"ac_add_options --enable-av1" in my mozconfig?

Support and discussions for the x86/x64 Linux version of Pale Moon and specific Linux distribution questions related to the browser.

Moderator: trava90

Forum rules
If your question is about general use of the browser and not specific to Linux, then please use the General Support board.
Post Reply
User avatar
stevepusser
Project Contributor
Project Contributor
Posts: 729
Joined: 2015-08-01, 18:33
Location: California

"ac_add_options --enable-av1" in my mozconfig?

Post by stevepusser » 2021-03-02, 21:55

Should I remove these for my 29.1.0 package builds, or is the AV1 decoder also disabled by default, or are both true?

Thanks!

I notice that it's not on the approved options for mozconfig on the packager's page, so I would guess it needs to go.

User avatar
New Tobin Paradigm
Knows the dark side
Knows the dark side
Posts: 9263
Joined: 2012-10-09, 19:37
Location: Seriphia Galaxy

Re: "ac_add_options --enable-av1" in my mozconfig?

Post by New Tobin Paradigm » 2021-03-02, 22:08

It should be built but returned to pref-disabled.
You know I have the greatest enthusiasm possible for the mission.
Image

User avatar
stevepusser
Project Contributor
Project Contributor
Posts: 729
Joined: 2015-08-01, 18:33
Location: California

Re: "ac_add_options --enable-av1" in my mozconfig?

Post by stevepusser » 2021-03-03, 17:50

Shouldn't it be in the mozconfig on the packager's guide?
# Standard build options for Pale Moon
ac_add_options --enable-application=palemoon
ac_add_options --enable-optimize="-O2 -w"
ac_add_options --enable-default-toolkit=cairo-gtk$_GTK_VERSION
ac_add_options --enable-jemalloc
ac_add_options --enable-strip
ac_add_options --enable-devtools
ac_add_options --disable-eme
ac_add_options --disable-webrtc
ac_add_options --disable-gamepad
ac_add_options --disable-tests
ac_add_options --disable-debug
ac_add_options --disable-necko-wifi
ac_add_options --disable-updater
ac_add_options --with-pthreads

User avatar
New Tobin Paradigm
Knows the dark side
Knows the dark side
Posts: 9263
Joined: 2012-10-09, 19:37
Location: Seriphia Galaxy

Re: "ac_add_options --enable-av1" in my mozconfig?

Post by New Tobin Paradigm » 2021-03-03, 18:50

Yes it should. Feel free to update the various build pages. We all tend to forget about av1 except when we don't.. can't really explain why.
You know I have the greatest enthusiasm possible for the mission.
Image

User avatar
tarakbumba
Hobby Astronomer
Hobby Astronomer
Posts: 27
Joined: 2021-01-18, 14:26

Re: "ac_add_options --enable-av1" in my mozconfig?

Post by tarakbumba » 2021-03-04, 21:04

I think I really don't understand well what's going on here. Should we add

Code: Select all

ac_add_options --enable-av1
in our mozconfigs or not ? Besides, while it is not in build instructions page, is it allowed to use this option?

vannilla
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1571
Joined: 2018-05-05, 13:29

Re: "ac_add_options --enable-av1" in my mozconfig?

Post by vannilla » 2021-03-04, 21:29

Yes, you should add it so that users can enable or disable the decoder at runtime.
However, make sure that the final binary on first start on a new and uncustomized profile, defaults the relative setting to disabled at runtime.

User avatar
tarakbumba
Hobby Astronomer
Hobby Astronomer
Posts: 27
Joined: 2021-01-18, 14:26

Re: "ac_add_options --enable-av1" in my mozconfig?

Post by tarakbumba » 2021-03-04, 21:31

vannilla wrote:
2021-03-04, 21:29
Yes, you should add it so that users can enable or disable the decoder at runtime.
However, make sure that the final binary on first start on a new and uncustomized profile, defaults the relative setting to disabled at runtime.
Thank you for clarification. I' ll update my config according to this.

Post Reply