Can I move a profile intact to a new PM install?

Support and discussions for the x86/x64 Linux version of Pale Moon.

Moderators: trava90, satrow

Post Reply
zack832
Hobby Astronomer
Hobby Astronomer
Posts: 17
Joined: 2017-05-17, 05:26

Can I move a profile intact to a new PM install?

Post by zack832 » 2019-05-03, 06:34

I'm on mint 17.3 and using PM 27.9.3, a number of sites will no longer load properly in PM and I'm thinking of moving on to Mint 19. I have no desire to reinstall all my add ons, I know I can do a Cleo pack and such, but it does not include all the settings and data. I Have a weather app I use many times a day that will not accept new data because Google changed how it handles location requests, I'd like to move it with all it's data intact. I also use a few apps that will no longer work in the newer versions of FF, the main reason I've been using PM for many years.

In case anyone is wondering I use ForecatFox Fix, it resides in the bottom bar and I can roll my mouse over the green radar icon and get instant radar images that cover the last 20 minutes or so of live radar. If there was an app that could give me that I might change, but all are now located at the top of the screen and you have to drill down to get a poorer radar feed.

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 24888
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: 58°2'16"N 14°58'31"E
Contact:

Re: Can I move a profile intact to a new PM install?

Post by Moonchild » 2019-05-03, 08:06

Sites not loading in v27.* won't be fixed by moving it to a different O.S.
The only solution is upgrading to v28.*

Of note: if you are still on v27, you are now vulnerable to a number of security issues that are being exploited in the wild. Please upgrade for that alone.
"If you want to build a better world for yourself, you have to be willing to build one for everybody." -- Coyote Osborne
Image

zack832
Hobby Astronomer
Hobby Astronomer
Posts: 17
Joined: 2017-05-17, 05:26

Re: Can I move a profile intact to a new PM install?

Post by zack832 » 2019-05-03, 17:26

Yes, that is the point. I want to upgrade and have some issues doing that. Just wonder if I can copy my entire profile from an existing install to an new version without having to reinstall everything. I know there is no upgrade path from v.27.x to 28.x.

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 24888
Joined: 2011-08-28, 17:27
Location: 58°2'16"N 14°58'31"E
Contact:

Re: Can I move a profile intact to a new PM install?

Post by Moonchild » 2019-05-03, 17:30

zack832 wrote:
2019-05-03, 17:26
Just wonder if I can copy my entire profile from an existing install to an new version without having to reinstall everything.
Yes, you can copy the v27 profile to a v28 installation and it will be migrated on first start on the old profile.
zack832 wrote:
2019-05-03, 17:26
I know there is no upgrade path from v.27.x to 28.x.
Uh.. no -- there IS, and in fact that is what you want to do.
You just can't go BACK to 27 once the profile is upgraded to v28
"If you want to build a better world for yourself, you have to be willing to build one for everybody." -- Coyote Osborne
Image

zack832
Hobby Astronomer
Hobby Astronomer
Posts: 17
Joined: 2017-05-17, 05:26

Re: Can I move a profile intact to a new PM install?

Post by zack832 » 2019-05-03, 17:46

Great - that is what I want to know, Didn't know if the changes in 28 would cause issues in doing so.

is there anything special I need to do, or is it just copy and paste?

User avatar
adesh
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back
Posts: 753
Joined: 2017-06-06, 07:38

Re: Can I move a profile intact to a new PM install?

Post by adesh » 2019-05-03, 18:15

Just copying the profile to the correct location should be sufficient, browser will take care of the rest.

Post Reply