Palemoon fails accessing cpc.farnell.com

Support and discussions for the x86/x64 Linux version of Pale Moon.

Moderators: trava90, satrow

bigphil
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue, 20 Mar 2018, 13:32

Palemoon fails accessing cpc.farnell.com

Postby bigphil » Tue, 20 Mar 2018, 13:53

Hi all,
I'm running Palemoon 27.8.1 32bit under Puppy Linux.
When attempting to access website cpc.farnell.com the homepage loads but when I attempt to do anything it hangs up, sits 'waiting for cpc.farnell.com' and then times out.
I have used Palemoon previously with this website with no problems, Firefox also exhibits the same problem.
I have Noscripts installed but have allowed scripts on this website.
I have contacted cpc.farnell re. this problem, they are aware of it but either can't or won't resolve it.

Do any of you clever people know of a workaround that does not affect security.

Regards

Phil

User avatar
Moonraker
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back
Posts: 805
Joined: Wed, 30 Sep 2015, 23:02
Location: Lincolnshire.UK.

Re: Palemoon fails accessing cpc.farnell.com

Postby Moonraker » Tue, 20 Mar 2018, 15:57

Phil have you tried the site with all extensions disabled.?
The site appears to work just fine on my end and i use ublock origin.
Last edited by Moonraker on Tue, 20 Mar 2018, 15:59, edited 1 time in total.
Linux Lite 3.6 64bit.
Pale moon 27.9.0

User avatar
Isengrim
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue, 08 Sep 2015, 22:54
Location: 127.0.0.1

Re: Palemoon fails accessing cpc.farnell.com

Postby Isengrim » Tue, 20 Mar 2018, 17:48

bigphil wrote:I have Noscripts installed but have allowed scripts on this website.

NoScript has been known to break things, even if you allow scripts. Try starting the browser in safe mode and seeing if the problem persists.

See also: viewtopic.php?f=46&t=17619
Linux Mint 18.3 Cinnamon (64-bit)
Windows 7 (64-bit)

bigphil
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue, 20 Mar 2018, 13:32

Re: Palemoon fails accessing cpc.farnell.com

Postby bigphil » Tue, 20 Mar 2018, 20:12

Hi all and thanks for the replies.

I have started Palemoon in safe mode and still the same problem exists.
I have removed noscripts, cleared cache etc. as detailed in the link supplied by Isengrim but still no go.

The website works just fine with Google Chrome but I am reluctant to use it as they stopped supporting the 32bit version sometime ago hence no security updates. I'm paranoid about security when giving my credit card details online which is why I like Palemoon (regular updates).
However I did notice that the website takes a long time to respond (or maybe Chrome is very slow) and maybe Palemoon times out to quickly but I can't find a way of increasing the time out.

I use Palemoon all the time and have had no problems with other websites.

Moonraker - what operating system are you using?

The version of Puppy Linux that I use comes with Palemoon pre-installed and I'm wondering if their are some libraries not supplied (if any) with the Palemoon update that are out of date.

Regards

Phil.

bigphil
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue, 20 Mar 2018, 13:32

Re: Palemoon fails accessing cpc.farnell.com

Postby bigphil » Tue, 20 Mar 2018, 20:15

Moonraker - apologies I've just noticed that your post states the OS you use

tooshorttoolong
Moonbather
Moonbather
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon, 11 Sep 2017, 14:28

Re: Palemoon fails accessing cpc.farnell.com

Postby tooshorttoolong » Tue, 20 Mar 2018, 20:27

The site seems to work fine here, with PM 27.8.1 64 bit on Gentoo (using the official build, not a self-built version).
With uMatrix, uBlock and a few other addons.

User avatar
Moonraker
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back
Posts: 805
Joined: Wed, 30 Sep 2015, 23:02
Location: Lincolnshire.UK.

Re: Palemoon fails accessing cpc.farnell.com

Postby Moonraker » Tue, 20 Mar 2018, 20:35

@phil.
I use the PM installer to update palemoon here on my linux lite computer.I did initially try puppy linux but i was having issues with the network manager plus it would not recognise a mobile broadband usb dongle so i sadly had to give up trying.
Linux Lite 3.6 64bit.
Pale moon 27.9.0

RJARRRPCGP
Fanatic
Fanatic
Posts: 155
Joined: Mon, 22 Jun 2015, 19:48
Location: USA (North Springfield, Vermont)

Re: Palemoon fails accessing cpc.farnell.com

Postby RJARRRPCGP » Wed, 21 Mar 2018, 02:09

Puppy=You probably have to force-overwrite previous versions of libs specific to PaleMoon (for libs that other programs don't use) or symlink to the ones bundled with PaleMoon.

A hang is a known symptom of dependency bull...

vingtzwanzig
Apollo supporter
Apollo supporter
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu, 20 Apr 2017, 21:25
Contact:

Re: Palemoon fails accessing cpc.farnell.com

Postby vingtzwanzig » Wed, 21 Mar 2018, 21:22

It showed me the home page once, but when I clicked on a link on that it said this, and now any cpc.farnell page I tried, even the homepage gives the same error:
The connection has timed out
The server at cpc.farnell.com is taking too long to respond.
The site could be temporarily unavailable or too busy. Try again in a few moments.
If you are unable to load any pages, check your computer's network connection.
If your computer or network is protected by a firewall or proxy, make sure that Pale Moon is permitted to access the Web.

But this is using Void Linux updated earlier this week and using palemoon-27.9.0a1_180305.linux-i686.tar.bz2 which is the latest but one unstable 32 bit build. So I'm pretty sure it's not outdated libs for me. I tried www and https prefixes as well as http but no change.

Perhaps try farnell.com as a workaround for now, it might have what you need?
https://www.homeownershub.com/uk-diy/cp ... 59235-.htm

I also just tried Firefox 50 - last barely usable version I downloaded before I gave up and moved to Pale Moon, and keep around for testing (took about 10 minutes, not helped by swapping as PM was open too...) - and that redirected me to (myregion).farnell.com when I typed in cpc.farnell, and didn't go to cpc.farnell at all, even with the exact address in the address box

Lew Rockwell Fan
Moonbather
Moonbather
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed, 14 Jun 2017, 15:20

Re: Palemoon fails accessing cpc.farnell.com

Postby Lew Rockwell Fan » Thu, 22 Mar 2018, 03:26

For what it's worth, that subdomain times out on me, but Farnell.com loads fine. Looking at the main page, there is no link to that subdomain there. I'd say they've screwed up. But as a practical matter, if you can use the page with a different browser, why not just do so? Copy the basket page and email it to them. Then call them on the phone with your cc#. And tell them they need a new geek.

Come to think of it, why not try some other browsers? There are a ton of lesser known browsers in most repos. Or maybe they are ALL out of date. I dunno.
Last edited by Lew Rockwell Fan on Thu, 22 Mar 2018, 03:28, edited 1 time in total.

Lisguard
New to the forum
New to the forum
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed, 27 Sep 2017, 10:45

Re: Palemoon fails accessing cpc.farnell.com

Postby Lisguard » Tue, 27 Mar 2018, 12:08

Just a "Me too".

cpc site hangs as others have reported. Using 27.8.2 under Debian Linux (I haven't yet moved to Devuan).

bigphil
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue, 20 Mar 2018, 13:32

Re: Palemoon fails accessing cpc.farnell.com

Postby bigphil » Thu, 29 Mar 2018, 19:08

Thanks for all the replies, at least I know it's not just me.

@Lew Rockwell Fan - I have tried a phone order but they tell me (for some reason) their is a £6 surcharge for phone orders which almost doubles the cost of my order.
Re. other browsers - as I stated earlier the site works with Google Chrome but they have stopped supporting the 32 bit version some time ago hence no security updates (I've only got a 32bit machine at the moment). Opera browser works OK but I'm a bit nervous of this browser as it is now supported by the Chinese.

It is a bit strange that PM works OK on some systems though.

Regards

Phil.

Simon P
New to the forum
New to the forum
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat, 31 Mar 2018, 11:31

Re: Palemoon fails accessing cpc.farnell.com

Postby Simon P » Sat, 31 Mar 2018, 11:52

I've had this problem for quite some time, using Debian testing, 32bit. I seem to have fixed it with this UA override:

Code: Select all

preference: general.useragent.override.farnell.com
value: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:52.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/52.0

I'm now able to browse the site & login to my account. I note that several of the other users affected are also using 32bit systems, and this override specifies 64bit...

In case it's of help to anyone, I'll add that, while investigating this, I found that deleting the ak_bmsc cookie allowed largely-successful page reloads. It seems this is something to do with Akamai Bot Manager.

bigphil
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue, 20 Mar 2018, 13:32

Re: Palemoon fails accessing cpc.farnell.com

Postby bigphil » Sat, 31 Mar 2018, 19:35

@Simon P - thanks for your help m8.
I looked under preferences, general and their is no useragent. however their is a Compatibility - user agent mode:. The default is Firefox compatibility and the drop down menu allows Gecko compatibility and Native as well as Firefox compatibility. I found that if I select either Gecko or Native then I can browse the site and login.
I'm not clever enough to understand the implications of this but hope it doesn't affect the security of the browser.
Last edited by bigphil on Sat, 31 Mar 2018, 19:38, edited 1 time in total.

pale_moon_user
Moongazer
Moongazer
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu, 12 Jan 2017, 23:20

Re: Palemoon fails accessing cpc.farnell.com

Postby pale_moon_user » Sat, 31 Mar 2018, 20:02

bigphil wrote:@Simon P - thanks for your help m8.
I looked under preferences, general and their is no useragent. however their is a Compatibility - user agent mode:. The default is Firefox compatibility and the drop down menu allows Gecko compatibility and Native as well as Firefox compatibility. I found that if I select either Gecko or Native then I can browse the site and login.
I'm not clever enough to understand the implications of this but hope it doesn't affect the security of the browser.


It shouldn't affect the security of the browser, to my knowledge. All you're doing there is telling the webpage to render things differently for you. Glad you found a workaround.

If you'd like to consider it at a later point, you can add a useragent override specific for this site. This is not PM specific, so be careful, but it should be enough to get you pointed in the right direction: https://superuser.com/questions/98798/how-do-i-change-firefoxs-user-agent-via-aboutconfig
Last edited by pale_moon_user on Sat, 31 Mar 2018, 20:03, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
New Tobin Paradigm
Knows the dark side
Knows the dark side
Posts: 4366
Joined: Tue, 09 Oct 2012, 19:37

Re: Palemoon fails accessing cpc.farnell.com

Postby New Tobin Paradigm » Sat, 31 Mar 2018, 20:04

No altering the user agent won't affect the security of the browser. The user agent is like a name tag.

It has no actual effect on how things are rendered there is no functional magic on the browser side.. But many sites use sniffing the user agent to decide what exactly to send to the browser.. This practice has long been a primitive and ill advised way of giving different browsers different things.

The modern and proper way is to do true feature detection instead of guessing what a broswer supports and should work properly based on its name tag.
Last edited by New Tobin Paradigm on Sat, 31 Mar 2018, 20:08, edited 1 time in total.
OH, BUT MY PRIDE! GRR! I WISH I WERE A CARROT!
[ ニュー・トビン・パラダイム ]


Return to “Pale Moon for Linux”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests