unable to update

Support and discussions for the x86/x64 Linux version of Pale Moon.

Moderator: trava90

Post Reply
User avatar
mattiaoki
New to the forum
New to the forum
Posts: 1
Joined: 2020-07-01, 00:16

unable to update

Post by mattiaoki » 2020-07-20, 14:08

hello i am using manjaro arch based linux distro and every time i open the browser it says it is unable to update but when i go in the terminal and type sudo pcaman -Syu it dose not update?
Attachments
Screenshot_2020-07-20_18-03-14.png

User avatar
New Tobin Paradigm
Knows the dark side
Knows the dark side
Posts: 7574
Joined: 2012-10-09, 19:37
Location: Just beyond the Lament Configuration

Re: unable to update

Post by New Tobin Paradigm » 2020-07-20, 15:11

The message is explicit. For Application Update Service to work it must be able have rw access to the program files. For linux there is not yet any way to elevate so you will simply have to grant file permissions so that your user account can rw those files.

That being said, you COULD have used your brain and read the message. You could have checked http://linux.palemoon.org/help/faq/#updater. Or even done a search on the forum. So thanks for wasting people's time, especially mine.
Image
- Welcome to the worst nightmare of all... reality! -

User avatar
Pentium4User
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 354
Joined: 2019-04-24, 09:38

Re: unable to update

Post by Pentium4User » 2020-07-20, 16:38

Off-topic:
Aren't there possibilities to become root?
I Know that from Ubuntu. GParted uses that and lots of other applications too.
You have to be a member in the sudo user group and then you have to type your password and then you can run sth. with root privileges.
Powerline adapters (dLAN) hardly interfere shortwave radio, so stop using them.

Yes, I still use a 64 bit capable Pentium 4 670 processor with Pale Moon.

User avatar
New Tobin Paradigm
Knows the dark side
Knows the dark side
Posts: 7574
Joined: 2012-10-09, 19:37
Location: Just beyond the Lament Configuration

Re: unable to update

Post by New Tobin Paradigm » 2020-07-20, 19:38

I don't understand what you are talking about.. But the Updater has no concept of elevation in Linux. Not yet anyway and not likely anytime soon.
Image
- Welcome to the worst nightmare of all... reality! -

User avatar
Lunokhod
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 241
Joined: 2017-04-20, 21:25
Contact:

Re: unable to update

Post by Lunokhod » 2020-07-20, 19:56

Try pacman -Qs palemoon
If it doesn't return anything it isn't installed as a pacman package. Manjaro provides a palemoon binary package which you can install with pacman I have read, if your distro doesn't have one install an AUR helper (this will do auto updates for AUR packages, just run <helper> -Syu instead of pacman -Syu) and install palemoon-bin from the AUR.
If you have Pale Moon installed as a package then you won't need Pale Moon's updater so make sure it is switched off in the prefs, but probably you still want the addons and search engine updates enabled in there.
Or you could not install it as a package and use it with the updater but then it has to be set up right with permissions as previously noted, or manually untar it and set it up yourself. The package options probably require the lowest maintenance / effort.

User avatar
New Tobin Paradigm
Knows the dark side
Knows the dark side
Posts: 7574
Joined: 2012-10-09, 19:37
Location: Just beyond the Lament Configuration

Re: unable to update

Post by New Tobin Paradigm » 2020-07-20, 20:30

No system package should have AUS built and no repack should have AUS enabled.

If that is the case, then that needs to be addressed with whomever did it.
Image
- Welcome to the worst nightmare of all... reality! -

User avatar
The Squash
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 104
Joined: 2020-03-25, 19:31
Location: Somewhere else

Re: unable to update

Post by The Squash » 2020-07-20, 20:43

Pentium4User wrote:
2020-07-20, 16:38
Off-topic:
Aren't there possibilities to become root?
I Know that from Ubuntu. GParted uses that and lots of other applications too.
Off-topic:
The mechanism you're thinking of is PolicyKit. See https://www.freedesktop.org/wiki/Software/polkit for more information about it.
THE GREAT TRAIN ROBBERY 2
NOBODY ON BOARD THE RUBY ON RAILS FEELS SAFE TONIGHT -- THERE ARE RUMORS OF A ZERO-DAY VULNERABILITY
"The whole film is a hack job." -- Guns N' Cowboys Flicks Magazine
IN THEATERS NOW
Rated PG-13 -- because the producer took some creative liberties...

User avatar
RoestVrijStaal
Moonbather
Moonbather
Posts: 58
Joined: 2019-06-19, 19:18
Location: Dependency Hell

Re: unable to update

Post by RoestVrijStaal » 2020-07-20, 21:46

Also a Manjaro user here.

In order to prevent to turn this topic in a helpdesk ticket, I'll give a few hints to the topic starter and foreseeable newcomers who end up in this topic via their favorite search internet search engine.

1. Learn how package management of Manjaro works. The Manjaro Wiki and Arch Wiki are good enough for that. What? It's a too hard read for you? Then Manjaro is not the fitting Linux distro for you. You rather want to use Ubuntu or the like.
2. I recommend to install Pale Moon via the AUR with the palemoon-bin package.
Manjaro's official repository is slooooohohooow with providing Pale Moon updates. Building the AUR's palemoon package on your own does not have any advantage so far as I've experienced.
AUR's palemoon-bin package makes use of the precompiled tarballed linux releases, which is a fine middle ground.
Last edited by RoestVrijStaal on 2020-07-21, 06:11, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
stevepusser
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 647
Joined: 2015-08-01, 18:33
Location: California

Re: unable to update

Post by stevepusser » 2020-07-21, 00:19

If Pale Moon is built from source, the auto-update can be disabled in the .mozconfig file, but if it works like Firefox, the packager may have to set that option in a distribution.ini file if they're just packaging the binaries, and IDK if the PM devs are OK with that--probably best to run it by them first.

The OBS can build Arch packages from source, but I'll be damned it I really know how to do that. Maybe someone else is already doing that there.

Post Reply