v28.2.1 Bug on chess.com?

Support and discussions for the x86/x64 Linux version of Pale Moon.

Moderators: trava90, satrow

User avatar
bellarmin
New to the forum
New to the forum
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon, 19 Nov 2018, 09:49

v28.2.1 Bug on chess.com?

Unread postby bellarmin » Mon, 19 Nov 2018, 10:20

Hello, Changing to Pale Moon resolved persistent problems with FF crashes/freezes.
But since the v28.2.1 update, my favorite website, chess.com, is unusable. The chess-board do not show up. Downgrading to v 28.0.0 solves the problem.
But I find the browser (and my old laptop) quite slow.
Will there be a new release?

thanks,
Bellarmin

Lubuntu 17.10
4.13.0-46-generic #51-Ubuntu SMP Tue Jun 12 12:36:35 UTC 2018 i686 i686 i686 GNU/Linux
Last edited by Moonchild on Mon, 19 Nov 2018, 13:38, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
therube
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 683
Joined: Fri, 08 Jun 2018, 17:02

Re: v28.2.1 Bug ?

Unread postby therube » Mon, 19 Nov 2018, 13:27

https://www.chess.com/play/computer

No problem playing on my end, Win7 28.2.1.

Try Safe Mode.
Last edited by therube on Mon, 19 Nov 2018, 13:27, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Night Wing
Knows the dark side
Knows the dark side
Posts: 3640
Joined: Mon, 03 Oct 2011, 10:19
Location: Texas, USA

Re: v28.2.1 Bug ?

Unread postby Night Wing » Mon, 19 Nov 2018, 18:29

therube wrote:https://www.chess.com/play/computer

No problem playing on my end, Win7 28.2.1.


Bellarmin is using linux Lubuntu (17.10). Not Windows 7 like you are.
Last edited by Night Wing on Mon, 19 Nov 2018, 18:36, edited 2 times in total.
Linux Mint 19 (Tara) Xfce 64 Bit (Default OS) with 64 Bit linux Pale Moon
Windows 7 SP1, 64 Bit (Backup OS) with 32 Bit windows Pale Moon

User avatar
Night Wing
Knows the dark side
Knows the dark side
Posts: 3640
Joined: Mon, 03 Oct 2011, 10:19
Location: Texas, USA

Re: v28.2.1 Bug on chess.com?

Unread postby Night Wing » Mon, 19 Nov 2018, 18:33

bellarmin wrote:But since the v28.2.1 update, my favorite website, chess.com, is unusable. The chess-board do not show up.

Lubuntu 17.10
4.13.0-46-generic #51-Ubuntu SMP Tue Jun 12 12:36:35 UTC 2018 i686 i686 i686 GNU/Linux


The chess board opens for me and I can play against the computer.

I'm using 64 bit linux Pale Moon 28.2.1 running in 64 bit linux Mint 19 (Tara) Xfce. The only addons I use are NoSquint and Adblock Latitude. Firefox Compatibility mode too.
Linux Mint 19 (Tara) Xfce 64 Bit (Default OS) with 64 Bit linux Pale Moon
Windows 7 SP1, 64 Bit (Backup OS) with 32 Bit windows Pale Moon

User avatar
Nigaikaze
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back
Posts: 855
Joined: Sun, 02 Feb 2014, 22:15
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: v28.2.1 Bug on chess.com?

Unread postby Nigaikaze » Mon, 19 Nov 2018, 18:37

bellarmin wrote:The chess-board do not show up.

This happens to me for that site until I allow cookies for the chess.com domain. Are you using any extensions that filter web content (like ad-blockers) or manipulate cookies? Also, try accessing that site with PM 28.2.1 in PM's safe mode and see if that works.

User avatar
bellarmin
New to the forum
New to the forum
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon, 19 Nov 2018, 09:49

Re: v28.2.1 Bug on chess.com?

Unread postby bellarmin » Wed, 21 Nov 2018, 23:28

Thanks a lot, I'll have time to try that in a few days.

missmoondog
Moonbather
Moonbather
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri, 06 Jan 2017, 11:44

Re: v28.2.1 Bug on chess.com?

Unread postby missmoondog » Sat, 24 Nov 2018, 14:42

plays just fine for me on PM 28.2.1 32bit. pretty old machine also. 1.6ghz single core processor with 2gb memory running lubuntu 18.04.1

only extension i use is ublock origin.

first game of chess i've played in years. that was fun!! i won also!! :)
Last edited by missmoondog on Sat, 24 Nov 2018, 14:43, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Tomaso
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1042
Joined: Thu, 23 Jul 2015, 16:09
Location: Norway

Re: v28.2.1 Bug on chess.com?

Unread postby Tomaso » Thu, 29 Nov 2018, 11:16

There seems to be some UA sniffing going on at chess.com..

In this article for example, most images only displays as grey boxes in Pale Moon v28.2.1:
https://www.chess.com/news/view/carlsen ... n-playoff/
Right-clicking on them and selecting "View image" reveals that they're empty SVG files.
The images show just fine in SeaMonkey and Pale Moon v27.*, where they're displayed as JPEG files.

After adding the following UA override in Pale Moon v28.2.1, the images show just fine:

Code: Select all

general.useragent.override.chess.com = Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.3; rv:52.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/52.0

(Tested under Win8.1Pro,x64)
Last edited by Tomaso on Thu, 29 Nov 2018, 11:19, edited 2 times in total.

missmoondog
Moonbather
Moonbather
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri, 06 Jan 2017, 11:44

Re: v28.2.1 Bug on chess.com?

Unread postby missmoondog » Fri, 30 Nov 2018, 18:29

Tomaso wrote:There seems to be some UA sniffing going on at chess.com..

In this article for example, most images only displays as grey boxes in Pale Moon v28.2.1:
https://www.chess.com/news/view/carlsen ... n-playoff/
Right-clicking on them and selecting "View image" reveals that they're empty SVG files.
The images show just fine in SeaMonkey and Pale Moon v27.*, where they're displayed as JPEG files.

After adding the following UA override in Pale Moon v28.2.1, the images show just fine:

Code: Select all

general.useragent.override.chess.com = Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.3; rv:52.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/52.0

(Tested under Win8.1Pro,x64)


no kind of such issues on my mint 19 using pm 28.2.1. everything shows up quite correctly.

have to ask this, but why would you be testing this issue in windows when this is the palemoon for linux part of the forums?

User avatar
Tomaso
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1042
Joined: Thu, 23 Jul 2015, 16:09
Location: Norway

Re: v28.2.1 Bug on chess.com?

Unread postby Tomaso » Fri, 30 Nov 2018, 21:09

missmoondog wrote:why would you be testing this issue in windows when this is the palemoon for linux part of the forums?

I wasn't testing this issue.
The SVG issue was something that I discovered on my own, and since a chess.com-thread already existed in this forum, I posted it here.

Of course, the UA strings for the Linux builds are different than the ones for Windows.
But now that I've confirmed that there are indeed some weird UA sniffing related issues going on at chess.com, it could be of relevance for you guys too.
Whatever type of issues you encounter over there, it might help to add a UA override.
In bellarmin's case, he could check which UA string Pale Moon v28.0.0 uses on his system, and then add it to v28.2.1.

--

EDIT:
I took a closer look at the UA sniffing problem..
For the Windows builds, the SVG problem @ chess.com doesn't affect Pale Moon v28.1.0 or older.
The only parts of the UA string that has changed in v28.2.* are these parts:
* "rv:52.9" has been changed to "rv:60.9"
* "Firefox/52.9" has been changed to "Firefox/60.9"
So, those are probably the only parts that you'll need to change in a potential override!
Last edited by Tomaso on Fri, 30 Nov 2018, 21:34, edited 2 times in total.

coffeebreak
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1405
Joined: Sat, 26 Sep 2015, 04:51
Location: U.S.

Re: v28.2.1 Bug on chess.com?

Unread postby coffeebreak » Sat, 01 Dec 2018, 05:13

Tomaso wrote:The SVG issue...

With compatmode, I do get the problem you described.
But using Native mode (no override) the images display fine here, as jpegs.
That's on Win 7 x86, PM 28.2.1.

Tomaso wrote:In bellarmin's case, he could check which UA string...

I can't see any user agent issue connected to OP's complaint (the chess board not showing up) --
-- at least not on my Win 7 machine.

As Nigaikaze posted, the chess board won't show if the domain's cookies are blocked.
And seems it also won't show if local storage is disabled ( dom.storage.enabled ), or if scripts from chesscomfiles.com are blocked .

But when I allow/enable all the above, the chess board is visible.
It works like that with Native mode, and also with compatmode with its rv:60.9 piece.


Return to “Pale Moon for Linux”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bellarmin and 7 guests