Problem with the amc.com site.

Support and discussions for the x86/x64 Linux version of Pale Moon.

Moderators: trava90, satrow

tman801
Moon lover
Moon lover
Posts: 80
Joined: 2014-10-26, 18:50
Location: Gilbert, Wv.

Problem with the amc.com site.

Unread post by tman801 » 2019-07-18, 22:26

Moderator note: better topic title. Please try to use specific topic titles with some detail.

I am running Ubuntu 18.04 with Pale Moon 28.6.0.1 64 bit. I also have Basilisk installed.
Some time ago I had to use Basilisk to access my US Bank site. But now Pale Moon will access it with no problems.
However now i can no longer access this AMC site (https://www.amc.com/schedule). It tells me to download other browsers to access it.
I do have Firefox but I do not like to use it. But it will open the site with no problems.
Is there a setting in about:config I can change to access this AMC site?

Thanks.

User avatar
Night Wing
Knows the dark side
Knows the dark side
Posts: 3954
Joined: 2011-10-03, 10:19
Location: Texas, USA

Re: Problem with the amc.com site.

Unread post by Night Wing » 2019-07-19, 00:36

This may be case of user agent sniffing. Have you tried to create a different user agent for AMC by accessing "about:config"? If not, try using a different user agent and see if that works.
Linux Mint 19.2 (Tina) Xfce 64 Bit (Default Distribution OS) with 64 Bit linux Pale Moon
Windows 7 Home Premium & Ultimate SP1, 64 Bit (Backup OS) with 32 Bit windows Pale Moon

User avatar
Cassette
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 206
Joined: 2015-05-08, 14:30
Location: Wichita, KS

Re: Problem with the amc.com site.

Unread post by Cassette » 2019-07-19, 00:41

Night Wing wrote:
2019-07-19, 00:36
This may be case of user agent sniffing. Have you tried to create a different user agent? If not, try using a different user agent and see if that works.
I thought the same thing, but I tested it, and it made no difference. The page loads for a moment and then the message pops up. I also tried clearing cookies.

User avatar
Night Wing
Knows the dark side
Knows the dark side
Posts: 3954
Joined: 2011-10-03, 10:19
Location: Texas, USA

Re: Problem with the amc.com site.

Unread post by Night Wing » 2019-07-19, 03:19

Cassette wrote:
2019-07-19, 00:41
Night Wing wrote:
2019-07-19, 00:36
This may be case of user agent sniffing. Have you tried to create a different user agent? If not, try using a different user agent and see if that works.
I thought the same thing, but I tested it, and it made no difference. The page loads for a moment and then the message pops up.
Since you stated you did the testing with a different user agent code setting, what was the "exact" code setting you used?
Linux Mint 19.2 (Tina) Xfce 64 Bit (Default Distribution OS) with 64 Bit linux Pale Moon
Windows 7 Home Premium & Ultimate SP1, 64 Bit (Backup OS) with 32 Bit windows Pale Moon

coffeebreak
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1772
Joined: 2015-09-26, 04:51
Location: U.S.

Re: Problem with the amc.com site.

Unread post by coffeebreak » 2019-07-19, 03:22

tman801 wrote:
2019-07-18, 22:26
Is there a setting in about:config I can change to access this AMC site?
It appears that blocking this specific script with my adblocker restores access:

Code: Select all

https://www.amc.com/webapp/public/assets/browser.detect.min.js?v=abf580f12114c5a43804

tman801
Moon lover
Moon lover
Posts: 80
Joined: 2014-10-26, 18:50
Location: Gilbert, Wv.

Re: Problem with the amc.com site.

Unread post by tman801 » 2019-07-19, 03:55

coffeebreak wrote:
2019-07-19, 03:22
tman801 wrote:
2019-07-18, 22:26
Is there a setting in about:config I can change to access this AMC site?
It appears that blocking this specific script with my adblocker restores access:

Code: Select all

https://www.amc.com/webapp/public/assets/browser.detect.min.js?v=abf580f12114c5a43804
I am using Adblock Latitude 5.0.1. How do I block this script?

coffeebreak
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1772
Joined: 2015-09-26, 04:51
Location: U.S.

Re: Problem with the amc.com site.

Unread post by coffeebreak » 2019-07-19, 04:13

Open Filter preferences (click the toolbar button, or Ctrl+Shift+E) -> Custom filters tab -> click the "Add filter" button, and in the box that appears paste the following filter:

Code: Select all

||amc.com/webapp/public/assets/browser.detect.min.js?*
Then refresh the page.

User avatar
Cassette
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 206
Joined: 2015-05-08, 14:30
Location: Wichita, KS

Re: Problem with the amc.com site.

Unread post by Cassette » 2019-07-19, 06:17

Night Wing wrote:
2019-07-19, 03:19
Since you stated you did the testing with a different user agent code setting, what was the "exact" code setting you used?

Code: Select all

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:60.9) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/60.9
FWIW Firefox 60.8 ESR works without a warning.

User avatar
Night Wing
Knows the dark side
Knows the dark side
Posts: 3954
Joined: 2011-10-03, 10:19
Location: Texas, USA

Re: Problem with the amc.com site.

Unread post by Night Wing » 2019-07-19, 08:23

Cassette wrote:
2019-07-19, 06:17
Night Wing wrote:
2019-07-19, 03:19
Since you stated you did the testing with a different user agent code setting, what was the "exact" code setting you used?

Code: Select all

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:60.9) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/60.9
FWIW Firefox 60.8 ESR works without a warning.
Since this is a "Pale Moon for Linux" forum, why are you using a Windows user agent for the AMC site if tman801 is running linux Ubuntu? Since tman801 is running linux Ubuntu , he is using "linux Pale Moon" and not windows Pale Moon.
Linux Mint 19.2 (Tina) Xfce 64 Bit (Default Distribution OS) with 64 Bit linux Pale Moon
Windows 7 Home Premium & Ultimate SP1, 64 Bit (Backup OS) with 32 Bit windows Pale Moon

User avatar
Cassette
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 206
Joined: 2015-05-08, 14:30
Location: Wichita, KS

Re: Problem with the amc.com site.

Unread post by Cassette » 2019-07-19, 09:00

Night Wing wrote:
2019-07-19, 08:23
Since this is a "Pale Moon for Linux" forum, why are you using a Windows user agent for the AMC site if tman801 is running linux Ubuntu? Since tman801 is running linux Ubuntu , he is using "linux Pale Moon" and not windows Pale Moon.
It isn't relevant to the problem. The issue is with the site not accepting Pale Moon, not the site not accepting Linux. The issue happens exactly the same in Windows. It's not relevant.

tman801
Moon lover
Moon lover
Posts: 80
Joined: 2014-10-26, 18:50
Location: Gilbert, Wv.

Re: Problem with the amc.com site.

Unread post by tman801 » 2019-07-19, 12:06

coffeebreak wrote:
2019-07-19, 04:13
Open Filter preferences (click the toolbar button, or Ctrl+Shift+E) -> Custom filters tab -> click the "Add filter" button, and in the box that appears paste the following filter:

Code: Select all

||amc.com/webapp/public/assets/browser.detect.min.js?*
Then refresh the page.
Thanks . I thought that was the way but wanted to be sure but nothing works.
I have tried:
1--https://www.amc.com/webapp/public/asset ... 14c5a43804
2--||amc.com/webapp/public/assets/browser.detect.min.js?*
3--amc.com/webapp/public/assets/browser.detect.min.js?*

I still get the popup to use other browsers.

Will check back later today.
Again Thanks for all responses.

jars_
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 263
Joined: 2016-12-27, 00:12

Re: Problem with the amc.com site.

Unread post by jars_ » 2019-07-19, 12:33

I still get the popup to use other browsers.
You doing something wrong or does not work your adblocker. I am using a Silent Block to block unnecessary things.
blocking that script, the pop-up window stops appearing.
Image

Code: Select all

\/webapp\/\S+\/browser.detect.*\.js

coffeebreak
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1772
Joined: 2015-09-26, 04:51
Location: U.S.

Re: Problem with the amc.com site.

Unread post by coffeebreak » 2019-07-19, 12:56

tman801 wrote:
2019-07-19, 12:06
I still get the popup to use other browsers.
I just tried on a portable setup (I'm on Windows) with ABL 5.0.1 and the filter worked fine.
It's not a problem with the adblocker.

As said, there must be something you're doing wrong.

Maybe clearing cookies/cache will help...?

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 24253
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: 58°2'16"N 14°58'31"E
Contact:

Re: Problem with the amc.com site.

Unread post by Moonchild » 2019-07-19, 13:04

How about just using a site-specific user-agent override instead of trying to block a script that likely does some other detections of features that might be necessary?
City of Heroes public server: https://www.moonshard.org/ -- Vote for it on cohservers.com

"If you want to build a better world for yourself, you have to be willing to build one for everybody." -- Coyote Osborne
Image

coffeebreak
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1772
Joined: 2015-09-26, 04:51
Location: U.S.

Re: Problem with the amc.com site.

Unread post by coffeebreak » 2019-07-19, 13:12

Moonchild wrote:
2019-07-19, 13:04
How about just using a site-specific user-agent override
Because no UA override has been found that works.

There's discussion of it in earlier posts (and I did also try myself).

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 24253
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: 58°2'16"N 14°58'31"E
Contact:

Re: Problem with the amc.com site.

Unread post by Moonchild » 2019-07-19, 13:53

I just checked the site... there's 0 problems accessing the schedule with Firefox Compatibility mode on Pale Moon 28.6.0.1 x64 on Windows 7. It may need a Windows based UA override to work.
City of Heroes public server: https://www.moonshard.org/ -- Vote for it on cohservers.com

"If you want to build a better world for yourself, you have to be willing to build one for everybody." -- Coyote Osborne
Image

coffeebreak
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1772
Joined: 2015-09-26, 04:51
Location: U.S.

Re: Problem with the amc.com site.

Unread post by coffeebreak » 2019-07-19, 14:17

Moonchild wrote:
2019-07-19, 13:53
0 problems accessing the schedule with Firefox Compatibility mode on Pale Moon 28.6.0.1 x64 on Windows 7. It may need a Windows based UA override to work.
I'm on Windows 7 x86, PM 28.6.0.1.
FF Compatibility mode doesn't work here, nor any UA overrides tested, all of which were Windows-based.
I don't know why it works for you.

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 24253
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: 58°2'16"N 14°58'31"E
Contact:

Re: Problem with the amc.com site.

Unread post by Moonchild » 2019-07-19, 14:21

Not sure what to say. I tried both with my adblocker off and on (just in case I was blocking a script that throws this up inadvertently) but it works just fine.
City of Heroes public server: https://www.moonshard.org/ -- Vote for it on cohservers.com

"If you want to build a better world for yourself, you have to be willing to build one for everybody." -- Coyote Osborne
Image

tman801
Moon lover
Moon lover
Posts: 80
Joined: 2014-10-26, 18:50
Location: Gilbert, Wv.

Re: Problem with the amc.com site.

Unread post by tman801 » 2019-07-19, 16:17

I just had a few minutes to check the posts and tried several versions of Silent block & none worked. I am dual booting W10
(which I only keep updated) & Ubuntu 18.04 with Pale Moon 28.6.0.1. will check back later. Thanks.

User avatar
Cassette
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 206
Joined: 2015-05-08, 14:30
Location: Wichita, KS

Re: Problem with the amc.com site.

Unread post by Cassette » 2019-07-19, 20:02

Moonchild wrote:
2019-07-19, 13:53
I just checked the site... there's 0 problems accessing the schedule with Firefox Compatibility mode on Pale Moon 28.6.0.1 x64 on Windows 7. It may need a Windows based UA override to work.
I can't reproduce that. I've even tested on a clean profile in Firefox Compatibility mode and I get the browser notice on the schedule page.

Post Reply