9.1

Support and discussions for the Apple Mac OS X builds of Pale Moon
Forum rules
Important note:
The Mac OSX version of Pale Moon is provided by various people and is not official or in any way organized at this moment. Your assistance in bringing this build to fruition is greatly appreciated, but you can expect there to be bugs and problems as long as we don't have a maintainer or official builds!

Any specific bugs you find that don't have their own topic yet: please make a new topic; one bug per topic please to keep things organized.

Please also note that these builds are currently created by various independent Mac OS X people and not by our core team; core devs will likely not be able to provide insight or assistance due to lack of Mac hardware and OS/build knowledge for Mac. You'll have to solve the issues among yourselves.
User avatar
moonbat
Moon Magic practitioner
Moon Magic practitioner
Posts: 2542
Joined: 2015-12-09, 15:45

Re: Pale Moon 28.9.1

Post by moonbat » 2020-04-21, 09:23

Works as expected - it displays a 'connection is untrusted' page with a button to add an exception, and the exception popup lets you view the certificate and permanently store the exception if desired. I'm using the latest, 28.9.1, but I don't think this would be a problem in the previous versions either.
"One hosts to look them up, one DNS to find them and in the darkness BIND them."

Image
Linux Mint 20 Xfce x64 on HP i5-5200 laptop, 12 GB RAM.
Advanced URL Builder(fork)|PermissionsPlus|PMPlayer|Pure URL|RecordRewind|TextFX

User avatar
dubGUN
Moongazer
Moongazer
Posts: 10
Joined: 2020-03-03, 21:30

Re: Pale Moon 28.9.1

Post by dubGUN » 2020-04-21, 13:11

thanks for checking. doesn't work for me that way. it seems i have to go through my settings and addons to find out what's causing this in my case.

KlarkKentThe3rd
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 417
Joined: 2018-04-20, 20:31

Re: Pale Moon 28.9.1

Post by KlarkKentThe3rd » 2020-04-21, 14:15

Might as well mention that the new YT UI for uploading videos works perfectly.

User avatar
dbsoft
Project Contributor
Project Contributor
Posts: 98
Joined: 2020-02-21, 17:35

Re: Pale Moon 28.9.1

Post by dbsoft » 2020-04-21, 16:50

dubGUN wrote:
2020-04-20, 23:33
is this a bug or "by design"?
Well I am not entirely sure what you are seeing, but I just tested 4 builds. My build of 28.9.0.2, my build of trunk (29 pre-release), my build of 28.9.1.

All three of these show the Untrusted page with the option to make an exception.

SpockFan02's build of 28.9.1 however just shows me a blank white page. Not sure what is different about that build.

I believe showing the untrusted page is the expected behavior. If you want to grab my build (it is basically the build in the repository just with some pre-release window title fixes) and see if it handles the certificates correctly.

User avatar
dubGUN
Moongazer
Moongazer
Posts: 10
Joined: 2020-03-03, 21:30

Re: Pale Moon 28.9.1

Post by dubGUN » 2020-04-21, 18:12

dbsoft wrote:
2020-04-21, 16:50
SpockFan02's build of 28.9.1 however just shows me a blank white page. Not sure what is different about that build.
that's exactly what i mean. so it's not because of my config or addons after all it seems.

well thanks for the additional test. i'll try your build ...

EDIT: unfortunately i just confirmed that it is caused by my profile after all. with a fresh one the behavior is as expected. with your build that is which at least gave me some sort of info even with my custom profile unlike the other.
i'll try to track it down and report back in case i find the cause.

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 28805
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: Tranås, SE
Contact:

Re: Pale Moon 28.9.1

Post by Moonchild » 2020-04-21, 22:45

We briefly had an issue with error pages being busted but that was fixed March 31st. If that is the case in Spockfan's builds then those are using a non-updated platform submodule.
"Son, in life you do not fight battles because you expect to win, you fight them merely because they need to be fought." -- Snagglepuss
Image

User avatar
dbsoft
Project Contributor
Project Contributor
Posts: 98
Joined: 2020-02-21, 17:35

Re: Pale Moon 28.9.1

Post by dbsoft » 2020-04-23, 01:04

Moonchild wrote:
2020-04-21, 22:45
We briefly had an issue with error pages being busted but that was fixed March 31st. If that is the case in Spockfan's builds then those are using a non-updated platform submodule.
Does there need to be a way to check that the platform module is on the right revision when building? Or at least note the platform revision somewhere... like in the about box?

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 28805
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: Tranås, SE
Contact:

Re: Pale Moon 28.9.1

Post by Moonchild » 2020-04-23, 11:35

No, because at the build level this isn't known. I'm sure if Mozilla ever used submodules it'd be recorded somewhere (and probably sent back as telemetry...) but they didn't.
Just make sure you do a "git submodule update" after you manually pull.
"Son, in life you do not fight battles because you expect to win, you fight them merely because they need to be fought." -- Snagglepuss
Image

User avatar
dbsoft
Project Contributor
Project Contributor
Posts: 98
Joined: 2020-02-21, 17:35

Re: Pale Moon 28.9.1

Post by dbsoft » 2020-04-23, 17:57

Moonchild wrote:
2020-04-23, 11:35
No, because at the build level this isn't known. I'm sure if Mozilla ever used submodules it'd be recorded somewhere (and probably sent back as telemetry...) but they didn't.
Just make sure you do a "git submodule update" after you manually pull.
Well, I just mean in my personal projects, I build the revision number from svn/mercurial into the binary so after the fact I can tell what revision the binary is at. Seems like having the application and the platform revisions built in could be useful for diagnosis later.

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 28805
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: Tranås, SE
Contact:

Re: Pale Moon 28.9.1

Post by Moonchild » 2020-04-23, 18:04

Or, you know, people can just build properly as they should.
"Son, in life you do not fight battles because you expect to win, you fight them merely because they need to be fought." -- Snagglepuss
Image

User avatar
dbsoft
Project Contributor
Project Contributor
Posts: 98
Joined: 2020-02-21, 17:35

Re: Pale Moon 28.9.1

Post by dbsoft » 2020-04-23, 18:12

Moonchild wrote:
2020-04-23, 18:04
Or, you know, people can just build properly as they should.
Well sure, but mistakes can happen...

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 28805
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: Tranås, SE
Contact:

Re: Pale Moon 28.9.1

Post by Moonchild » 2020-04-23, 19:15

If you're afraid that you might forget, then do what I do for actual releases: use a batch or script file that does all the necessary steps to switch to the right branch, pull, update submodules and clobber before building.
"Son, in life you do not fight battles because you expect to win, you fight them merely because they need to be fought." -- Snagglepuss
Image

User avatar
dbsoft
Project Contributor
Project Contributor
Posts: 98
Joined: 2020-02-21, 17:35

Re: Pale Moon 28.9.1

Post by dbsoft » 2020-04-23, 21:32

Moonchild wrote:
2020-04-23, 19:15
If you're afraid that you might forget, then do what I do for actual releases: use a batch or script file that does all the necessary steps to switch to the right branch, pull, update submodules and clobber before building.
It was just a suggestion to help avoid problems like this. I am confident my builds will be done right most of the time, but every once in a while something weird happens.... and that would be a way to determine if things are actually in the expected state post-build. It is a pretty common practice in many projects, but it is obviously your call.

User avatar
dubGUN
Moongazer
Moongazer
Posts: 10
Joined: 2020-03-03, 21:30

Re: Pale Moon 28.9.1

Post by dubGUN » 2020-04-26, 02:43

dubGUN wrote:
2020-04-21, 18:12
i'll try to track it down and report back in case i find the cause.
meanwhile i was able to reduce the possible causes to my settings so it's not the addons. however since i changed a lot in that regard i don't think i can track it down to a specific one. even more so since i don't even know whether it is a single one or a combination of more than one.

Locked