Preferences; network; clear cache

General discussion and chat (archived)
Locked
User avatar
wldhrs
New to the forum
New to the forum
Posts: 1
Joined: 2019-03-05, 15:57

Preferences; network; clear cache

Post by wldhrs » 2019-03-05, 16:08

I have always been able to clear the cache by using this feature in the preferences, but now 16KB always remains, and I am not able to find where, or what, is being cached. I am admittedly obsessive about clearing out everything after every online session, so would appreciate your help.

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 26647
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: 58°2'16"N 14°58'31"E
Contact:

Re: Preferences; network; clear cache

Post by Moonchild » 2019-03-06, 01:23

Obsessive clearing of your cached web content by hand is actually rather pointless. All it does is interfere with the browser's optimal internal management of cached items.
Also, clearing of the cache is an asynchronous process (when you click the button it doesn't run a full cleanup before returning control to you) so what you see reflected in the numbers isn't necessarily the exact state of the cache.

If you want the cache cleared after a session, then simply use the feature to clear on shutdown.
"There will be times when the position you advocate, no matter how well framed and supported, will not be accepted by the public simply because you are who you are." -- Merrill Rose
Image

User avatar
violetevergarden
New to the forum
New to the forum
Posts: 1
Joined: 2019-05-01, 21:09

Re: Preferences; network; clear cache

Post by violetevergarden » 2019-05-12, 17:10

Moonchild wrote:
2019-03-06, 01:23
Obsessive clearing of your cached web content by hand is actually rather pointless. All it does is interfere with the browser's optimal internal management of cached items.
Also, clearing of the cache is an asynchronous process (when you click the button it doesn't run a full cleanup before returning control to you) so what you see reflected in the numbers isn't necessarily the exact state of the cache.

If you want the cache cleared after a session, then simply use the feature to clear on shutdown.
i didn't knew! thank foe sharing the information.

Locked