Captcha not loading

Support and discussions for the x86/x64 Linux version of Pale Moon.

Moderators: trava90, satrow

Chrisp
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat, 23 Sep 2017, 21:28

Captcha not loading

Unread postby Chrisp » Sun, 06 Jan 2019, 14:56

when i try to log in and the web site's response was to use another browser which I did but..
What should I turn on - or off in Pale Moon

the site is www.pickaweb.co.uk

Thank you for any help.

User avatar
therube
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back
Posts: 752
Joined: Fri, 08 Jun 2018, 17:02

Re: Captcha not loading

Unread postby therube » Sun, 06 Jan 2019, 15:15


User avatar
Night Wing
Knows the dark side
Knows the dark side
Posts: 3700
Joined: Mon, 03 Oct 2011, 10:19
Location: Texas, USA

Re: Captcha not loading

Unread postby Night Wing » Sun, 06 Jan 2019, 15:22

Looks like user agent sniffing to me. Have you tried creating a different user agent than the one which is default in Pale Moon (28.2.2)? This could solve the problem by tricking the site into thinking you're using another browser other than Pale Moon.

I could provide a user agent you could use for that site, but you didn't state what bit your linux distro is. For a 64 bit linux distro, this user agent might work.

Code: Select all

Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:64.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/64.0
Linux Mint 19.1 (Tessa) Xfce 64 Bit (Default OS) with 64 Bit linux Pale Moon
Windows 7 SP1, 64 Bit (Backup OS) with 32 Bit windows Pale Moon

User avatar
therube
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back
Posts: 752
Joined: Fri, 08 Jun 2018, 17:02

Re: Captcha not loading

Unread postby therube » Sun, 06 Jan 2019, 15:45

(I gather the OP is on PM 27.)

Chrisp
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat, 23 Sep 2017, 21:28

Re: Captcha not loading

Unread postby Chrisp » Sun, 06 Jan 2019, 17:04

For those that responded i am using Pale Moon version 27.9.4 (64 bit).

As for User Agent I will give that a go once I have read up about how to do it.

Meanwhile "Boo to Google"

User avatar
Night Wing
Knows the dark side
Knows the dark side
Posts: 3700
Joined: Mon, 03 Oct 2011, 10:19
Location: Texas, USA

Re: Captcha not loading

Unread postby Night Wing » Sun, 06 Jan 2019, 17:38

Off-topic:
Google is starting to be a "pain in the backside" when it comes to user agent sniffing.

As an example, both in linux and windows SeaMonkey 2.49.4, in the Google search engine site, my backup browser in both linux and windows is SeaMonkey. When using linux Seamonkey, I noticed if I typed in the Google search box in the stand alone site (www.google.com), I could only type a few letters or numbers and then nothing. It seems Google just wants people to use its Chrome browser. Google does not want people using niche browsers and I'm sure Pale Moon and SeaMonkey fall into that category according to Google.

Google has to support the "big well known browsers" like Firefox, Safari (Apple), Edge (Edge is Microsoft) and Internet Explorer. So I had to create a new string for SeaMonkey which is:

Code: Select all

general.useragent.override.google.com


and then create the new user agent for linux SeaMonkey so Google thought linux SeaMonkey was linux Firefox 64.0 and the new user agent I used was the one in my first post:

Code: Select all

Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:64.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/64.0


Then when I went to Google using my backup linux SeaMonkey browser, Google thought linux SeaMonkey was linux Firefox 64 and then I could type anything in the Google search field without any problems when I was using 64 bit linux SeaMonkey (2.49.4).
Linux Mint 19.1 (Tessa) Xfce 64 Bit (Default OS) with 64 Bit linux Pale Moon
Windows 7 SP1, 64 Bit (Backup OS) with 32 Bit windows Pale Moon

roytam1
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 148
Joined: Wed, 11 Mar 2015, 07:01
Location: Hong Kong

Re: Captcha not loading

Unread postby roytam1 » Mon, 07 Jan 2019, 03:57

Chrisp wrote:For those that responded i am using Pale Moon version 27.9.4 (64 bit).

As for User Agent I will give that a go once I have read up about how to do it.

Meanwhile "Boo to Google"

does this trick work for you? viewtopic.php?f=3&t=19044&start=100#p149450

Chrisp
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat, 23 Sep 2017, 21:28

Re: Captcha not loading

Unread postby Chrisp » Tue, 08 Jan 2019, 18:41

Have yet to venture into changing config but I guess my first step will be to change
general.useragent.complexOverride.moodle to true
and then overwrite an entry with pickaweb.co.uk ??

coffeebreak
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1480
Joined: Sat, 26 Sep 2015, 04:51
Location: U.S.

Re: Captcha not loading

Unread postby coffeebreak » Wed, 09 Jan 2019, 03:09

roytam1 wrote:
Chrisp wrote:For those that responded i am using Pale Moon version 27.9.4 (64 bit).
[...]

does this trick work for you? viewtopic.php?f=3&t=19044&start=100#p149450

Chrisp, Because you are using PM 27.9.4, you really should see if the 'trick' linked by roytam1 helps.

User avatar
Moonchild
Pale Moon guru
Pale Moon guru
Posts: 22685
Joined: Sun, 28 Aug 2011, 17:27
Location: 58°2'16"N 14°58'31"E
Contact:

Re: Captcha not loading

Unread postby Moonchild » Thu, 10 Jan 2019, 10:34

And of course I should stress that the v27 milestone has severely limited JavaScript capabilities which can and will cause issues. Please update to the v28 milestone versions building on UXP.
Improving Mozilla code: You know you're on the right track with code changes when you spend the majority of your time deleting code.

"If you want to build a better world for yourself, you have to be willing to build one for everybody." -- Coyote Osborne


Return to “Pale Moon for Linux”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests