Palemoon OSX Performance

Discussions for the Apple Mac OS builds of Pale Moon

Moderator: dbsoft

Forum rules
Important note:
The old Mac OS versions of Pale Moon were provided by various people and not official or in any way organized. Please make sure you check the date of topic threads to know if the topic is current or relevant! We are using this board for both old discussions and new development of Pale Moon on Mac.

Any specific bugs you find that don't have their own topic yet: please make a new topic; one bug per topic please to keep things organized.
PhilipLewis
Hobby Astronomer
Hobby Astronomer

Palemoon OSX Performance

Unread post by PhilipLewis » 2017-11-24, 10:37

Hi folks,

Disclaimers:
  • I used to benchmark stuff for a living. I know the pitfalls and all the rest, so please no lectures please.
    I use PM because I prefer the "old school" look and status bar etc. to the "FF I wanna be Chrome" look.
    I keep Safari pristine on my Mac for those pesky websites that don't work correctly with various addons installed or because PM issues.
Question:

Has anyone tried to run any benchmarks Palemoon OSX versus FF, Chrome and/or Safari? I used a few minutes on a few random benchmarking suites websites, and the results were less than encouraging :(

SpockFan02
Astronaut
Astronaut

Re: Palemoon OSX Performance

Unread post by SpockFan02 » 2017-11-25, 02:44

I haven't spent a lot of time benchmarking, but it runs fine when I'm using it, and I value add-on support, a nice UI, and not Google over slightly faster page loading. I don't mean to lecture, but why be discouraged by a lower benchmark score if it works well (among other good traits)?

FineWine

Unread post by FineWine » 2017-11-25, 05:59