Add a new toolbar option.

Support and discussions for the x86/x64 Linux version of Pale Moon.

Moderator: trava90

Post Reply
Spudozo
Hobby Astronomer
Hobby Astronomer
Posts: 26
Joined: 2017-01-07, 15:24
Location: Europe!

Add a new toolbar option.

Post by Spudozo » 2020-01-05, 10:54

Hello and Happy New year,

Under 'Customize Toolbar' there is the option to 'Add New Toolbar'

I have clicked on that added a name and seen an empty (as expected) toolbar appear!
However once you close the Toolbar window by clicking 'Done' the new toolbar vanishes - never to return!

Woe is me! Can anyone explain what/why is happening and what I should do to get and keep an extra toolbar?

Thanks.

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 26674
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: 58°2'16"N 14°58'31"E
Contact:

Re: Add a new toolbar option.

Post by Moonchild » 2020-01-05, 11:10

Empty toolbars are always removed when you close the customize window (since there is no manual "remove" option).
What you need to do is create the toolbar and while still in the customize window, add or move something to it so it's not empty.
"There will be times when the position you advocate, no matter how well framed and supported, will not be accepted by the public simply because you are who you are." -- Merrill Rose
Image

User avatar
moonbat
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1339
Joined: 2015-12-09, 15:45

Re: Add a new toolbar option.

Post by moonbat » 2020-01-05, 11:21

Moonchild wrote:
2020-01-05, 11:10
Empty toolbars are always removed when you close the customize window (since there is no manual "remove" option).
What you need to do is create the toolbar and while still in the customize window, add or move something to it so it's not empty.
Trouble is, they vanish even when there are icons on them after a restart and can't be brought back from the rightclick menu. If I open a new window, then the toolbar appears again on it. I had posted earlier about this.
I've gotten around this for now by adding addon buttons to the bookmarks toolbar in conjunction with 'Roomy bookmarks toolbar' - which iconifys all bookmarks till you mouseover them to create more space.
"One hosts to look them up, one DNS to find them and in the darkness BIND them."

Linux Mint 19.3 Xfce x64 on HP i5 laptop with 4 GB RAM, always latest versions of PM & Basilisk unless specified.

Spudozo
Hobby Astronomer
Hobby Astronomer
Posts: 26
Joined: 2017-01-07, 15:24
Location: Europe!

Re: Add a new toolbar option.

Post by Spudozo » 2020-01-05, 14:53

Hi,

Thanks for the responses.

I dragged an icon and it worked and is still there after a restart or two. Happy Days :D

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 26674
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: 58°2'16"N 14°58'31"E
Contact:

Re: Add a new toolbar option.

Post by Moonchild » 2020-01-05, 14:53

I just tested this (yet again) and it work as it should. I created a new toolbar, gave it a temp name, put an icon from the customize winow on it by dragging and dropping (history, if it matters), closed customize. toolbar was there. Restarted the browser. toolbar was still there. Customized again, removed the icon and closed customize, and the toolbar was deleted. All of that is as it's supposed to happen.
"There will be times when the position you advocate, no matter how well framed and supported, will not be accepted by the public simply because you are who you are." -- Merrill Rose
Image

User avatar
New Tobin Paradigm
Off-Topic Sheriff
Off-Topic Sheriff
Posts: 7204
Joined: 2012-10-09, 19:37
Location: Insulting you on the internet.

Re: Add a new toolbar option.

Post by New Tobin Paradigm » 2020-01-05, 19:14

Try adding zero space or flexable space item to it if the buttons are all from bootstrap or jetpack extensions and none are the built in toolbar items. Should help.
Image
I'll send him cheesy movies! The worst I can find!
He'll have to sit and watch them all and we'll monitor his mind!

https://binaryoutcast.com/ | Freenode #binaryoutcast | http://thereisonlyxul.org/

User avatar
moonbat
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1339
Joined: 2015-12-09, 15:45

Re: Add a new toolbar option.

Post by moonbat » 2020-01-05, 23:23

New Tobin Paradigm wrote:
2020-01-05, 19:14
Try adding zero space or flexable space item to it if the buttons are all from bootstrap or jetpack extensions and none are the built in toolbar items. Should help.
Yes, this is what I was trying to do as well - I wanted some buttons on the left side and some on the right with flexible space in between.
"One hosts to look them up, one DNS to find them and in the darkness BIND them."

Linux Mint 19.3 Xfce x64 on HP i5 laptop with 4 GB RAM, always latest versions of PM & Basilisk unless specified.

User avatar
Jalkhov
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 32
Joined: 2019-12-22, 00:44

Re: Add a new toolbar option.

Post by Jalkhov » 2020-05-06, 13:06

Moonchild wrote:
2020-01-05, 11:10
Empty toolbars are always removed when you close the customize window (since there is no manual "remove" option).
What you need to do is create the toolbar and while still in the customize window, add or move something to it so it's not empty.
Hi, in my case when I add icons to the new toolbar and restart the browser it disappears and the icons I added before go to the customization window, no matter how much I restart the browser, it does not appear again.
Image

User avatar
New Tobin Paradigm
Off-Topic Sheriff
Off-Topic Sheriff
Posts: 7204
Joined: 2012-10-09, 19:37
Location: Insulting you on the internet.

Re: Add a new toolbar option.

Post by New Tobin Paradigm » 2020-05-06, 13:16

Jalkhov wrote:
2020-05-06, 13:06
Hi, in my case when I add icons to the new toolbar and restart the browser it disappears and the icons I added before go to the customization window, no matter how much I restart the browser, it does not appear again.
New Tobin Paradigm wrote:
2020-01-05, 19:14
Try adding zero space or flexable space item to it if the buttons are all from bootstrap or jetpack extensions and none are the built in toolbar items. Should help.
Image
I'll send him cheesy movies! The worst I can find!
He'll have to sit and watch them all and we'll monitor his mind!

https://binaryoutcast.com/ | Freenode #binaryoutcast | http://thereisonlyxul.org/

User avatar
moonbat
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1339
Joined: 2015-12-09, 15:45

Re: Add a new toolbar option.

Post by moonbat » 2020-05-06, 13:20

I've learned to live with this feature not working properly.
New Tobin Paradigm wrote:
2020-05-06, 13:16
Try adding zero space or flexable space item to it if the buttons are all from bootstrap or jetpack extensions and none are the built in toolbar items. Should help.
This didn't work for me.
My solution - I use the existing bookmarks toolbar in conjunction with Roomy Bookmarks Toolbar from CAA - it lets you iconify all bookmark icons on the toolbar. So there's plenty of room on the bookmarks toolbar for bookmarks as well as shortcuts to my frequently used extensions.

If there was another way to retain custom toolbars between browser restarts I'd appreciate that too.
"One hosts to look them up, one DNS to find them and in the darkness BIND them."

Linux Mint 19.3 Xfce x64 on HP i5 laptop with 4 GB RAM, always latest versions of PM & Basilisk unless specified.

User avatar
Jalkhov
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 32
Joined: 2019-12-22, 00:44

Re: Add a new toolbar option.

Post by Jalkhov » 2020-05-06, 13:23

New Tobin Paradigm wrote:
2020-05-06, 13:16
Jalkhov wrote:
2020-05-06, 13:06
Hi, in my case when I add icons to the new toolbar and restart the browser it disappears and the icons I added before go to the customization window, no matter how much I restart the browser, it does not appear again.
New Tobin Paradigm wrote:
2020-01-05, 19:14
Try adding zero space or flexable space item to it if the buttons are all from bootstrap or jetpack extensions and none are the built in toolbar items. Should help.
Yes, I did, and it keeps disappearing. Could you explain to me what "buttons from bootstrap or jetpack extensions and none are the built in toolbar items"?
Image

User avatar
New Tobin Paradigm
Off-Topic Sheriff
Off-Topic Sheriff
Posts: 7204
Joined: 2012-10-09, 19:37
Location: Insulting you on the internet.

Re: Add a new toolbar option.

Post by New Tobin Paradigm » 2020-05-06, 13:24

I already have. Search the forum.
Image
I'll send him cheesy movies! The worst I can find!
He'll have to sit and watch them all and we'll monitor his mind!

https://binaryoutcast.com/ | Freenode #binaryoutcast | http://thereisonlyxul.org/

Post Reply