FB Purity settings

Support and discussions for the x86/x64 Linux version of Pale Moon and specific Linux distribution questions related to the browser.

Moderator: trava90

Forum rules
If your question is about general use of the browser and not specific to Linux, then please use the General Support board.
Locked
FreddyP

FB Purity settings

Post by FreddyP » 2015-05-22, 01:22

New user - loving it! :D

In FB on Firefox, there's an FB Purity settings button next to the Home button, but that button's missing in Pale Moon and I can't see any way to adjust my FB Purity settings. (FB Purity is installed, of course, and seems to be working with the default settings.)

My add-ons are Adblock Latitude 3.02, FB Purity 9.3.2 and Noscript 2.6.9.22.

Thanks in advance!

squarefractal

Re: FB Purity settings

Post by squarefractal » 2015-05-23, 16:31

FB Purity may be simply using application specific overlays with only Firefox as a target.

You need to request the developer to make changes according to the following guidelines: viewtopic.php?f=1&t=5440

User avatar
New Tobin Paradigm
Knows the dark side
Knows the dark side
Posts: 7900
Joined: 2012-10-09, 19:37
Location: Space, maybe..

Re: FB Purity settings

Post by New Tobin Paradigm » 2015-05-23, 16:33

Try installing Greesemonkey and using the user script version which isn't bound to any specific browser.
Provocative and Fascinating. That's two great things!
Image

FreddyP

Re: FB Purity settings

Post by FreddyP » 2015-05-24, 04:02

:D Thanks guys!

FreddyP

Re: FB Purity settings

Post by FreddyP » 2015-05-24, 05:05

Installed Greasemonkey and the script version of FB Purity. It tells me that there are two versions running, though there aren't, and links to an FAQ item suggesting how to deal with the problem, neither of which works. There are two FBP icons now on the menu bar and neither works. It's possible that if I were more competent at scripting I could fix it, but I'm not. ;-)

I'll submit a bug report.

Thanks again! :thumbup:

FreddyP

Re: FB Purity settings

Post by FreddyP » 2015-05-24, 23:30

Well that's weird.

I uninstalled the script version and reinstalled the standard version, and the link's now there! Perhapsy they responded quickly to the bug report.

User avatar
New Tobin Paradigm
Knows the dark side
Knows the dark side
Posts: 7900
Joined: 2012-10-09, 19:37
Location: Space, maybe..

Re: FB Purity settings

Post by New Tobin Paradigm » 2015-05-24, 23:33

Can anyone confirm that because I would like to eliminate it from the incompat list if that is the case.
Provocative and Fascinating. That's two great things!
Image

User avatar
x-15a2
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back
Posts: 825
Joined: 2014-03-19, 00:28
Location: Triskelion

Re: FB Purity settings

Post by x-15a2 » 2015-05-25, 00:31

I just installed it (had never installed it before, not a FB user) and the icons does appear (though a bit out of position) when fb is loaded.
Last edited by x-15a2 on 2015-07-07, 17:29, edited 1 time in total.

moon convert
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 36
Joined: 2015-06-24, 04:32
Location: United States

Re: FB Purity settings

Post by moon convert » 2015-07-07, 15:12

x-15a2 wrote:I just installed it (had never installed it before, no a FB user) and the icons does appear (though a bit out of position) when fb is loaded.
Did you download the latest version from the developers website, or the one from the Firefox add-ons site? I'm using the one from the developers site and the icon is positioned correctly.
Matt A Tobin wrote:Can anyone confirm that because I would like to eliminate it from the incompat list if that is the case.
I've been using the add on for a while, didn't realize it was on the incompatible list, and the add-ons site didn't complain when I installed it. Recently I've noticed something a bit strange though. When I use the add-on, pale moon tells me that Facebook is a "mixed content site," without the add-on Facebook is fully encrypted. This used to be the case in Firefox as well but as of version 39 and the most recent add-on update, the problem only seems to occur in palemoon. I've tried to troubleshoot a bit, but I'm not sure if I should go into that here, since I just realized this is a Linux thread and I'm a Windows user. Is it best to keep all the conversation about FB purity in one place or should I be starting a new thread?
Think like a nonconformist, speak like a diplomat, act with integrity.

User avatar
somdcomputerguy
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 127
Joined: 2014-02-23, 17:25
Location: Greenbrier County, West Virginia
Contact:

Re: FB Purity settings

Post by somdcomputerguy » 2015-07-07, 17:52

Matt A Tobin wrote:Can anyone confirm that because I would like to eliminate it from the incompat list if that is the case.
I use an add-on named Social Fixer which probably does the same (most of or some of at least) as FBPurity. It works with Pale Moon just fine. There is no options button on the browser (and it's meant that way), but there is an additional button (image of a wrench, on Facebook) when Facebook is loaded.
:cool: -bruce /* somdcomputerguy.com */
'If you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change.'

Locked