Strange problem with PM and freshplayer

Support and discussions for the x86/x64 Linux version of Pale Moon.

Moderators: trava90, satrow

User avatar
mozart78
Moon lover
Moon lover
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat, 02 Aug 2014, 14:29
Location: Bulgaria

Strange problem with PM and freshplayer

Unread postby mozart78 » Tue, 26 May 2015, 17:54

Hello everybody :)
I have a little strange problem with bulgarian file share site, which is very popular here. When I use freshplayer, the site don't accept captcha and it says that the code is wrong whem I enter it. When I uninstall freshplayer and than try with flashplugin, there isn't such problem. At the same time FF works with both freshplayer and flashplugin. I tried on 2 more computers with PM and freshplayer and the problem persists there too. Here you are the site and a file with captcha:

http://dox.abv.bg/files/dw?a=c96a357d18

Thank you for any help.
Image

User avatar
martywd
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed, 16 Apr 2014, 14:36
Location: TX

Re: Strange problem with PM and freshplayer

Unread postby martywd » Tue, 26 May 2015, 19:39

mozart78 wrote:Hello everybody :)
I have a little strange problem with bulgarian file share site, which is very popular here. When I use freshplayer, the site don't accept captcha and it says that the code is wrong whem I enter it. When I uninstall freshplayer and than try with flashplugin, there isn't such problem. At the same time FF works with both freshplayer and flashplugin. I tried on 2 more computers with PM and freshplayer and the problem persists there too. Here you are the site and a file with captcha:

http://dox.abv.bg/files/dw?a=c96a357d18

Thank you for any help.


I don't read/speak the language, but I can duplicate what the OP types about. And. With the 'freshplayer' wrapper removed (adobe-flashplugin remains installed), the Captcha codes still _do_not_ work in PM. I've verified this in PM4linux (64-bit) and PM in Windows (32-bit). In PM4linux I tested in a profile with no extensions installed, the Captcha codes do not work. In Firefox (Linux 64-bit) w/extensions installed, the Captcha code works regardless (see pic) of whether the 'freshplayer' wrapper package is install, or not.
.
Attachments
Screenshot-DOX.bg_-_Mozilla_Firefox.png
Screenshot-DOX.bg_-_Mozilla_Firefox.png

User avatar
mozart78
Moon lover
Moon lover
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat, 02 Aug 2014, 14:29
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Strange problem with PM and freshplayer

Unread postby mozart78 » Tue, 26 May 2015, 20:33

For me PM works with flashplugin installed and freshplayer removed. Strange...
Image

User avatar
martywd
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed, 16 Apr 2014, 14:36
Location: TX

Re: Strange problem with PM and freshplayer

Unread postby martywd » Tue, 26 May 2015, 21:16

mozart78 wrote:For me PM works with flashplugin installed and freshplayer removed. Strange...


Weird? I can't make that site work in PM, period. w/ Linux or Windows. What flavor of Linux are you running? In Linux all my testing has been on LinuxMint 17.1 64-bit (Pale Moon 25.4.1 64-bit) with the 'adobe-flashplugin 1:20150512.1-0trusty1' installed _and_ with/without 'freshplayerplugin 0.2.4+git20150518~webupd8~trusty0' installed.
.

User avatar
mozart78
Moon lover
Moon lover
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat, 02 Aug 2014, 14:29
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Strange problem with PM and freshplayer

Unread postby mozart78 » Tue, 26 May 2015, 21:59

I'm running Arch Linux and Pale Moon 25.4.1 64-bit :)
Image

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 22007
Joined: Sun, 28 Aug 2011, 17:27
Location: 58.5°N 15.5°E
Contact:

Re: Strange problem with PM and freshplayer

Unread postby Moonchild » Thu, 28 May 2015, 15:10

Loaded the URL in Windows 32-bit (Flash ESR13), entered the captcha, was able to download. I don't have any issues... :crazy:
Improving Mozilla code: You know you're on the right track with code changes when you spend the majority of your time deleting code.

"If you want to build a better world for yourself, you have to be willing to build one for everybody." -- Coyote Osborne

User avatar
mozart78
Moon lover
Moon lover
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat, 02 Aug 2014, 14:29
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Strange problem with PM and freshplayer

Unread postby mozart78 » Thu, 28 May 2015, 15:57

In Windows it works fine, that's why I post in the Linux forum :)
Image

User avatar
martywd
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed, 16 Apr 2014, 14:36
Location: TX

Re: Strange problem with PM and freshplayer

Unread postby martywd » Thu, 28 May 2015, 19:08

mozart78 wrote:I'm running Arch Linux and Pale Moon 25.4.1 64-bit :)

That's my fault. I brought Windows into the mix, with my post. So with that typed....

Off-topic:
I tried the link in Windows again. This time in a 'clean' profile and it works! My issue in Windows was an extension issue, NOT a Pale Moon for Windows issue!

Sorry!

.

User avatar
trava90
Contributing developer
Contributing developer
Posts: 1500
Joined: Mon, 20 May 2013, 18:19
Location: Earth
Contact:

Re: Strange problem with PM and freshplayer

Unread postby trava90 » Fri, 29 May 2015, 03:59

Possibly try disabling Flash temporarily? The captcha works for me without Flash installed.

User avatar
martywd
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed, 16 Apr 2014, 14:36
Location: TX

Re: Strange problem with PM and freshplayer

Unread postby martywd » Fri, 29 May 2015, 05:08

trava90 wrote:Possibly try disabling Flash temporarily? The captcha works for me without Flash installed.

Yes, tried that too (disabling Flash). I think Flash is needed only to refresh Captcha for another code?

It's hit or miss with PM4linux. I've had 2-3 'successes' out of maybe 20+ attempts. Extensions enable/disabled really don't seem to matter on whether the code is accepted or not? If I enter the correct Captcha code on the first try sometimes it works. If instead I refresh for a new Captcha code before entering, it almost certainly will fail. Weird?
.

User avatar
mozart78
Moon lover
Moon lover
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat, 02 Aug 2014, 14:29
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Strange problem with PM and freshplayer

Unread postby mozart78 » Fri, 29 May 2015, 09:30

trava90 wrote:Possibly try disabling Flash temporarily? The captcha works for me without Flash installed.


Yes, this is some kind of solution but is inconvenient. We always can open another browser too but that's not the idea.

@martywd, thank you for the support :)
Image


Return to “Pale Moon for Linux”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests