Missing Thumbnails

Support and discussions for the x86/x64 Linux version of Pale Moon.

Moderators: trava90, satrow

Russfran
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri, 29 Dec 2017, 07:10

Missing Thumbnails

Unread postby Russfran » Fri, 29 Dec 2017, 08:18

I am running Tahrpup 6.0 CE updated on a Compaq dc 7100, no complaints there. I was running an earlier version of PM 27 and only having a little trouble with Flash format. A couple of days ago I updated to 27.6.2 hoping to cure a niggardly loss of thumbnails on pages such as BBC news and others; the result was that now I do not get any thumbnails at all from the BBC and other sites as well as schematics from technical pages; not to mention the loss of all my bookmarks,but that is trivial really.
Any advice will be appreciated.
Russ

User avatar
gracious1
Keeps coming back
Keeps coming back
Posts: 836
Joined: Sun, 15 May 2016, 05:00
Location: muggy, muggy upstate NY

Re: Missing Thumbnails

Unread postby gracious1 » Sat, 30 Dec 2017, 05:05

Can you post specific URLs and maybe a screenshot or two?
Image“We look forward to the time when the Power of Love will replace the Love of Power. Then will our world know the blessings of peace.” ― Wm. Ewart Gladstone ◊ Int'l Day of Peace 21 Sept. ◊

Russfran
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri, 29 Dec 2017, 07:10

Re: Missing Thumbnails

Unread postby Russfran » Sat, 30 Dec 2017, 09:06

Attachments
capture5226.png
Capture 01.png

User avatar
Night Wing
Knows the dark side
Knows the dark side
Posts: 3545
Joined: Mon, 03 Oct 2011, 10:19
Location: Texas, USA

Re: Missing Thumbnails

Unread postby Night Wing » Sat, 30 Dec 2017, 13:05

On the BBC news site, I get every thumbnail. No problems anywhere.

On the Easy Electronics site, I also do not get any thumbnails. I do get a broken prompt though and this is what it says:

Code: Select all

You don't have permission to access /dproj/simplest_LED_flasher/10maperdiv.jpg on this server.

Might be a coding error on the EE site.
Linux Mint 19 (Tara) Xfce 64 Bit (Default OS) with 64 Bit linux Pale Moon
Windows 7 SP1, 64 Bit (Backup OS) with 32 Bit windows Pale Moon

Russfran
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri, 29 Dec 2017, 07:10

Re: Missing Thumbnails

Unread postby Russfran » Sun, 31 Dec 2017, 05:37

Thank you Night Wing for testing,
I suppose then that this points to a configuration problem on my end.
Again any pointers would be appreciated
Thanks
Russ

User avatar
SpockFan02
Lunatic
Lunatic
Posts: 459
Joined: Sun, 24 Sep 2017, 16:35

Re: Missing Thumbnails

Unread postby SpockFan02 » Sun, 31 Dec 2017, 07:25

I am able to see the first image and the video on Easy Electronics, but not the second image, and clickong on it takes me to a page that says I don't have permission to access it. Based on this thread, I figured that overriding my user agent for Easy Electronics would solve the problem, but after trying a few, I wasn't able to get it working—Maybe that's not the issue, maybe I didn't type the preference name right.

Thumbnails load just fine on BBC News for me.

I would check to make sure some ad blocker isn't doing it, but other than that, I'm afraid I'm not sure what the problem could be. I'm also sorry about your loss of bookmarks.

User avatar
Thehandyman1957
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1617
Joined: Tue, 19 May 2015, 02:26
Location: Arizona U.S.

Re: Missing Thumbnails

Unread postby Thehandyman1957 » Sun, 31 Dec 2017, 19:39

I get both just fine with Ublock Origin (boat load of filters) Disconnect and ABL.
Screenshot - 12_31_2017 , 12_36_08 PM.png


Latest PM with W7 64bit.
"A common mistake people make when trying to design something
completely FOOLPROOF, is underestimating the ingenuity of complete FOOLS! ;) "

coffeebreak
Board Warrior
Board Warrior
Posts: 1343
Joined: Sat, 26 Sep 2015, 04:51
Location: U.S.

Re: Missing Thumbnails

Unread postby coffeebreak » Sun, 31 Dec 2017, 23:11

Russfran wrote:the result was that now I do not get any thumbnails at all from the BBC and other sites as well as schematics from technical pages

Hello, Windows user here (PM 27.6.2, Win 7 x86).

I get all the images from BBC news and all images but one from Easy Electronics. (The image that gave Night Wing an error message didn't load for me either/same message - but did load from the image's own site.)

in console:

Code: Select all

GET
XHR
http://www.cappels.org/dproj/simplest_LED_flasher/10maperdiv.jpg [HTTP/1.1 403 Forbidden 109ms]
Cross-Origin Request Blocked: The Same Origin Policy disallows reading the remote resource at
http://www.cappels.org/dproj/simplest_LED_flasher/10maperdiv.jpg. (Reason: CORS header 'Access-Control-Allow-Origin' missing). <unknown>



For the more general problem...
You might double-check that your browser settings allow images from everywhere to load:

Edit > Preferences > Content > "Load images:" > set images to load "Automatically"
(In about:config this is: permissions.default.image value = 1 (the default))
For more info see 1, 2, 3.
Last edited by coffeebreak on Sun, 31 Dec 2017, 23:22, edited 2 times in total.

Russfran
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri, 29 Dec 2017, 07:10

Re: Missing Thumbnails

Unread postby Russfran » Mon, 01 Jan 2018, 02:02

Thanks to Spockman02 and to Thehandyman1957 for testing, I loaded "Iron" just to test my hardware, no problems there - then got rid of it.
Thanks also to coffeebreak, I will do the read and check the configs.
Cheers
Russ

Russfran
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri, 29 Dec 2017, 07:10

Re: Missing Thumbnails

Unread postby Russfran » Mon, 01 Jan 2018, 02:22

Good news
coffeebreak was right, the default image value was not set correctly.
Thanks to all who helped
Russ


Return to “Pale Moon for Linux”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests