Any way round Flash for BBC sounds

Support and discussions for the x86/x64 Linux version of Pale Moon and specific Linux distribution questions related to the browser.

Moderator: trava90

Forum rules
If your question is about general use of the browser and not specific to Linux, then please use the General Support board.
diode84
Moongazer
Moongazer
Posts: 14
Joined: 2017-09-16, 17:08

Any way round Flash for BBC sounds

Post by diode84 » 2020-06-13, 17:14

Hello
I am running 28.10 64bit in xenial64 puppy linux. I am having trouble getting BBC iPlayer sounds without flash player. I have heard they are going to html5. Is there a way to get iPlayer sounds in Pale Moon.
Thanks
diode84

User avatar
adesh
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1222
Joined: 2017-06-06, 07:38

Re: Any way round Flash for BBC sounds

Post by adesh » 2020-06-13, 17:36

Please provide links to the specific videos having issues.

I wanted to try some random videos, but my connection is getting timed out.
Off-topic:
I got timeouts for a lot of websites today. Is some big network like Cloudflare or AWS having problems? I can't even connect to www.cloudflarestatus.com? May be one of the links of my ISP is down?

diode84
Moongazer
Moongazer
Posts: 14
Joined: 2017-09-16, 17:08

Re: Any way round Flash for BBC sounds

Post by diode84 » 2020-06-13, 17:44

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds/play/live:bbc_radio_three.
Not a video but BBC Radio3, sound only. It needs flash player for some reason

User avatar
ron_1
Moon Magic practitioner
Moon Magic practitioner
Posts: 2282
Joined: 2012-06-28, 01:20

Re: Any way round Flash for BBC sounds

Post by ron_1 » 2020-06-13, 18:04

I tried your link, and I get sound without having Flash installed. I had to disable uBlock Origin, though.

coffeebreak
Moon Magic practitioner
Moon Magic practitioner
Posts: 2476
Joined: 2015-09-26, 04:51
Location: U.S.

Re: Any way round Flash for BBC sounds

Post by coffeebreak » 2020-06-13, 18:26

It plays for me without Flash Player as well.
Autoplay had to be enabled though (normally I turn it off).

diode84
Moongazer
Moongazer
Posts: 14
Joined: 2017-09-16, 17:08

Re: Any way round Flash for BBC sounds

Post by diode84 » 2020-06-13, 18:46

Where will I find autoplay.
I dont have ublock origin installed.

User avatar
ron_1
Moon Magic practitioner
Moon Magic practitioner
Posts: 2282
Joined: 2012-06-28, 01:20

Re: Any way round Flash for BBC sounds

Post by ron_1 » 2020-06-13, 18:49

In about:config, media.autoplay.enabled . The default is 'true.'

diode84
Moongazer
Moongazer
Posts: 14
Joined: 2017-09-16, 17:08

Re: Any way round Flash for BBC sounds

Post by diode84 » 2020-06-13, 19:27

I can't find :config, media.autoplay.enabled . The default is 'true, anywhere.

User avatar
ron_1
Moon Magic practitioner
Moon Magic practitioner
Posts: 2282
Joined: 2012-06-28, 01:20

Re: Any way round Flash for BBC sounds

Post by ron_1 » 2020-06-13, 19:30

Untitled.jpg
Click on pic to see full size.

diode84
Moongazer
Moongazer
Posts: 14
Joined: 2017-09-16, 17:08

Re: Any way round Flash for BBC sounds

Post by diode84 » 2020-06-13, 20:04

Thanks, found it and it is true.
I did try Palemoon 27.6 32 bit on same laptop and it works on BBC sounds perfectly.

coffeebreak
Moon Magic practitioner
Moon Magic practitioner
Posts: 2476
Joined: 2015-09-26, 04:51
Location: U.S.

Re: Any way round Flash for BBC sounds

Post by coffeebreak » 2020-06-13, 21:45

diode84 wrote:
2020-06-13, 17:14
I am having trouble getting BBC iPlayer sounds without flash player.
Please go to Preferences -> Content, and in the Video section make sure that Media Source Extensions (MSE),
and MSE for MP4 video are enabled. (if you use the menu bar, access Preferences through the Tools menu)
prefs-video.png

User avatar
stevepusser
Project Contributor
Project Contributor
Posts: 673
Joined: 2015-08-01, 18:33
Location: California

Re: Any way round Flash for BBC sounds

Post by stevepusser » 2020-06-14, 03:10

I hope it doesn't make a difference, but did you install from Pale Moon's download or my OBS repository?

diode84
Moongazer
Moongazer
Posts: 14
Joined: 2017-09-16, 17:08

Re: Any way round Flash for BBC sounds

Post by diode84 » 2020-06-14, 10:02

coffeebreak wrote:
2020-06-13, 21:45
diode84 wrote:
2020-06-13, 17:14
I am having trouble getting BBC iPlayer sounds without flash player.
Please go to Preferences -> Content, and in the Video section make sure that Media Source Extensions (MSE),
and MSE for MP4 video are enabled. (if you use the menu bar, access Preferences through the Tools menu)
prefs-video.png
MSE and MP4 are enabled.

diode84
Moongazer
Moongazer
Posts: 14
Joined: 2017-09-16, 17:08

Re: Any way round Flash for BBC sounds

Post by diode84 » 2020-06-14, 10:04

stevepusser wrote:
2020-06-14, 03:10
I hope it doesn't make a difference, but did you install from Pale Moon's download or my OBS repository?
It was from Pale Moon's download.
What is your OBS repository?

coffeebreak
Moon Magic practitioner
Moon Magic practitioner
Posts: 2476
Joined: 2015-09-26, 04:51
Location: U.S.

Re: Any way round Flash for BBC sounds

Post by coffeebreak » 2020-06-14, 16:48

diode84 wrote:
2020-06-14, 10:02
MSE and MP4 are enabled.
Nevertheless, something seems to be interfering with those settings' function for you.

Please do both of the following:

1. Post your Troubleshooting Information from about:support (Help -> Troubleshooting Information) so that others can examine it (see here, 2nd paragraph). Copy by clicking "Copy text to cliipboard" and post it here inside "hide" tags (select all the material, then click the "hide" BBCode button).

2. Test if the problem persists in safe mode
(a troubleshooting mode that disables extensions, plus some other things):

Help -> Restart in Safe Mode -> click the offered Restart button -> in the next dialog, click the Continue in Safe Mode button
When finished, restart the browser to resume normal browsing.
Report your results.

diode84
Moongazer
Moongazer
Posts: 14
Joined: 2017-09-16, 17:08

Re: Any way round Flash for BBC sounds

Post by diode84 » 2020-06-14, 19:04

I did as you said with safe mode and BBC sounds played perfectly. The only thing is, after a reboot and I imagine back to normal mode, there is no problem playing or request for flash player. It seems back to normal. Any idea what is happening?

coffeebreak
Moon Magic practitioner
Moon Magic practitioner
Posts: 2476
Joined: 2015-09-26, 04:51
Location: U.S.

Re: Any way round Flash for BBC sounds

Post by coffeebreak » 2020-06-14, 19:17

At a guess, it's related to an extension. (These would have been listed within your Troubleshooting Information, had you chosen to post it.)

Or possibly, you had previously flipped some setting that only takes effect after a restart, though I don't know which one.

Or... you might have changed a setting earlier and tested its effect without first refreshing the page, so didn't see it work until restarting "refreshed the page" for you.

It would be good to know what specifically fixed this, for the benefit of other users as well as yourself.

diode84
Moongazer
Moongazer
Posts: 14
Joined: 2017-09-16, 17:08

Re: Any way round Flash for BBC sounds

Post by diode84 » 2020-06-14, 20:08

No I changed nothing, only went into safe mode.
As BBC sounds is now working am I too late to post Troubleshooting information?

coffeebreak
Moon Magic practitioner
Moon Magic practitioner
Posts: 2476
Joined: 2015-09-26, 04:51
Location: U.S.

Re: Any way round Flash for BBC sounds

Post by coffeebreak » 2020-06-14, 21:00

diode84 wrote:
2020-06-14, 20:08
Troubleshooting information?
There is no longer much point to posting it (though I admit to being curious as to what your extensions are, if you care to share that).

User avatar
stevepusser
Project Contributor
Project Contributor
Posts: 673
Joined: 2015-08-01, 18:33
Location: California

Re: Any way round Flash for BBC sounds

Post by stevepusser » 2020-06-15, 04:43

The OBS repository is where I maintain Pale Moon packages for various Ubuntu and Debian releases. It can be added to your software sources, and then the browser can be installed and updated like any other package in your standard repositories. If Puppy "xenial" is compatible with Ubuntu packages, then you'd use the Ubuntu 16.04 repository.

Post Reply