PaleMoon 28 is kind of bad

General discussion and chat (archived)
Pfade

PaleMoon 28 is kind of bad

Unread post by Pfade » 2018-08-20, 21:12

I've been using Palemoon as my primary browser for about three years, and usually every new version was an improvement.

My reason for using this browser was lower CPU usage, lover memory requirements and less constant writes to the hard disk. All three making it particularly ideal for an older PC.

Palemoon 28 completely destroys at least two of those (I haven't checked the disk writes). It uses a lot more RAM, it frees it a lot poorly, and sometimes it seems to create some sort of memory leak. If with the last version I had to restart only once a day on average, now I have to do it constantly because it eats RAM in a much worse way and then starts to freeze.

On the CPU side it's also sensibly worse, especially when playing videos.

In general the browser works well. I haven't noticed anything different after updating to 28. The only noticeable change is a much, much worse performance on all fronts.

I don't know if this is the price to pay to keep the browser up to date, but on older hardware what I'm saying is that 28 is way, way, way less efficient than the previous version to the point I often have to boot Firefox.

If there's no way to fix this I'll probably have to end this honeymoon and go back to the standard browsers. In three years I've been using Palemoon I've never seen such a sudden degradation of performance.
Last edited by Pfade on 2018-08-20, 21:14, edited 1 time in total.

Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru

Re: PaleMoon 28 is kind of bad

Unread post by Moonchild » 2018-08-20, 21:15

Considering this is just a complaint and not a request for support, moving this thread to the general discussion section.
"Sometimes, the best way to get what you want is to be a good person." -- Louis Rossmann
"Seek wisdom, not knowledge. Knowledge is of the past; wisdom is of the future." -- Native American proverb